TransferWise Reviews | Glassdoor

TransferWise Reviews

Updated Feb 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
89%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
TransferWise CEO Kristo Käärman
Kristo Käärman
211 Ratings
  1. "Compliance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compliance Officer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Strong compliance program, collaborative work environment, high opportunity for self- and career development, smart coworkers with great personalities

    Cons

    Not really a con, but I'm required. Environment is fast-paced--mastering work requires subject matter expertise, good problem-solving skills, great communication skills, instinct for process development, and facility for relationship building. Challenging, but very engaging and fun.

    TransferWise2020-01-23
  2. "Excellent learning environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Public Relations in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TransferWise part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Smart co-workers Helpful atmosphere Thoughtful, inclusive team

    Cons

    Lack of direction at times as they believe in 'autonomous teams' and self-starters People can work in silos

    Continue reading
    TransferWise2019-12-18
  3. "Customer support portuguese"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It’s an amazing company, it gives you the flexibility you need and the culture and values are awesome. You really feel like part of a big family.

    Cons

    TransferWise might not be a good fit for you if you can’t be your own boss. You won’t have people above you telling you what to do.

    TransferWise2019-10-25
  4. "Amazing Work Culture and great leaders"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support Agent in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working at TransferWise has been sooooooooo much better than any other job I've had. They actually care about their employees, and I feel a part of a big team. You have a good amount of freedom when it comes to scheduling and the benefits are priced well. Everyone here is very open minded to improving and growing as a company and as a culture. Team leaders are extremely helpful, receptive, and they really do listen to what you have to say. Everyone is empowered to change things i n the company which I really love. This job is all about problem solving and days are not boring at all. It's got the young start-up mentality of a tech place in California, but its in Tampa!

    Cons

    It can sometimes be very busy, which at times can be stressful, but no where near the stress at other jobs. Scheduling time off needs to be done 30-45 days ahead of time, but there are sick days as well if needed. The pros far outweigh the cons. The pay is enough to live on, but can be a little tight. Not sure what the pay is for promotions but hopefully can get a bit higher.

    Continue reading
    TransferWise2019-10-24
  5. "Great place to work, fun culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People Team in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work environment Loads of paid time off (5 weeks vacation, 2 weeks sick) Paid sabbatical (after 4 years of service) Paid Parental Leave (after one year of service) 401k Match NSO Stock options Freedom, ability to make an impact, drive change- Friendly environment Opportunities to participate or lead projects to move the business forward - sometimes even world-wide opportunities Diverse culture - speak 5+ foreign languages Working with people from different cultures Competitive benefits package Pet-friendly office Ability for some remote work (after 90 days) Weekly team lunches Monthly team activities / fun events

    Cons

    Work is very fast paced; and sometimes not for everyone Autonomous work can have it's pro's & con's; One has to be a self-motivated and driven individual to succeed. When considering internal promotions, many roles are based outside of the Americas. When considering salaries, base compensation is a factor, not overall compensation. Ensure we remain competitive in the markets.

    Continue reading
    TransferWise2019-10-18
  6. "friendly and welcoming culture with modern tech challenges you've always dreamed of"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You work on things at scale. Many of the challenges that smaller companies are afraid of wasting their time, over-optimizing for, are crucial here. You're trusted to do your work independently and given support when you ask for it. Engineers (and all team members!) are completely involved and relied upon during project planning - so you always have a say in what your team will work on. Flexible remote working policy (e.g. expecting a delivery at home today, traveling, etc.) Travel opportunities to work with teammates or cross-teammates from other offices

    Cons

    There is a chance some of your work will be on legacy code (Java 8, groovy, grails, angular 1.x), but this is quickly changing and as of late 2019 many services have upgraded to a newer Java (11+) and/or latest frameworks (React, Spring). Fragmented frontend code. TW has taken a "microservices for frontend" approach which is more difficult to work with (versus the ease of developing a true SPA). Team structure happens organically which makes sense to those involved but looks quite strange from anyone trying to understand where to go for specific help. Some times it's very obvious and other times it's not. Too much information. There are hundreds (if not thousands) of nontrivial initiatives going on at once and keeping abreast is challenging but somewhat expected of you (to a degree).

    Continue reading
    TransferWise2019-10-09
  7. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compliance Specialist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic people in both of their US offices (Tampa & NYC). Great work culture with many team events including team outings, Friday lunches and fika. Opportunity for travel

    Cons

    There is a lot of work to be done, so you need to be up for the challenge

    TransferWise2019-10-07
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Best place I've ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Copywriter in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've worked in at many companies, in many different industries. This is far and away the best place I've worked. We provide a legitimately helpful, beneficial service to our clients, with no downside to anyone. My colleagues are some of the most intelligent, dynamic, kind people I've ever met. The culture is open, inclusive, not rigid at all.

    Cons

    Every medium-large company has a certain amount of bureaucracy. TransferWise is no different. But it has less of it than I've experienced before. People who need a ton of structure — who need to be told what to do to do their job — might struggle here. Being a self-starter is rewarded. Also there is not necessarily a steady, prescribed path to moving up. You move up if you do good work, but there's no formula (years + KPIs, for instance) that guarantees it. At least not that I've seen. I actually like that. I understand why some may not.

    Continue reading
    TransferWise2019-10-04
  9. "Amazing Place to Lead and Grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - AML Compliance Officer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Opportunities to work on exciting projects in a rapidly expanding company - Mission driven culture where everyone is working hard - Amazing co-workers (who bring well behaved dogs to work!) who are drama free - No silly rules or mindless bureaucracy that you find at large financial institutions - Leadership and career development opportunities for those that pursue them - Regular open performance feedback - Great benefits package and stock options - Generous leave and holiday policies - Zero deductible health insurance option in the US - Work travel (depending on your role)

    Cons

    - Salary compensation is not competitive for many roles - Feedback heavy culture requires a growth mindset and isn't for the thin-skinned

    Continue reading
    TransferWise2019-10-04
  10. "AMAZING"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - KYC Analyst in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    every day is great. leads are supportive, coworkers nice. so many perks.

    Cons

    pay could be a bit bigger to match cost of living expenses

    Continue reading
    TransferWise2019-10-04

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 373 reviews