TransferWise "due to lack" Reviews | Glassdoor

TransferWise Employee Reviews about "due to lack"

Updated Feb 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
90%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
TransferWise CEO Kristo Käärman
Kristo Käärman
202 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fast paced work environment teaches skills that may otherwise take much longer(in 45 reviews)

  • "Great people that you get to work with(in 20 reviews)

Cons
  • "The "autonomous teams" has its downfalls too - mainly the communication between teams during different projects(in 24 reviews)

  • "Cross-team efforts are not so easy to coordinate as all teams are autonomous(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "due to lack"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Compliance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compliance Officer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Strong compliance program, collaborative work environment, high opportunity for self- and career development, smart coworkers with great personalities

    Cons

    Not really a con, but I'm required. Environment is fast-paced--mastering work requires subject matter expertise, good problem-solving skills, great communication skills, instinct for process development, and facility for relationship building. Challenging, but very engaging and fun.

    TransferWise2020-01-23
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good benefits, but don't motivate their employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compusa in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Health insurance, stocks, PTOs, free food (snacks and lunch - once a week)

    Cons

    Bad salaries, horrible management, full and noisy office

    TransferWise2020-02-03
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Not as good as it once was"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kyc Specialist in Tampa, FL
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Health and dental benefits International travel to Estonia

    Cons

    Has become more corporate with hierarchy like any other company and offering less flexibility, but with low to average compensation in the industry

    Continue reading
    TransferWise2020-01-28
  4. "Excellent learning environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Public Relations in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TransferWise part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Smart co-workers Helpful atmosphere Thoughtful, inclusive team

    Cons

    Lack of direction at times as they believe in 'autonomous teams' and self-starters People can work in silos

    Continue reading
    TransferWise2019-12-18
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Customer Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are amazing, PTO, health insurance, 401k, stocks. You cant complain.

    Cons

    There is really limited place to grow in Tampa office. Salary is really low, it's hard to believe you start at 14hour. If you are planning to build a career, this is not the right place.

    Continue reading
    TransferWise2019-11-15

    TransferWise Response

    November 19, 2019Chief People Officer

    Thanks for sharing your honest feedback, it's really important to us and helps us as we continue to build TransferWise for the future. I'm sorry to hear about your frustrations. We're regularly reviewing our salary ranges to ensure they continue to be competitive and we review salary ranges for all employees globally at least every 12 months, this process is currently in progress for Tampa. As you know in addition to salary we offer competitive stock options for all employees to share in the long term success in the company. Definitely check in with your lead or lead of lead about the review if you haven't already. And if there is anything you're concerned about, you can always reach out to me directly or the People Operations team, we'd be more than happy to help.Thanks, Ross

    Continue reading
  6. "Amazing Work Culture and great leaders"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Support Agent in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working at TransferWise has been sooooooooo much better than any other job I've had. They actually care about their employees, and I feel a part of a big team. You have a good amount of freedom when it comes to scheduling and the benefits are priced well. Everyone here is very open minded to improving and growing as a company and as a culture. Team leaders are extremely helpful, receptive, and they really do listen to what you have to say. Everyone is empowered to change things i n the company which I really love. This job is all about problem solving and days are not boring at all. It's got the young start-up mentality of a tech place in California, but its in Tampa!

    Cons

    It can sometimes be very busy, which at times can be stressful, but no where near the stress at other jobs. Scheduling time off needs to be done 30-45 days ahead of time, but there are sick days as well if needed. The pros far outweigh the cons. The pay is enough to live on, but can be a little tight. Not sure what the pay is for promotions but hopefully can get a bit higher.

    Continue reading
    TransferWise2019-10-24
  7. "Customer support portuguese"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It’s an amazing company, it gives you the flexibility you need and the culture and values are awesome. You really feel like part of a big family.

    Cons

    TransferWise might not be a good fit for you if you can’t be your own boss. You won’t have people above you telling you what to do.

    TransferWise2019-10-25
  8. "Great place to work, fun culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People Team in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work environment Loads of paid time off (5 weeks vacation, 2 weeks sick) Paid sabbatical (after 4 years of service) Paid Parental Leave (after one year of service) 401k Match NSO Stock options Freedom, ability to make an impact, drive change- Friendly environment Opportunities to participate or lead projects to move the business forward - sometimes even world-wide opportunities Diverse culture - speak 5+ foreign languages Working with people from different cultures Competitive benefits package Pet-friendly office Ability for some remote work (after 90 days) Weekly team lunches Monthly team activities / fun events

    Cons

    Work is very fast paced; and sometimes not for everyone Autonomous work can have it's pro's & con's; One has to be a self-motivated and driven individual to succeed. When considering internal promotions, many roles are based outside of the Americas. When considering salaries, base compensation is a factor, not overall compensation. Ensure we remain competitive in the markets.

    Continue reading
    TransferWise2019-10-18
  9. "friendly and welcoming culture with modern tech challenges you've always dreamed of"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You work on things at scale. Many of the challenges that smaller companies are afraid of wasting their time, over-optimizing for, are crucial here. You're trusted to do your work independently and given support when you ask for it. Engineers (and all team members!) are completely involved and relied upon during project planning - so you always have a say in what your team will work on. Flexible remote working policy (e.g. expecting a delivery at home today, traveling, etc.) Travel opportunities to work with teammates or cross-teammates from other offices

    Cons

    There is a chance some of your work will be on legacy code (Java 8, groovy, grails, angular 1.x), but this is quickly changing and as of late 2019 many services have upgraded to a newer Java (11+) and/or latest frameworks (React, Spring). Fragmented frontend code. TW has taken a "microservices for frontend" approach which is more difficult to work with (versus the ease of developing a true SPA). Team structure happens organically which makes sense to those involved but looks quite strange from anyone trying to understand where to go for specific help. Some times it's very obvious and other times it's not. Too much information. There are hundreds (if not thousands) of nontrivial initiatives going on at once and keeping abreast is challenging but somewhat expected of you (to a degree).

    Continue reading
    TransferWise2019-10-09
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Best place I've ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Copywriter in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransferWise full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I've worked in at many companies, in many different industries. This is far and away the best place I've worked. We provide a legitimately helpful, beneficial service to our clients, with no downside to anyone. My colleagues are some of the most intelligent, dynamic, kind people I've ever met. The culture is open, inclusive, not rigid at all.

    Cons

    Every medium-large company has a certain amount of bureaucracy. TransferWise is no different. But it has less of it than I've experienced before. People who need a ton of structure — who need to be told what to do to do their job — might struggle here. Being a self-starter is rewarded. Also there is not necessarily a steady, prescribed path to moving up. You move up if you do good work, but there's no formula (years + KPIs, for instance) that guarantees it. At least not that I've seen. I actually like that. I understand why some may not.

    Continue reading
    TransferWise2019-10-04

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 373 reviews