Transnet South Africa Reviews | Glassdoor

Transnet South Africa Reviews

Updated Aug 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 52 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
Transnet South Africa CEO Siyabonga Gama
Siyabonga Gama
11 Ratings
Pros
  • "(in 4 reviews)

  • "(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Red tape ensures that execution of all processes are at a snails pace(in 5 reviews)

  • "No clear strategic direction sometimes due to politics(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Big White Elephant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Johannesburg, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Transnet South Africa full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexibility in terms of working hours, that is if you are working at park town and also dependent on which department you working in. Good place to work at if you want to study or open a personal business.

    Cons

    -Career dead end Jobs -Red tape -Misalignment between different divisions

    Advice to Management

    Increase effort to retain talent, not only by awarding certificate but increasing remuneration also.

    Transnet South Africa2018-02-28
  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Coordinator in Pretoria, Gauteng
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Transnet South Africa full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    No flexible hours 8 to 5

    Transnet South Africa2019-08-14
  3. "2nd engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Second ENGINEER in Durban
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Transnet South Africa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Permanent. Two weeks on two weeks off rotation

    Cons

    Different salaries for same position.

    Advice to Management

    Pay the same salary to people who do the same job and have the same qualifications.

    Transnet South Africa2019-07-10
  4. "Great start to your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer-In-Training 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Transnet South Africa full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very high starting salary Flexible working time Good benefits Incentive bonuses

    Cons

    Corruption Ageing workforce Culture of poor work ethic Culture of refusing responsibility of duties Red tape ensures that execution of all processes are at a snails pace

    Transnet South Africa2019-07-01
  5. "Best Employer for many years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Secretary in Johannesburg
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Transnet South Africa full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Transnet looks after it's employees - with a crashing economy they always keep in mind how to make sure all levels of people are looked after

    Cons

    Growth, progression and promotion is slow

    Transnet South Africa2019-06-13
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Typical state owned company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Johannesburg
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Transnet South Africa full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great job security (for now)

    Cons

    You will have to get a job offer elsewhere in order for them to counter-offer you (only if they need you)otherwise you will not be paid fairly. No career advancement for non-black employees, you will see your black colleagues job-hop within the organization while you struggle to even be invited for an interview. The few Non-blacks left are slowly being worked out of the company. Affirmative action targets are... exceeded to the detriment of all other races. Typical bunch of clowns at the helm of an S.O.C in South Africa. Management do not get any medical benefit

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    None.

    Transnet South Africa2019-03-20
  7. "Not a good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Train Driver in Johannesburg
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Transnet South Africa full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Payday is all that matters

    Cons

    Long shifts, no support from management, lack of resources, some of the rules and main agreement are unrealistic

    Advice to Management

    Support the train crew because they are the heart of the company.

    Transnet South Africa2019-04-09
  8. "Transnet"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Contract Specialist in Durban
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Transnet South Africa full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Annual Performance Bonus Training Policy Bursary Policy Relocation Policy

    Cons

    Nepotism Extremely poor communication Poor leadership Dishonest leaders

    Advice to Management

    Stop looking at your own pockets and favouring family and friends over the right people and start building trust within the organization and take care of the people that truly add value to the organization every single day.

    Transnet South Africa2019-04-07
  9. "Track Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in Budapest
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Transnet South Africa full-time

    Pros

    I have been construction, design office and railway maintenance industries. Managed multidisciplinary project as well as finance management

    Cons

    One of my shortfalls is that I go extra miles in terms of dedication in my work and my family time is compromised sometimes.

    Advice to Management

    I acted in role of maintenance manager, and ultimately as Depot Engineer. In all these roles I gained extensive knowledge and skills in railway engineering, finance management and project management as well people's management

    Transnet South Africa2018-10-10
  10. "Transnet Tops"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chief Administrative Officer in Johannesburg
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Transnet South Africa full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Transnet really try to keep all it's employees happy Training and development

    Cons

    There is no cons, big company lots off different employment

    Advice to Management

    None

    Transnet South Africa2018-09-26
Found 52 reviews