Transplace Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Transplace Reviews

Updated Oct 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
63%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Transplace CEO Frank McGuigan  (no image)
Frank McGuigan
16 Ratings
  1. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Logistics Specialist 

    I have been working at Transplace full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for.

    Cons

    N/A N?A N?A N?A

    Transplace2019-07-15
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Get the experience and run"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Lowell, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Transplace full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Relaxed culture, fairly easy work, if you are looking to come in, do your job and keep your head down, perfect place for you.

    Cons

    Feels like a dog chasing its tail, HR efforts at unity are sporadic and half hearted at best, high employee turn over, pay is BAD in comparison to what the local job markets offer, leadership can be very bad, this culture attracts people that can get the job done and leaders will be kept if they can just meet the minimum, no reward or recognition for excellence unless you are a great self promoter.

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to the potential of your people! So many great works are ignored because leaders do not pay attention to what they are contributing or pushing them. I suggest doing a culture overhaul before you get too big and then you will have a ton of trouble

    Transplace2019-07-11
  3. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Transportation Planner in Saint Louis, MO

    I have been working at Transplace full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There is a direct career path

    Cons

    They keep acquiring new business

    Transplace2019-06-14
  4. "Poor work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Logistics Specialist in Greensboro, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Transplace full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Always hiring for entry level positions

    Cons

    Poor work/life balance. Expected to work overtime and on call hours without compensation. High employee turn over.

    Advice to Management

    Pay more competitively to reduce employee turnover

    Transplace2019-06-08
  5. "Great entry level"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Greensboro, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Transplace full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Career opportunities are widely available. If you do your job to the best of your abliity then you will be recognized for it

    Cons

    Pay not as competitive as other firms

    Transplace2019-04-26
  6. "Solid first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Logistics Planner 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Transplace full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Gives a lot of experience. Vacation time is decent

    Cons

    Work around holidays and pay should better

    Transplace2019-04-07
  7. "Transplace 3PL"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lowell, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Transplace full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good people, supportive environment, career development

    Cons

    Average wages, communication barriers between departments

    Transplace2019-03-07
  8. "Decent company to work for, very corporate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Transplace full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good team environment, decent benefits and time off

    Cons

    Business never closes so few holidays off

    Transplace2019-02-25
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Logistics Specialist in Lowell, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Transplace full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Supportive management Family Oriented No micromanagement Good work/life balance

    Cons

    Not many ways to move up Pay could be better

    Transplace2019-01-28
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Best place I’ve worked so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Logistics Specialist in Lowell, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Transplace full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The experience you get at this company highly depends on your department and account because the nature of the work is highly dependent of your customer and your managers style/personality. I know people that came from other accounts before mine and were considering quitting and some who have been satisfied with the company for many years. My own team I feel should be a model for the rest of the company because we... all work together, have fostered good friendships, and our managers trust us to get the job done without micro managing. They have a great training system with two solid weeks of transportation and TMS training as well as supplemental courses on their training portal. Everyone is able to ask for LSS Yellow Belt training which the company pays for right away (mine was completed and certified three weeks in). When accounts are slow we can also ask to cross train with other departments for future career development if you ask for it (and your manager is able to set it up).

    Show More

    Cons

    The attempts from HR to foster a company culture are slightly cringey but done with the best intentions. My biggest beef is the highs cost of health insurance and the fat we don’t get Black Friday or Christmas Eve off for holidays.

    Advice to Management

    Overall my experience has been wonderful here. My intention was to move to the area when I started and decided to give the company six months before I decided if I wanted to stay. I’m staying. Keep up the good work, maybe look into some of the accounts that have been complained about by several LS and CSS employees (and those with high turnover).

    Transplace2019-01-22
Found 116 reviews