Transportation Solutions Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Transportation Solutions Group Reviews

Updated Feb 15, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 29 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Transportation Solutions Group CEO Tim Zelasko
Tim Zelasko
23 Ratings
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Enjoyable Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Specialist in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Transportation Solutions Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    TSG is a great place to call home. This company knows how to bring the best out of their employees and reward them for their hard work. TSG knows how to make the work environment fun but can also kick it into work mode and get tasks done. The sky is the limit at TSG and if you prove that you are a hard-working employee you will be able to rise the ranks.

    Cons

    The hours and stress sometimes can be rough but that is every job. I cannot think of a con for TSG. If you show up to work and do your job there is nothing to complain about.

    Advice to Management

    My advice to management is to just keep things the same and not change the way TSG functions. I would hate to see the company lose its fun energetic environment because that is what makes coming into work enjoyable.

    Transportation Solutions Group2014-06-24
  2. "All around great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Transportation Solutions Group part-time

      Pros

      The people around you are very helpful starting out. Nice facilities

      Cons

      Long hours mostly in heat but money was worth it

      Advice to Management

      Nothing

      Transportation Solutions Group2018-02-16
    • Helpful (1)

      "Work hard for little pay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Transportation Solutions Group full-time

      Pros

      Fun environment and management were nice people

      Cons

      non stop work expected to be on call at all times and yet get paid like dirt. If you want to be a telephone marketer it is cool but if you are an actual salesperson it is a waste of your time and skills.

      Advice to Management

      Pay the good people what they deserve

      Transportation Solutions Group2015-06-23
    • "Operations"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Strategic Account Executive in Chicago, IL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Transportation Solutions Group full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great place for getting entry level training in this industry.

      Cons

      The pay is subpar and the hours are long with no lunch.

      Advice to Management

      Improve the company culture.

      Transportation Solutions Group2015-01-30
    • Helpful (3)

      "Sales Rep"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Transportation Solutions Group full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Upper Management is good to the employees who deserve it, the company is growing, a lot of opportunity;

      Cons

      Some of the so called "leaders" and upper level management are anything but a leader, Company plays favorites;

      Advice to Management

      Start living up to your name, mainly the soutions part; you don't have solutions when it comes to growing organically,

      Transportation Solutions Group2014-08-12
    • "Leaving TSG Was The Best Thing I Ever Did"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Carrier Representative in Chicago, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Transportation Solutions Group full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Wear whatever you want. Free cheeseburgers when they keep you there until 19:00 on a Friday night. Superior software program. All you have to do to get promoted is take your shirt off and run around the floor in a speedo.

      Cons

      They overwork their employees BIGTIME. They take freight a whee bit too serious. They book and bounce their freight. It's a company of favorites - i.e. The recent promotion of a very immature individual who absolutely did not deserve that promotion (prob 10+ carrier reps that deserved that promotion more).

      Advice to Management

      Take a step back and change your day to day. Spread your carrier reps and carrier managers on a bigger flex schedule. You all know you make some reps stay till 6 and 7pm (because that's how the TSG freight is (nothing wrong with that))everyday so just create that 09:00 to 19:00 carrier schedule for some that fit it. 10 hours a day is ENOUGH! Stop making these guys work 12 hours a day 2-3 times a week. Remember your...

      Show More
      Transportation Solutions Group2014-06-03
    • "Great Workplace"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Carrier Sales Representative in Chicago, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Transportation Solutions Group full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The people, atmosphere, and activities are fun and rewarding. I wake up excited to go to work everyday and enjoy the daily challenge that is presented. Overall - satisfied with my position and have met some great friends in the office thus far. TSG is a fun place to work and has a fast paced, lively atmosphere.

      Cons

      Sometimes have to work weekends/longer hours than others in the office. Overall though, this is a fun place to work with a good group of employees and management.

      Advice to Management

      Management has an effective system in place.

      Transportation Solutions Group2014-05-15
    • "An amazing environment that is never boring and always keeps you on your toes"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Customer Sales in Chicago, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Transportation Solutions Group full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Working with intelligent people in a fast paced environment couldn't possibly be more motivating

      Cons

      When someone responds with a revised contract, it can take the legal team a day or two to return a signed copy.

      Advice to Management

      Keep the happy hours coming! These outings definitely help with morale and give us the opportunity to mingle with people we may not normally encounter.

      Transportation Solutions Group2014-05-06
    • "HURRY AND GET ABOARD THIS FREIGHT TRAIN BEFORE YOU MISS OUT!!!!!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Carrier Sales in Chicago, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Transportation Solutions Group full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Great work environment, tremendous opportunity of growth, never a slow day very fast paced and competitive, TSG only wants to see you succeed and will help in any which way to make sure this happens. Management is very professional and go out of their way to get to know you and your family on a personal level. From the President of the Company all the way down, everyone is always available to speak at anytime. I...

      Show More

      Cons

      Its hard to leave work related issues at work and not bring them home with you.... On the other hand in this industry the more issues you are dealing with the more money you are making...

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the GREAT WORK!!!!!!!

      Transportation Solutions Group2014-04-23
    • Helpful (1)

      "Couldn't imagine myself working anywhere else.."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Transportation Solutions Group full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      I’ve been with the company for over 10 years and truly feel as if they are my 2nd family.. the company continues to grow / stand out in the market place and I am proud to be a part of that. They are very invested in their employees, and do a lot to make sure the personnel knows they are appreciated.

      Cons

      Long hours, but those who put the effort in have a lot to show for it.

      Advice to Management

      Continue to bring in people who are hungry and want to see this company be successful, as its a fun ride to be a part of that.

      Transportation Solutions Group2014-04-01
    Found 29 reviews