Travel Traders Hotel Retail Reviews

Updated Feb 22, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
2.6
36%
Recommend to a Friend
35%
Approve of CEO
Travel Traders Hotel Retail President & CEO Sean Anderson (no image)
Sean Anderson
24 Ratings
Pros
  • "Pay decent lol 10 about for easy work but no other pros fellow sales associates are nice have never had a problem with them(in 5 reviews)

  • "Meeting new people; I did get to do a little travel with them(in 3 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Really doesn't help that upper management doesn't do much to make lower level management's job easier(in 4 reviews)

  • "This company wants you to live and breath the business as if it is your own with very low pay(in 3 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great environment

      Nov 27, 2017 - Sales Associate in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Not pay enough for the employee

      Cons

      It's a corporate business. The company should focus on the store.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Flexible work environment

      Feb 22, 2021 - Retail Analyst in Miami, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very flexible with time, also a very welcoming team that's always willing to help when needed.

      Cons

      Parking when coming in to work, and major traffic when leaving.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee

      good people, but home office and upper management...

      Dec 18, 2020 - Sales Associate in Alexandria, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      met good people, slow but easy, same when its busy

      Cons

      upper management didnt care about employees

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Former employee

      Jan 11, 2021 - Sales Associate/Cashier 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Was nice to work with different people

      Cons

      Bad management and low pay

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Uncaring company

      Aug 6, 2020 - Area Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Potentially you can bonus monthly

      Cons

      No communication and will not back up management on tough decisions

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Beautiful location to work at, but horrible to work for.

      May 3, 2020 - Retail Sales and Barista in Newport Coast, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Newport Beach, CA location had a beautiful view. The pastries were locally sourced.

      Cons

      Employee retention rate very low. Lack of proper training in product, food safety and management. Verbalized employee favoritism. No consistent safety data collection (fridge temperatures). Lack of variety of beauty supply. Mostly towards fair skin.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      My manager is so nice.

      Mar 17, 2020 - Retail Sales Associate in Bellevue, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      District Manager Lea is so nice.

      Cons

      Sales depends on the hotel occupancy 100%.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      I enjoyed my experience

      Nov 4, 2019 - Store Manager in Louisville, KY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Meeting new people; I did get to do a little travel with them. My general manager and other general manager I meet were great people. HR person was great to work with as well.

      Cons

      for me it was just the cost for health benefits as a single mother was a little too high for me. The pay for general sales associate could be improved to get quality employees who actually work; or atleast that was what I noticed at a few locations I went to help with.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      These people will mislead you...wish I could give 0 stars.

      Jul 8, 2019 - Supervisor in Nashville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The pay is decent...unfortunately you have to compromise your integrity for it.

      Cons

      Dishonest corporate staff, they talk about former employees once they are gone and make it sound like they did something wrong, when the whole time it is really them!

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      It's retail.

      Dec 11, 2016 - Retail Associate in Milwaukee, WI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My direct boss was a responsible, coordinated manager. Never had any problems with scheduling or rescheduling for shifts or resolving issues. Fair compensation compared to the surrounding area for a basically entry-level retail position. Nothing majorly problematic about the work or fellow employees.

      Cons

      It's retail. It's also food service depending on the kind of store you end up in, so I hope you enjoy making coffee. Basically no contact from the company at large. There were two locations Travel Traders oversaw in the Milwaukee area at the time I was there and they were all staffed by the same people from either location. I was formally introduced to the District Manager only once to never see them again for my tenure with the company. If you are unfamiliar with the term "planogram," be prepared to learn of it and very soon afterward hate it. Company-wide planograms are issued to every store with practically no regard to space or layout and retail employees will spend an inordinate amount of time figuring out how to reorganize walls of items according to a plan that doesn't match the physical limits of the space. You know, how retail works. As with every retail job you'll be afflicted from time to time with secret shoppers, so just be aware that at any point your performance is being scrutinized.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 59 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Travel Traders Hotel Retail Job Seekers

    RETAIL SALES SUPERVISOR
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Travel Traders Hotel Retail? Share Your Experiences

    Travel Traders Hotel Retail logo
    or