TravelBird Web Editor Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Web Editor

TravelBird Web Editor Reviews

Updated Oct 1, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
TravelBird CEO Steven Klooster
Steven Klooster
0 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work for the short term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Web Editor in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TravelBird full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great office, friendly and international colleagues, tasty lunches and tons of social activities.

    Cons

    There are very few (if any) real opportunities to grow within the company. Even if it were possible, nobody takes the time to follow up and make sure employees thrive.

    Advice to Management

    Hiring new people is easy, but costly and inefficient in the long run. Take the time and effort to really figure out how your employees can grow as your company grows as well.

    TravelBird2018-10-01
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Great for your first few months of working – that's all!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Web Editor in Amsterdam
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TravelBird full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There's a great community of young people in their first job, great for making friends of you're new to the city, Friday drinks,

    Cons

    Everything else. Extremely low salary. You're pretty much guaranteed that you won't get a permanent contract when it's time for the third one to be renewed. Also they claim that you can easily grow in the company. I haven't witnessed that myself or in my team yet.

    Advice to Management

    Stop taking your employees for granted. Increase the salaries and actually live up to all the things that you claim in the job offers.

    TravelBird2017-05-23

    TravelBird Response

    June 13, 2017International Recruiter

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and we are sorry to hear you've experienced your time at TravelBird this way. We always strive to improve how our (future) employees experience working at TravelBird, so if you are open to elaborate on the problems you have experienced this would be very valuable. Feel free to reach out to our Recruitment department.

    Show Less
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Great experience writing at TravelBird"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Web Editor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TravelBird full-time

    Pros

    A great thing about working at TravelBird is that you get to learn a lot in a short amount of time. Things move fast and you get a lot of freedom. The people that work here are eager to make an impact and ambitious but also value the social aspects of work which as an expat relocating to a new city was very important to me. The company culture is very open and you can see that they care about keeping the... international environment alive (e.g. every team has flags hanging of the nationalities of people working there)

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes the internal communication processes are not optimised, which for our editing department can lead to some confusion and delay. The pressure is also quite high, as you get a lot of freedom there is also high pressure to deliver.

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing in streamlining operational processes and let the creative juices flow!

    TravelBird2016-09-06

    TravelBird Response

    October 4, 2016International Recruiter

    We are working very hard on optimising the (communication) processes, so if you have any ideas on this, please get in touch with us. Thanks for sharing your feedback, we appreciate it! It is exciting to hear that you are enjoying the freedom and culture at TravelBird, and feeling at home in Amsterdam. Cheers, Zoë

    Show Less
  4. "Good vibes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Web Editor in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TravelBird full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    real career opportunities, good work life balance, fantastic people, amazing location, interesting and versatile tasks

    Cons

    they closed my department with cold blood :)

    TravelBird2016-06-15
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good for a short time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Web Editor in Amsterdam
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at TravelBird full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great people, nice atmosphere, beautiful office, relax, modern style of management

    Cons

    salary, overwhelming pressure, chaos, technical problems and limitation with the system

    Advice to Management

    give employees opportunities to grow

    TravelBird2016-04-20
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Good company for junior professionals only"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Web Editor in Amsterdam
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TravelBird

    Pros

    Good atmosphere, teams are usually close-knitted, lots of fun

    Cons

    Impossible to grow, company culture which foster narcissism

    Advice to Management

    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

    TravelBird2016-03-14
  7. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Web Editor 

    I have been working at TravelBird for more than a year

    Pros

    Working at Travelbird is great especially when it's one of your first jobs abroad – this company makes it really easy to settle in a new country; you meet a lot of cool, dynamic and young people, who all share the experience of working abroad with you. When you like to have freedom, flexibility and challenging situations – then TravelBird is the right company for you. Through constant changes and developments you... can learn a lot personally and professionally (if it's leading a team, taking over projects, developing new ideas in a short time, working with all kind of different people from different countries, but also seeing a company grow and professionalize). Furthermore it's a place, where you will feel comfortable very fast - when you come to the office in the morning you smell already the fresh coffee from the coffee bar, you go with your team to the office-restaurant for lunch, where you get some healthy food, you enjoy the team spirit within your country team and after work you can join nice activities with your colleagues; so, it's definitely a work place that makes going to work very easy

    Show More

    Cons

    As the company is quite young and still developing and searching for the best technical and strategical ways, working at TravelBird can sometimes be a bit chaotic – so if you need structures and you are not very flexible, then it's maybe not the right place. Also if you have ideas, you sometimes meet a lot of challenges on the way of realizing them.

    TravelBird2016-02-18
Found 7 reviews