Travelers Reviews

Updated May 8, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
83%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Great benefits from the start date(in 225 reviews)

  • "Good work life balance, benefits and PTO normal/good(in 211 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "There is no focus on work/life balance(in 99 reviews)

  • "Hartford is a commuter city; not much after work(in 99 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Travelers and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years
      Featured Review

      Great Leadership Programs

      Dec 28, 2020 - Operations Leadership Development Program in Hartford, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Travelers provides great opportunities for their employees for career advancement; the leadership programs being a star of that. However, outside of dedicated programs, most organizations promote from within and work deeply with their employees to understand the wants and needs of their career and help them achieve their goals. Largely, Travelers listens to it's employees and caters to their needs by providing great benefits both in and out of the office.

      Cons

      Technologically, Travelers is working to update a lot of systems and infrastructure. This is not hindering in most roles and is a small con compared to the long list of pros. In this regard, Travelers is investing heavily in systems and infrastructure updating, and largely doing this with hiring more talent and partnering with other tech companies to achieve our goals.

      7 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great place to work

      May 8, 2021 - Auto Claims Handlers in Alpharetta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Benefits Lots of growth opportunity Top Tier Training

      Cons

      System is outdated and needs updating

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Company in transition

      Apr 29, 2021 - Chief Underwriting Officer in Hartford, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great reputation in the insurance business. Strong financials. Very good benefits. Good training programs including leadership programs. Committed to supporting the communities where Travelers is located. Managed transition to work from home due to COVID very well. Maintains a collaborative environment where voices are heard.

      Cons

      Moving away from underwiring leading decisions based on data to data managers leading decisions. Best career path in Travelers today is for the data scientist. Unsure of the long-term direction as the company has struggled to keep up with competitors in investments in technology and growing the business through acquisitions or organic growth. Strong focus on shareholders with most capital going to stock buy backs and dividends with little left for long term investment in the businesses or technology within Travelers. Limit organic growth and limited appetite for acquisitions.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Travelers Response

      Social Media Manager - Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for your review. We continue to invest in our underwriting capabilities to keep pace with a constantly evolving risk landscape. This includes our outstanding underwriting development program, which is a major source of our underwriting talent focusing on both the technical and cultural aspects of how we take and manage risk at Travelers. The Property and Casualty industry has long relied on data and analytics as a foundational component of responsible risk taking. It’s why we continue to view investments in building out new and existing data strategies to inform how we take underwriting risk as a priority. Our scale provides for unique insights into risk performance and serves as a competitive advantage in an industry where matching a risk with the right price is critical for long-term success. Our investments in data and analytics, coupled with our ongoing investments in attracting and developing industry leading underwriting talent, is a major reason we feel extremely well positioned for the challenges of today and the future. We value feedback from our employees and ensuring they understand our underwriting philosophy and approach is of great importance to us. At Travelers, we are proud of our 165+ year history of underwriting innovation and our never-ending commitment to underwriting excellence. Rick Keegan Chief Underwriting Officer

    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      decent company, but could do better

      Apr 21, 2021 - Account Manager in Alpharette, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - time off - flexibility to work from home during COVID - good job handling COVID - systems have improved

      Cons

      - not enough diversity on my unit. Most of the individuals were white conservatives who held views that were troubling to me as a minority. -had to jump through too many hoops to work from home pre-covid - being "voluntold" to take on roles/extracurriculars that I had no interest in -such a frigid atmosphere since AMs are not treated that fairly by AEs. Alot of the AEs did sneaky things to through AMs under the bus. - Poor training - Manager played favorites

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Life Under the Umbrella

      Jan 28, 2021 - Associate Technology Engineer in Hartford, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I never imagined I would be working at an insurance company after completing my undergrad. I've been with Travelers about 2 years now. The company of course puts their customers first but to make that happen they put even more time and effort into their employees. This is reflective of how long many employees have been with the company. It's not uncommon to hear from multiple people that they've been with Travelers for 2-3 decades, or they left and came back, or that multiple family members work for the company. They do a lot for their employees and it's created a great culture and work-life balance. The pay is very generous and bonuses reflect your initiative and effort. All of my managers have been incredibly supportive and have helped me grow. They are super flexible with the things that come up in life. The benefits are great especially for young people out of college (100% match in your 401k, a pension plan, and student loan 401k matching). There's also a lot of opportunity to move into leadership roles. Overall a great company to work for.

      Cons

      Honestly there isn't much I can say. I wish there was more of an emphasis on higher educationvfor employees. They do pay for higher education but it's not necessarily encouraged or talked about. The overall program is pretty standard. There are other companies with better higher ed programs in that regard. With the wide range of technology we incorporate in Travelers as an engineer there can be a lot of hoops to jump through for things. But it makes sense too. There's a lot of moving pieces to manage.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Overall great place to work

      Apr 17, 2021 - Medical Manager in Kansas City, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits Flexible with work hours and location Great local management that care about their employees

      Cons

      Systems need better integration (too many clicks, double work, too many screens have to be open to do basics of job. Too many workarounds) Product team isn’t real accepting of constructive feedback

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great!

      May 6, 2021 - Acct Executive in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Travelers is a great company to work for

      Cons

      None that I can think of.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company to work for

      May 5, 2021 - Operations in Saint Paul, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Supportive employee culture, encourages education

      Cons

      Jobs can be competitive but opportunities are available

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Nice to work at

      May 5, 2021 - Claims Examiner in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice environment to work at

      Cons

      I do not have any

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great Place to Work

      Sep 20, 2018 - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      For those who want to learn and grow their career, this is the place. Leaders genuinely care about us, our customers, and the business. Coworkers are friendly, helpful, and caring. Want to be involved in work projects? Community events? Healthy walks? We have all that. Good pay and benefits.

      Cons

      We work at a fast pace - if that's not your thing, this isn't your place. We work as a team - if that's not your thing, this isn't your place. We value diversity in every way - if that's not your thing, this isn't your place. The only constant is change - if that's not your thing, this isn't your place.

      Continue reading
      118 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,924 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Travelers Job Seekers

    Claims Adjuster
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Outside Property Claims Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Claim Representative Trainee
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Travelers? Share Your Experiences

    or