Travis Perkins Reviews | Glassdoor

Travis Perkins Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 178 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
John Carter
76 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance, investment in colleagues, great culture that is open, collaborative and non hierarchical(in 8 reviews)

  • "Great people and environment with lots of opportunities for career progression(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, Poor pay, Little chance of progression within the company(in 11 reviews)

  • "office a bit shabby, senior management presentations a bit overly evangelical(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Working at Travis Perkins"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Travis Perkins full-time

    Pros

    - Great place to work from a culture perspective - Lots of personal development opportunities

    Cons

    - Head office location in Northampton did not work for me.

    Travis Perkins2018-02-26
  2. "One for the future.....I hope"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Travis Perkins full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Location is convenient to home

    Cons

    Out of date thinking at all levels

    Advice to Management

    Let the good people shine....

    Travis Perkins2019-05-23
  3. "driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Travis Perkins full-time

      Pros

      Good management, good perks, nice colleagues

      Cons

      Communications sometimes poor, needs improving

      Travis Perkins2019-04-25
    • "Management Trainee"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Management Trainee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Travis Perkins full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      I started off in another position working for PTS, the training was mainly in house throughout the scheme and was relevant to daily operations. The pay at the time for the work was fairly ok!

      Cons

      I got moved three times during the scheme due to them liquidating half the branches and cycling out old managers. I worked in Birmingham, Bristol and Nottingham... was given tons of false promises and then thrown into an underperforming branch where half the people challenged me due to my title! I can’t comment more than that however because I was paid off to keep my lips sealed! Just make sure if your doing the scheme...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Don’t pay apprentice’s out of the branch budget... should have kept the good BM’s and RD’s seen the company go upside down!

      Travis Perkins2019-05-02
    • "Marketing Assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Marketing Assistant in Northampton, England
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Travis Perkins full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Great team, lovely place to work and looked forward to the challenge everyday

      Cons

      Business struggling, so therefore felt there was always underlying tension and cuts.

      Travis Perkins2019-04-15
    • "Work employees into the ground and wonder why there is low moral"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Warehouse Operative in Glasgow, Scotland
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Travis Perkins full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      My colleagues were fantastic and the only reason I done the job for so long, I would have left much sooner if it was not for them.

      Cons

      Long hours, Poor pay, Little chance of progression within the company.

      Advice to Management

      You customers are your business, Your sales staff are rewarded, but they guys that keep the products going out the door and the wheels turning are overlooked.

      Travis Perkins2019-04-27
    • Helpful (1)

      "Travesty"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - TOOL HIRE MANAGER 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Travis Perkins full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Leaving.some benefits are good.but every job has its perks

      Cons

      Everything.no help at all.harder you work the less you get.full of broken promises.sly

      Advice to Management

      Listen to your staff,your "you talk we listen" survey is insulting. Whole company is a joke!

      Travis Perkins2019-05-17
    • "Used to be great company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Glasgow, Scotland
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Travis Perkins full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Laid back approach Good hoilday

      Cons

      New management are clueless. Would there turn customers away than be competitive in pricing.

      Advice to Management

      Go back to the old way Travis Perkins TRADING company

      Travis Perkins2019-04-03
    • "Yard supervisor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Yard Worker in Newbury, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Travis Perkins full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Can not think of anything

      Cons

      Management did not talk to you

      Advice to Management

      Treat your staff better

      Travis Perkins2019-03-30
    • "Branch Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Branch Manager 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Travis Perkins full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Good development opportunities. Good bonus scheme.

      Cons

      Long hours. Shortage of staff across the business and branches are far too stretched.

      Advice to Management

      Build better support networks for branches to cover sickness, holidays etc. One person away messes everything up.

      Travis Perkins2019-03-19
    Found 178 reviews