Trek Bicycle Reviews | Glassdoor

Trek Bicycle Reviews

Updated Sep 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 180 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Trek Bicycle CEO John Burke
John Burke
109 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people and fun work atmosphere(in 21 reviews)

  • "Active and alright work environment as long as you like the people around you(in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • "Seasonal work as the rainy season in the winter slows down bike sales(in 15 reviews)

  • "The office is in Waterloo, WI - which is 35 minutes from downtown Madison by car(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Trek Bicycle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Benefits, great products, good work environment

    Cons

    There was nothing wrong with this company

    Advice to Management

    There was nothing wrong with working here

    Trek Bicycle2019-08-27
  2. "Like any other retail position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Trek Bicycle

    Pros

    The discount on products and bikes.

    Cons

    I went to work at Trek at a retail store to learn about product so that I could translate that to a more reaponsable sales position. I have 20 plus years as an outside rep. running multi -million dollar territories. When an inside position came available i did not even get an interview. Like most people I got a standard email saying thanks for applying. Before this I reached out via email and voice mail to mutiple... people in Waterloo and nobody responeded to my emails or voice mails. So much for working from the inside.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The key question for Trek is how do you pull talent from stores to more lucrative and responsible positions. Otherwise there will be constant turnover as students graduate and move on to jons theycanactually earn a living wage.

    Trek Bicycle2019-09-12
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Work smart not hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support Analyst in Waterloo, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Trek Bicycle full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you are into it, the deals on bike parts etc are great. Good people work there.

    Cons

    It's not how hard you work it's all about who you know and what you to to get along. Still a family owned company and it shows. President reads a new book and everyone has to read it and apply the principles. Never spend time to get it right just jump from latest book to latest book hoping for the magic bullet to fix everything.

    Advice to Management

    Identify the problems and work to fix them instead jumping from kaisan to lean in to lean to whatever the next best seller tells you to do.

    Trek Bicycle2019-07-30
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Everyone is a manager, no one is in charge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in West Chester, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Trek Bicycle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Trek corporate info and services were well organized, message consistent and clear, website training which was to be performed on your own time was quite good and well done. Unfortunately, shop managers instruct to use them only as a guideline. They push the hard sell instead.

    Cons

    Very little time for lunch let alone training other than website and that is expected to be performed on your own time. No quality control on bicycle building or repairs, reports of wheels falling off and handlebars giving way. Not at all the consistent with the image the company projects.

    Advice to Management

    Follow the TREK guidance of the website training. Let your employees take and eat lunch. Try keeping employees for a while even though it is seasonal business and you don't really need too many for long.

    Trek Bicycle2019-07-25
  5. Helpful (9)

    "Gaslit management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Waterloo, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Trek Bicycle full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Cafe, riding culture if you're in to that

    Cons

    Management constantly tells you if you work hard you'll be recognized but that isn't true. If you're not in "the club" you'll be constantly overlooked. If seen so many people put in amazing work and then leave because of how there were treated. Trek switch to "performance based reviews and merit raises" a few years ago so they could stop giving regular merit raises. When you finally get one, it amounts to less... than you would have gotten if you had just gotten 2% every year, but they get to make a big deal about it that way. Pay is far below Madison averages and benefits are not competitive. Also do not care about developing employees. Literal quote from the CEO about their Great Places to Work Score "Do you want to know how to raise your score? Fire all the unhappy people!" They consistently score low on compensation and benefits and refuse to address it - they spend all their time focusing on where they scored well but will never talk about how they can improve where they did poorly.

    Show More
    Trek Bicycle2019-07-07
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Dump and run"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Trek Bicycle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Co workers are a great group of people

    Cons

    Management does a poor job of training. Hands on training is much more effective for me. Shadowing is not effective training.

    Advice to Management

    Spend a little more time training BEFORE you fire staff.

    Trek Bicycle2019-07-11
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 

    I have been working at Trek Bicycle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very family oriented environment. A good place to start your career whether you are 18 or beyond.

    Cons

    None that I know of

    Trek Bicycle2019-05-24
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Did you like high school?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Worker in Waterloo, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Trek Bicycle full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Discounts on bikes and other related items. Drinking on the job.

    Cons

    Leadership tries to act like the cool kids in school instead of like compassionate, servant leaders. They will stab you in the back as quickly as they pretend to be your friend. Don't listen and only look after themselves or those in the clich. Childish. CFO actually runs the company not the CEO and he is worst of all. Do as I say not as I do. Immature, rude, petty, and ruthless. There are multiple rumors around... about affairs between top leadership. So glad I'm gone. My boss had no idea what I was doing and only cared about herself. Selfish and arrogant!! RUN AWAY...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Grow up or go back to high school. You are ignoring your best employees because you're too busy having to cover your own butt all the time. When you hire you say it doesn't matter it you're a hard core biker but we both know that's bs. You judge employees based on how much they ride. Stop lying to yourself, take a look in the mirror.

    Trek Bicycle2019-06-20
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Nice until it wasn't"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ascend Retail Accountant 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Trek Bicycle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Laid back atmosphere, employee discount

    Cons

    Constant department restructuring, make 1 mistake and you're dropped like a bad habit.

    Trek Bicycle2019-05-07
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Fun Company - Passionate Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Trek Bicycle full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great atmosphere. Great product to be a part of.

    Cons

    Salary tends to be lower than local averages.

    Trek Bicycle2019-04-22
Found 180 reviews