Trellis Company Reviews | Glassdoor

Trellis Company Reviews

Updated Apr 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 107 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Trellis Company CEO Scott Giles
Scott Giles
2 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The only con is people who no longer work at TG are very bitter(in 11 reviews)

  • "It’s pretty much become just another debt collections company(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A Truly Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Trellis Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Trellis Company has recently made significant leadership changes that have created an environment of trust, openness, and leadership regularly demonstrates how they truly value employee contributions and commitment. The transparency demonstrated just within then past few months provides insight into the future including impact to employees, and the integrity now displayed has long been lacking and while employees are...

    Show More

    Cons

    Trellis has reduced headcount over the years but has solid plans for the future that include significant growth opportunities.

    Advice to Management

    You are on the right track, continue sharing information and developing opportunities for our future.

    Trellis Company2018-12-26
  2. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Trellis Company full-time

    Pros

    Good company to work for

    Cons

    Not many that I can think of

    Trellis Company2019-04-16
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Marketing Analytics Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Trellis Company full-time

    Pros

    Nice people, pockets of excellent performers (particularly in non-profit space), solid work environment

    Cons

    Management at the time was terrible, no risk taking

    Advice to Management

    Don't know Scott

    Trellis Company2019-02-04
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Interview them as much as they are interviewing you. Ask the tough questions."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Communications in Round Rock, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Trellis Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits. Nice people mostly. You get paid for working.

    Cons

    The outlook is negative. The current business model is unsustainable without new sources of revenue. No strong movement towards replacing revenue of a government program that ended 9 years ago (FFELP). Very little transparency and two-way communication from the board of directors. The impression is that the board cares about philanthropy over taking risks that might lead to growth.

    Advice to Management

    Use what is left of the funds to be innovative. It looks pretty bad when employee cuts are being made yet philanthropy is celebrated. Be honest and open to employees about future plans for the company. Restructure the company to remove the board of directors. Thier purpose is highly questionable for a company of this size and structure. This many years after FFELP ended there should have been recovery. Failure is pinned...

    Show More
    Trellis Company2019-01-16
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Learned a lot...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recovery Specialist in Round Rock, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Trellis Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Has a great past and the tenured folks are wonderful. Pay is decent.

    Cons

    Shell of what it used to be. No upward mobility. Career development training has stopped. It’s pretty much become just another debt collections company.

    Advice to Management

    Sink or swim.

    Trellis Company2018-05-30
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Run for the Hills!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recovery Specialist in Round Rock, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Trellis Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    nope, the pros have been eliminated.

    Cons

    We are now on the 5th CEO since I've been employed here. The original portfolio for this company is dwindling into extinction leaving their new business focus...collecting cable bills at $10 an hour. The corporate matra is "be flexible, we will move you wherever we want regardless of the financial impact it has to you". The new CEO has no regard for employee moral.

    Advice to Management

    To the board: pleease reconsider this CEO. This company will soon be nothing more than a low budget collections agency.

    Trellis Company2018-03-31
  7. "Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Trellis Company full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great employees, competitive pay, great benifits

    Cons

    Unclear direction in company''s long term goals.

    Advice to Management

    Company is still awaiting a new long term plan of action from new executive management structure.

    Trellis Company2017-08-27
  8. "Business Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Trellis Company full-time

    Pros

    The job is very flexible with my schedule.

    Cons

    There will be some traveling required for the job.

    Trellis Company2017-08-22
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Confusing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Trellis Company full-time

    Pros

    Potential to make good money

    Cons

    Terminated with no explanation due to favortism

    Advice to Management

    I was told the old management team is no longer there, I am sure the ones there are so much better now

    Trellis Company2017-08-05
  10. Helpful (7)

    "I have worked at TG for 15 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Round Rock, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Trellis Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Company provides 9% pension benefits

    Cons

    Old school mgmt, no business direction. No profit potential and many layoffs with few job opportunities. Company had downsized to one floor of their three story building and reduced headcount via layoffs. Avoid like the plaque if your looking for a professional addition to your resume.

    Advice to Management

    Shut the place down and stop the bleeding.

    Trellis Company2017-05-12
Found 107 reviews