Trellis Company Reviews | Glassdoor

Trellis Company Reviews

Updated Apr 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 107 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Trellis Company CEO Scott Giles
Scott Giles
2 Ratings
  1. "AMAZING COMPANY TO WORK FOR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recovery Specialist and Consolidation Specialist in Round Rock, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Trellis Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, excellent benefits- Amazing Management

    Cons

    None that I experienced

    Advice to Management

    My team leads were amazing no advice 4 them

    Trellis Company2016-11-19
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Nice place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Trellis Company

    Pros

    Great benefits: Generous PTO, 401K, covered parking in a low traffic setting, Nice building (including a small convenience store) and workspaces , frequent free company activities (cookouts, bake sales, free yoga classes). Optimistic work environment: I've been at TG long enough to see a transition from risk averse to a much more entrepreneurial spirit. While that may be unsettling for some, I find it exciting. Pay... seems fair for positions. Work/Life balance is great, most can and do leave at 5:00. Really nice people too. From a high level, there are lots of "irons in the fire" to grow the business. As they start to take shape, things will get even better.

    Show More

    Cons

    The "old" TG was quasi-governmental, complacent, and fearful of change. As changes in the industry force our hand to action, some have a harder time adjusting than others, even at a calculated slow change pace. Some support areas feel understaffed. Maybe they are or maybe they are just adjusting procedures to a faster environment and will take some time to find the new normal. Due to security restrictions, some... technology use is limited and/or filtered. That's frustrating even though I understand it's necessary.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue to support those driving business forward. If anyone is left that's dragging things down, respectfully show them the door. Frequent communication about the status of business prospects is always a good thing. Responding to online feedback frequently would be great too (e.g this site). If the feedback merits more investigation and action, that would also be worthwhile.

    Trellis Company2016-10-11
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Computer Operator III"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Trellis Company

    Pros

    Good health benefits. Adequate salary.

    Cons

    They are laying off employees due to obamacare problems

    Advice to Management

    none

    Trellis Company2016-10-17
  4. Helpful (14)

    "Sinking Ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Trellis Company full-time

    Pros

    Worked with great people and received amazing compensation. Highly competitive for those who thrive in that type of environment. Nice facilities and covered parking is a plus.

    Cons

    Management doesn't care about their employees.

    Advice to Management

    Be more transparent.

    Trellis Company2016-09-08
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Former employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Default Recovery Specialist in Round Rock, TX

    I worked at Trellis Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice building, clean, filtered water, free popcorn and vending machines, used to be able to make really good commission not so sure about that anymore.

    Cons

    Poor management, people are in positions because they are liked by upper management versus being qualified for the job. Management constantly changing policies to fit business needs, which result in the collectors taking losses and not getting paid off their hard work.

    Advice to Management

    Start listening to your employee concerns and suggestions then just maybe the company can turn it's poor reputation around and the company can survive.

    Trellis Company2016-10-05
  6. Helpful (16)

    "Popcorn makes it worth the abuse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Trellis Company

    Pros

    I like popcorn and I have to say the company knows how to do popcorn. The building is clean, too!

    Cons

    The hood mentality of management. Don't like that I publicly make fun of you? Fired. Don't want to take part in our hazing and dance in your first meeting? Fired. Been with the company too long? Fired, we can replace you with someone new for way cheaper. Go to the restroom more than three times in a day? Might just get fired, definitely will get talked to about it. That mentality works for the top guys on the... streets because they can keep the lower-level hood rats in check. It's important to publicly display your dominance... but this is a legit business!! HR stands behinds these guys and that's maybe even more scary.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get a professional artist to graffiti the bathroom stalls and maybe dirty the place up a bit. Seeing graffiti and grime helps put me in the mindset that I might get slapped up if I don't act overly submissive. The professional appearance of the building puts people in a professional mindset and that's working against your goals.

    Trellis Company2016-09-21
  7. Helpful (20)

    "Totally Toxic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Trellis Company for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great parking, free coffee and popcorn, clean facilities, great benefits

    Cons

    When I started working there, the company had a clear vision and direction. However, in the past 2-3 years, it turned into the most toxic working environments I have ever experienced. There is no freedom to safely voice your opinion. If C-level leadership doesn't like that you disagreed with them, you're out. There is a constant threat of "downsizing" which is really just an excuse to get rid of people that... challenge their ideas.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Really listen to your employees. Create an environment where they feel comfortable contributing and are heard.

    Trellis Company2016-07-26
  8. Helpful (15)

    "Awful place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Trellis Company

    Pros

    I have nothing good to say about this place.

    Cons

    No communication, unprofessional, and these people actually think they are helping people.

    Advice to Management

    Stop posting on your own glassdoor review. A bad company with great benefits is still a bad company.

    Trellis Company2016-08-30
  9. Helpful (22)

    "Keepin It 100"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Default Recovery Specialist in Round Rock, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Trellis Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    free coffee and popcorn (no need for fiber supplements), great parking when it was an okay company they paid for college instructors to come in after hours so interested staff could earn college credits. no more. now, to throw a bone to employees they aren’t going to promote they have an internal leadership class. it gives the restless a sense they’re doing something to improve their chances of promotion but... means nothing outside of the company (try taking some college courses that actually translate to the real world and real opportunities elsewhere. stop drinking the koolaid.).

    Show More

    Cons

    the newest initiative is something they call “right sizing”. what this really means is laying off tenured employees and replacing them with ones making half the salary (with little to no experience). the wages for the employees is going down while wages/bonuses for the CEO and upper management is increasing. the strategy is to churn the labor force, keep them fresh and underpaid. the labor force, in their eyes,... is replaceable. there is no longer value put on hiring and retaining qualified and knowledgable staff (or continuing to develop the current staff) who ask too many questions and have the audacity to expect things like loyalty, opportunity and a competitive wage. this current management team continues to experience wage and bonus increases though. the portfolio is dwindling (meaning less money) and they’re getting raises? come on.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    give up on submitting fake positive reviews. your reputation is shot. let this turd sink.

    Trellis Company2016-08-19
  10. Helpful (23)

    "Worst company to work for in central TX!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Collections in Round Rock, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Trellis Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Basic benefits that you would find at any other company. Like others mentioned, popcorn, free coffee, parking, etc.

    Cons

    A toxic work environment. The company has no advancement opportunities. It is basically a waste of tax payer dollars that is making middle and upper management rich and with no accountability.

    Advice to Management

    All negative comments on this website accurately describe the company. Fire the upper management members of collections and HR, hire qualified and ethical replacements, and you might have a chance to survive as a company.

    Trellis Company2016-08-10
Found 107 reviews