Trellis Company Reviews | Glassdoor

Trellis Company Reviews

Updated 15 Apr 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Trellis Company CEO Scott Giles
Scott Giles
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Anonymous in Round Rock, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Trellis Company for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Relaxed atmosphere, secure parking, safe environment, friendly staff.

    Cons

    Company use to be a great place to work. Now future is unsure, and team member activities have been cut. Workplace doesn't have the same positive vibe it use to. There was a large layoff not to long ago, some of these jobs could have been saved and moved elsewhere in the company. Instead new people were hired to fill some of the positions.

    Advice to Management

    Don't let this company become just another cold workplace where management doesn't care about the employees, that is where this place looks to be heading.

    Trellis Company2015-08-26
  2. Helpful (10)

    "Lost In Transition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Round Rock, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Trellis Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Free parking, free coffee/time, nice building, generous benefits package including health care options and pension plan with no employee contribution required, pretty easy 8-5 hours with good work/life balance

    Cons

    If I list a con, I am automatically labeled "not a change agent" or "negative" but here's some honest feedback. The "new" president is a lifer who has worked at the organization for over 30 years along with most of the "new" executive leadership team with 15+ years on average a piece so while they criticize those of us that have been here awhile how is that different?. Current environment could best be described... as a morgue-like. Low morale, low energy. Limited to no communication. Favoritism (or HR) rules the day. Those that run the "winddown" program of FFELP that generates 90% of the revenue for the company have been pushed aside and ignored. Big layoff in April 2015. More rumored to come by the end of the fiscal September along with a name change. If you plan to take a job here - ask about stability of your position.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    New titles do not make leaders. Treat your team members with respect and communicate - especially those in the revenue generating areas of the company. We are not just a dollar sign - we are people. Remember when our slogan used to be "Because We Care" - about employees and customers. It appears that has been forgotten and the only thing that we care about now is money.

    Trellis Company2015-08-31
  3. Helpful (1)

    "This company is quickly changing for the better!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Round Rock, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Trellis Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    New president and executives are strong leaders with solid values who have a plan for the future. Change is happening quickly. Love the location and covered parking. Good benefits too. Company really tries to take care of its people.

    Cons

    Need more high performers who can work quickly to drive results. Too many cynics on the staff. People need to evolve with the company or move along.

    Advice to Management

    Staff up with more strong leaders who can drive change and results.

    Trellis Company2015-08-25
  4. Helpful (1)

    "XXX"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Regional Account Executive in Newburgh, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Trellis Company for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for.

    Cons

    Industry changes impacted employment opportunities

    Trellis Company2015-08-16
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Trellis Company

    Pros

    Friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Free parking. Free popcorn. (Seriously!)

    Cons

    No option for full-time work.

    Trellis Company2015-07-23
  6. Helpful (1)

    "review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Trellis Company

    Pros

    work life, atmosphere, management, team building

    Cons

    the hours can be a bit long but are worth it

    Trellis Company2015-07-23
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Round Rock, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Trellis Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people and benefits. Rewarding job

    Cons

    TG has had multiple lay off in the last couple of years. They need to find new business.

    Trellis Company2015-07-20
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Trellis Company for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Teamwork was a pervasive trait. Benefits are fairly good. Building and parking garage are very nice.

    Cons

    This group is very risk averse and find ways to back away from opportunity and make extra work in attempt to eliminate all risks.

    Trellis Company2015-07-15
  9. "Software developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Computer Systems Analyst in Round Rock, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Trellis Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    TG has a good work environment.

    Cons

    Future uncertain for software developers.

    Advice to Management

    Keop employees you have happy.

    Trellis Company2015-06-29
  10. Helpful (5)

    "The ship is sinking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Round Rock, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Trellis Company

    Pros

    - Great people - Awesome corporate culture - Terrific benefits - Decent salary - Profit sharing

    Cons

    - Red tape - Management is ineffective - Limited room for growth - Company misspent millions This was once a 5 star company. Unfortunately, once the federal government discontinued the FFEL program, the company struggled. They were unable to drum up any new significant business. Millions were spent on making the company a private non-profit, supposedly for a competitive advantage. Ha!. Board has all the power,... with no oversight. This ship is sinking...fast.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Congratulations. You destroyed a great company.

    Trellis Company2015-06-09
Found 107 reviews