Trellis Company "tg" Reviews | Glassdoor

Trellis Company Employee Reviews about "tg"

Updated Apr 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 107 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Trellis Company CEO Scott Giles
Scott Giles
2 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The only con is people who no longer work at TG are very bitter(in 11 reviews)

  • "It’s pretty much become just another debt collections company(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "tg"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Trellis Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and friendly people. Very family oriented. I love working here.

    Cons

    The only con is people who no longer work at TG are very bitter.

    Continue reading
    Trellis Company2017-04-07
  2. Helpful (8)

    "Completely disconnected leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations in Round Rock, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Trellis Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Outstanding compensation. Salary / hourly pay / annual bonus / benefits / environment - Best I'd had in any Account Receivables Management Position. A very well funded organization

    Cons

    Recently (April 2017) the board made significant executive changes. I truly wish this organization the best and am hopeful for them that with new leadership, good things come to the good people that remain. However, while I was there, the executive leadership was disconnected, arrogant, border line abusive and in my view incompetent. The evolution of a changing organization is never easy and with TG it was nearly impossible to endure.

    Continue reading
    Trellis Company2017-04-27
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Nice place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Trellis Company

    Pros

    Great benefits: Generous PTO, 401K, covered parking in a low traffic setting, Nice building (including a small convenience store) and workspaces , frequent free company activities (cookouts, bake sales, free yoga classes). Optimistic work environment: I've been at TG long enough to see a transition from risk averse to a much more entrepreneurial spirit. While that may be unsettling for some, I find it exciting. Pay seems fair for positions. Work/Life balance is great, most can and do leave at 5:00. Really nice people too. From a high level, there are lots of "irons in the fire" to grow the business. As they start to take shape, things will get even better.

    Cons

    The "old" TG was quasi-governmental, complacent, and fearful of change. As changes in the industry force our hand to action, some have a harder time adjusting than others, even at a calculated slow change pace. Some support areas feel understaffed. Maybe they are or maybe they are just adjusting procedures to a faster environment and will take some time to find the new normal. Due to security restrictions, some technology use is limited and/or filtered. That's frustrating even though I understand it's necessary.

    Continue reading
    Trellis Company2016-10-11
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Trellis Company full-time

    Pros

    The company truly cares about employees which is evident in the benefits we have - 401K, insurance, etc. There are a lot of smart, hard working people that work well together at TG which creates a great culture! The plans for TG’s future are promising and management has been doing a good job communicating w/ employees.

    Cons

    The company has been in transition for a while and there are a few people that are negative and not optimistic. Negativity affects morale and it would be great for those who are unhappy to seek employment elsewhere.

    Continue reading
    Trellis Company2016-06-23
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Excited to be part of the transformation as TG goes in new directions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Trellis Company

    Pros

    Company is reinventing itself and I like the plans for the future. Some very smart people in the OTP; hard not to get excited when you hear him speak about the future. I like the new style because it's refreshing and honest. No B.S. these days. I'm definitely in! And the new 401K plan is very good, too.

    Cons

    People who have been coasting along for a while and keeping their heads down to stay off the radar are getting found out and either leaving or being asked to leave which I think is a good thing. I work hard and so do my friends and we are glad to see that things are changing for the better, so that's not really a con. But there are still a few slackers left to go and I hope they leave soon. I think some middle managers are not really strong at management and communication; they either need training or TG should get some new talent.

    Continue reading
    Trellis Company2016-05-29
  6. Helpful (20)

    "Truth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Trellis Company

    Pros

    There are good people there. The building is nice with plenty of parking. Now I am just writing filler because I have run out of Pros.

    Cons

    There are many. For one the glowing reviews with the summations of change being hard are most likely submitted by management to raise their rating on this website. In fact they had meetings on strategy to improve their ratings here when they should have been more concerned with raising the morale of employees. They misleadingly post TG statistics as their new companies statistics. Continual layoffs as they have not been able to generate new new business. Yet they did increase upper managements pay ranges as they were laying off people. There is blatant favoritism and promotion is based on that rather than merit. Management is often by intimidation or threat rather than encouragement. Communication from top down is very bad almost to the point of being secretive. Their portfolio is dwindling and they don't seem to be able to find new business.

    Continue reading
    Trellis Company2016-06-28
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Great Company to Work For!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Trellis Company full-time

    Pros

    * Excellent benefits * Great people who care about each other * TG has been around nearly 40 years and will continue to thrive and be successful

    Cons

    Executives need to get out more and be seen by the team members.

    Continue reading
    Trellis Company2016-05-05

    Trellis Company Response

    June 13, 2016

    Thank you for the feedback. We’re happy to hear that the company update meetings were helpful to you. And we agree! TG’s strategic plan and vision for the future create many opportunities. The future is bright!

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (19)

    "It wasn't always like this,,"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Collections in Round Rock, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Trellis Company for more than 8 years

    Pros

    free parking, popcorn and coffee. Good benefit package. Opportunity to meet some great people

    Cons

    The last several years, working for TG was like being In an abusive relationship. Upper-management , rarely seen unless you play golf, controls using fear. Beatings come in the forms of arbitrary disciplinary action and reduction or loss of incentive with no warning or training prior to the made up offense (consequences are doled out on a case-by-case basis based on the direction the wind blows, with no consistency, and applied based on favoritism) Being less than a robot is unacceptable. And then come the I’m sorrys in the form of motivational posters with sayings by such famous and inspirational people like Dr Seuss—“a person’s a person no matter how small”. And that is supposed to boost morale. Changes to the almost 40 page policy and procedures manual are abrupt and training is haphazard. Training on the changes could vary from class to class so it was rare to have everyone on the same page

    Continue reading
    Trellis Company2016-06-02
  9. Helpful (20)

    "EMPLOYEE OF THE FORMER"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Trellis Company

    Pros

    Great benefits and friendly camaraderie among the overall employees considering the current work environment. The dress code is relaxed enough to allow employees to dress comfortably but still within guidelines.

    Cons

    RISE? Rise to what? Management is terrible. 90% of the team leads have no experience managing people and should never have been promoted as such. They receive no additional training on how to become good managers. There are too many bad/unprofessional practices among the Collections team leads and upper management and it is downright disgusting. People including upper management should have been fired many years ago. TG would have continued being the wonderful place to work like it was 15+ years back. With the only focus now being on money-profit and not what is best for the borrower's or employees...I highly recommend not even considering working for this employer. The company has had many lay off's/terminations over the last year and a half so very unstable from top to bottom. Benefits have been shrinking as well.

    Continue reading
    Trellis Company2016-04-28

    Trellis Company Response

    May 27, 2016Assistant Manager

    Thank you for the feedback. Change can be difficult, especially when it’s revolutionary change such as happened in the student financial aid industry. And, while this type change can be unsettling, it also creates opportunity. Going forward, TG’s vision is one of growth for the business and our people. We want to recruit and retain the best and brightest. Our benefits program continues to measure among the best in market. We offer a robust and affordable health insurance plan along with generous corporate incentive and personal time off (PTO) programs. We strive to be an employer of choice. To achieve that, we will continue to take good care of our people.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (14)

    "Scattered Vision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Technician in Round Rock, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Trellis Company

    Pros

    Compensation is fair. TG had a noble mission of helping borrowers repay their student loans by offering assistance. Philanthropy was strong. Many of the employees are wonderful to work with. Benefits such as health insurance, tuition reimbursement are good.

    Cons

    Serious lay off last Spring. Very rarely are employees offered an opportunity to move up. They hire from outside the company. Executive management is cold and does not communicate. The vision of the company is scattered and now just trying to find any collections business they can find. Much need for centralization of processes and policies, but currently every dept. is a silo doing its own thing. A lot of disrespect towards employees and professionals going on.

    Continue reading
    Trellis Company2016-02-20
Found 107 reviews