Trendmaker Homes Reviews | Glassdoor

Trendmaker Homes Reviews

Updated Aug 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
74%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Trendmaker Homes CEO Joe Mandola (no image)
Joe Mandola
2 Ratings
  1. "Welcoming Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Trendmaker Homes full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is friendly and supportive of your growth. It is refreshing to work somewhere where many people have worked 10-20 years. This is a good sign for employee happiness.

    Cons

    Haven't encountered any downsides yet.

    Trendmaker Homes2018-11-08
  2. Helpful (2)

    "This is not the Trendmaker you have heard about over the years. Run!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Trendmaker Homes full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Model's close at 6pm, that's all I have got.

    Cons

    If you would like to work for an ethical fair company that values and compensates you for your hard work, this won't be for you.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing, they won't listen anyway.

    Trendmaker Homes2019-08-03
  3. "Warranty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Care Representative in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Trendmaker Homes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good pay and great bonus program

    Cons

    overloaded with work, deadlines are basically never met

    Trendmaker Homes2018-12-04
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Going Downhill and Fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Trendmaker Homes full-time

    Pros

    One person sales office, for now. Close at 6pm, for now. The health insurance. That is all.

    Cons

    The # 1 issue - They build incredibly & horribly slow, most times weeks go by with no work being done on the homes. They try to blame it on an industry shortage, meanwhile your competition is building homes all around you & has crews on all homes. The production percentage is an actual embarrassment. Customers see this and constantly complain, feel neglected and unimportant. Sales is constantly taking... the heat from customers for lack of construction work, lack of any flexibility, & lack of warranty after the close. Also, while the home remains stagnant, the customer is not allowed to make a change. Good luck letting anyone in the company know about issues, when you do, there isn't anyone who will return a phone call or email. The % salespeople are paid is well below industry standard, they expect you to meet target goals to increase % but never give you statistics as to whether you met them or not, just a check mark. The corporate office is so out of touch with reality, so this is no surprise. Favorites are also played big time, some get to give homes away and are actually praised for it, while others are held to a higher standard. This used to be a place held in high regard to other salespeople in the industry, Not any more. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't you wonder why so many salespeople like me have quit,? Some with over a decade of service. You can't keep blaming California or the actual person quitting. Don't you see the pattern? You can't be a production builder, with no production. You can't be a champion of customer service, and have zero flexibility with the buyer, you can't be known for quality, when after they close, customers flood the sales... office with complaints and issues and the trade workers won't even show up to do warranty. Why would they show up and do warranty when they can't even show up to build the home. Serious disconnect between the field and corporate.

    Show More
    Trendmaker Homes2018-08-24
  5. "Architectural Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Architectural Designer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Trendmaker Homes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    4-9 hour work days M-T and 1/2 day Friday

    Cons

    Seem to be content with antiquated processes

    Trendmaker Homes2018-04-27
  6. "Best Luxury Builder in Texas to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Trendmaker Homes full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing Company culture, great Benefits, Friendly Coworkers, decent Work Life Balance, Excellent Product to sell, recoginition

    Cons

    Not enough employees on the corporate side to handle all the work. One person ends up doing several different jobs.

    Advice to Management

    It would be nice if their was an actual Training on the construction for the first week in a classroom setting for those entering the New Home Sales role.

    Trendmaker Homes2017-08-19
  7. "Purchasing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Trendmaker Homes full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working for Trendmaker Homes has been a wonderful experience for me so far. I have never worked for a more supportive company. The departments communicate well together and the company creates many opportunities to grow and advance within the company.

    Cons

    No cons. at this time.

    Trendmaker Homes2017-03-19
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Trendmaker Homes full-time

    Pros

    It was a job for a period of time

    Cons

    Was a great company to work for until Tri-Pointe Homes bought Trendmaker Homes. Benefits are the worst in the industry. The new attitude is how cheap can we build the house. All Trendmaker has is a reputation that is fading away. Customer Satisifcation is OUT the door. Knowing what I know about Trendmaker I would not buy a house from them.

    Trendmaker Homes2017-04-03
  9. "No respect for Veterans, Outdaded internal programs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Trendmaker Homes full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    We build pretty aweome homes, sales team is off Fridays

    Cons

    Poor health benefits, very poor.

    Advice to Management

    Rotate and sell homes again to experience the field, that is the best way to understand challenges.

    Trendmaker Homes2017-03-02
  10. "sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Trendmaker Homes

    Pros

    customer service and safety are top priorities ! sales is supported by an expert construction team !

    Cons

    with all the support you receive in the field - you are accountable for results.

    Advice to Management

    none

    Trendmaker Homes2016-03-17
Found 33 reviews