Treyarch Reviews

Updated Jun 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
84%
Recommend to a Friend
Treyarch Co-Studio Heads Mark Gordon and Dan Bunting
Mark Gordon and Dan Bunting
0 Rating
Pros
  • "QA Testing Call of Duty is far more fun and engaging than corporate America(in 7 reviews)

  • "Great people, great benefits, great work(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Not a con for everyone, but be aware of long hours and weekends(in 7 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance is impossible here(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Very happy to work here"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Treyarch full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great people, great benefits, great work.

    Cons

    Lots of overtime in shipping years.

    Treyarch2019-02-27
  2. "Good Place to Work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Designer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Treyarch full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and culture, management seems to genuinely care about people

    Cons

    Can be insular and hard to break into the culture.

    Treyarch2019-11-02
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Crunch 24/7"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Treyarch full-time

    Pros

    Large bonuses and high profile content. Brilliant talent and hard working people.

    Cons

    75-100 hours per week almost all the time. Meetings on Sunday night and phone calls in the middle of the night were not uncommon.

    Continue reading
    Treyarch2018-08-02
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Specialist Engineer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer Specialist in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Treyarch full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    bonus, great office, benefits, lunches and dinners, holiday party in Las Vegas,

    Cons

    too much overtime, to much producers, no diversity, slow growth

    Treyarch2018-04-22
  5. "Good Times"

    5.0
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Treyarch

    Pros

    Fun to work for and a great experience.

    Cons

    Nothing really negative about the job.

    Treyarch2017-10-12
  6. Helpful (9)

    "Teribble egos on senior level"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Artist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Treyarch full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Established company with a proven track record. You know you’re always going to get paid even if their games don’t do so well.

    Cons

    Because many of the people have been working at the studio for years, they can be very elitist in their professional approach.

    Continue reading
    Treyarch2017-10-15
  7. Helpful (2)

    "The Ease of Integration - Treyarch"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Software Engineer in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Treyarch part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    One of the best parts about working at Treyarch, especially as a newbie in the video games industry is that everyone, and I mean everyone, is willing and able to help. Everyone is so understanding and helpful, it allows an intern like myself to fully integrate into the team as I learn along side them. It also allows me to have a visible impact on the game, where in previous internship positions my contributions were not valued.

    Cons

    The only thing that is possibly a con about Treyarch is the short amount of time interns are there.

    Continue reading
    Treyarch2017-08-10
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Pretty cool place"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior 3D Artist in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Treyarch full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I created some of the best artwork of my career at Treyarch, and part of the reason for that was all the talented people I was surrounded by. Working at Treyarch was a career highlight for me for sure. Also, studio head Mark Lamia is one of the coolest and most inspiring "higher ups" I've ever met in my career.

    Cons

    I wouldn't say this is a "con" - but one does need to realize that COD is a multi billion dollar global franchise. And with that comes a certain level of corporate infrastructure, protocol, and priorities that can be potentially frustrating if not viewed from the right "bigger picture" perspective. But if you understand and can appreciate this sort of dynamic - both the challenges and the rewards - then working at Treyarch can be pretty damn amazing. My time there flew by.

    Continue reading
    Treyarch2017-07-09
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead FX Artist in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Treyarch full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Treyarch has been like a second home to me. After more than 10 years here I can honestly say it is still the greatest place I have ever worked. While so many things have changed over those years, this place always adapts and evolves into an even stronger more exciting place to be. The people here are second to none, and I have built friendships that will last a lifetime.

    Cons

    The only con for me is the traffic to get from the valley to Santa Monica and back. The joys of the 405...

    Treyarch2017-06-28
  10. "Great and rewarding studio"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Treyarch full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Working with incredibly talented and gifted people, across all departments and all levels. I've made incredibly close friends here. The people here is what makes this place great. The projects we work on are always ambitious and pushing for bigger and better then we've done before - all focused on how do we give our fans bigger and better experiences. There are tremendous opportunities for growth - as long as you are passionate, and PRO-ACTIVE. Financially rewarding and great benefits. Engineering and tools are pretty phenomenal. We typically get a lot of tools and tech support, allowing us to work as quickly as possible. Software and equipment always accommodated if it's needed.

    Cons

    It's definitely a hard place to work, and not a place for any industry professional. There have been some really aggressive crunch hours in the past, and I'm sure there will be more in the future. The trick is finding the right balance between what you do professionally and your personal life. The bottom line is most people here care more about making the best game they care over how much overtime is worked. Making the kind of games we make, on the kind of schedules we have, while always trying to out-do ourselves each time is tough. Definitely have to balance the time between quality and quantity when it comes to art and animation, to ensure the game play is the best it can be (game play is always the priority). Another downside - it's hard to publish your professional work on your personal portfolio. This seems like more of an Activision thing, rather than Treyarch itself. It's definitely possible to post your work that you've done here, but there's a process in place for it and a lot of red tape to get through before they allow you to post it.

    Continue reading
    Treyarch2017-07-02
Found 54 reviews