TriVita Reviews | Glassdoor

TriVita Reviews

Updated Aug 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
29%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
TriVita CEO Michael R. Ellison (no image)
Michael R. Ellison
31 Ratings
  1. "Director of Publications"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Publications in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TriVita full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great mission, leaders, integrity - very much enjoyed working there.

    Cons

    Mom & pop owned - sometimes hard to advance.

    TriVita2017-10-02
  2. Helpful (3)

    "TriVita isn't paying the compensation owed to it's ITBO's unless they are business builders."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Independent TriVita Business Owner in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at TriVita part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There are none. If the products were made using no synthetic ingredients and were Organic it would be much better

    Cons

    Not getting paid your due compensation! When you acquired customers through the old Coop system you earned compensation at 21% of 70-80% of the product value. In recent years that dropped to 20% of approx. 52% of product value. The new Coop program is currently paying those that spend the money to participate in this program get 40% of the product value weekly, for now. We have to pay back office fees to access... our customers and we have to spend money every month qualifying our account in order to get the compensation. So far we are not getting that compensation but if we miss qualifying our account we will not get paid our compensation. It costs us money every month to qualify our account yet they are behind in paying us what they owe us. Eventually I believe people will stop giving TriVita the money to qualify their account and the compensation ,when it eventually pays, will go to the upline. A large amount of customers in the database are duplicates which means that if compensation is paid it only goes to one person yet many ITBO's acquired these customers through the Coop program at a cost of approx. $100.00 per contact. These customers made TriVita money by being in the system more than once and in some cases 5,6 7 times. If a customer doesn't order for a few months their phone number disappears from the back office, that we pay to maintain ,so we have no way of contacting them. These customers were to have paid compensation to the ITBO's for life once acquired. The uplines that have a lot of ITBO's under them will get the compensation so they won't be complaining about our loss of compensation.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do the right thing and pay the compensation you owe to the ITBO's from the old cycle of COOP instead of paying 40% weekly to those that choose to acquire customers through the new program. That seems to be building TriVita's business while destroying those of us that acquired our customers ( at a cost of $100.00 each). You might want to pay attention before we contact the Federal Trade Commission to file a... complaint.

    Show More
    TriVita2019-08-13
  3. "Trivita does not pay their ITBOs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ITBO in Palm Beach, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at TriVita full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Products seem to be well researched

    Cons

    Trivita does not pay their ITBOs their share of the commission they earned. Trivita claims cash flow problems. They believe that their telling their commissioned salespeople to get in line and that maybe they will be pais is a good strategy. I think not.

    Advice to Management

    Pay us our commissions or we will shut you down.

    TriVita2019-07-25
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Member Services, Wellness Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales, Consulting in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TriVita full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Hours reasonable, good location if you live in the area. Don,t travel for any jobs in this company. Products are good quality. No weekends. Light on meetings. Little or no overtime required. Gym and wellness center, benefits about on par generally.

    Cons

    Don't look to the long term if you start there. Little or no promotions offered. I had no comp raise in over five years. No match on the 401K. Pay is below most other similar jobs. You can get fired unexpectedly. Layoffs frequent. Company has a hard time maintaining profitability, and takes it out on employees. Has gone from 300 employees to under 100 in the last five years. No growth situation. Okay to work there... for a while, but don't bank on it.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The family that runs the company, should step back, and turn it over to more progressive and professional management and marketing people. Company mission has a lot of potential in todays world.

    TriVita2018-04-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TriVita full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful mission. Wellness Center & Gym onsite.

    Cons

    Outdated platform, Family run which can be a pro and a con.

    Advice to Management

    Not only listen to employee suggestions but try some of the great ideas.

    TriVita2017-10-27
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Laid Off Performance Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Performance Manager in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TriVita full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent Pay, Decent Benefits, Good coworkers, Good Products

    Cons

    Upper Managment, Nepotism, Marketing is dated, affiliate program is always changing in the favor of upper management and their bottom line.

    Advice to Management

    Fire the CEO and his family! get a good formulator again. go back to being a wellness company and connect with your customers and help them.

    TriVita2017-04-07
  7. Helpful (5)

    "So much good, so much not good...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TriVita full-time

    Pros

    The people at TriVita are amazing, the Wellness Center group is awesome. Having the onsite medical and workout area is wonderful and very helpful. You feel like they really want to help on your wellness journey. The mid management people are wonderful and helpful when they can be, but their hands are tied. PTO amount is very generous.

    Cons

    Wellness feels forced, whether you want to be on a journey or not, you need to be on one if you want to be "happy" at work. Upper Management need to quit being "yes men" and start actually telling Mr Ellison what is going on, and give true opinions instead of just agreeing with him - don't get me wrong, he is an amazing man and has wonderful ideas. I believe he truly cares but, he needs to know how things are... really happening and that not ALL of his ideas are great.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay your people more, give them incentive to stay - an annual raise and review, would go a long way in keeping up with the cost of living. TriVita was a premium place to work a few years ago, now they are so behind on wages benefits that getting good people has to be hard. You have to let people know you value them, not just by telling them, but showing them too... and a trophy after a few years doesn't cut it...

    TriVita2017-03-03
  8. "Wellness Consultant is selling vitamins with Cross Sell and Upsell. The top five sales people get more sales calls."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Wellness Consultant in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TriVita full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are great if you are chosen to be permanent.

    Cons

    Competitive. Metrics change, management could be more supportive. It is bias, the top five sales people get the sales calls.

    Advice to Management

    Give employees a chance to learn all products and build upsale cross sell sells. Trust your employees are making the best decisions for company and customers. Give everyone a blend of customer service and sales calls. The top five that gets the sales calls is bias.

    TriVita2017-02-14
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Wellness Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Wellness Consultant in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at TriVita full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have nothing good to say about this company. I was a long term emplolyee over 10 years and they laid me off. They also laid off a lot of good people besides me.

    Cons

    I started off at 13.00 per hour and after 10+ years was making 14.99 per hour. They don't give raises and you are micro-managed to the point where you have to ask to go to the bathroom. They had very strict quality assurance rules where you had to make sure you covered about twenty things on the call. You had to get at least a 90% score every week or it counted against your performance. Also you have to make the... customer wait on the phone while you entered the cust service notes.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the strict rules for quality assurance and let us concentrate on good customer service.

    TriVita2016-04-23
  10. "Call Center Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Gilbert, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TriVita for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits - 100% paid by employer Positive environment

    Cons

    no room for growth at the call center level

    Advice to Management

    Stay focused on employees. Make sure they feel valued and appreciated. Good luck.

    TriVita2016-03-10
Found 44 reviews