Tribal Worldwide Reviews | Glassdoor

Tribal Worldwide Reviews

Updated Sep 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 149 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Tribal Worldwide CEO Tom Roberts  (no image)
Tom Roberts
22 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great team, Great atmosphere, Great people(in 11 reviews)

  • "good team, good people, nice experience(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Performance reviews never happen, favouristism, long hours(in 9 reviews)

  • "No one wants to take the time out to nurture the talent below them(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Creative in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tribal Worldwide for less than a year

    Pros

    good people good vibe good working environment

    Cons

    nothing really really good good

    Tribal Worldwide2017-09-19
  2. "Good people, low compensation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Junior Designer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tribal Worldwide full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome ECD and some big name clients. Everyone is really nice. Would recommend for a starter job to get foot in the door in the industry or to freelance at but not for long-term growth.

    Cons

    Low compensation, account steps on creatives toes a lot of the time. They're understaffed so you have to work on basically every account if you're creative.

    Advice to Management

    Hire more creative. Set boundaries with account. Take more risks, do less social video.

    Tribal Worldwide2018-01-25
  3. "Mixed bag"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Tribal Worldwide

    Pros

    Generally lax policies relating to arrival/departure time (depending on manager) as well as clothing. Good people overall.

    Cons

    Upper management made many unkept financial promises as well as other benefits (comp days) for work done over Holidays. There was an expectation to work over Holidays and employees had to fight to be treated fairly.

    Advice to Management

    Keep promises, and be proactive in rewarding hard work.

    Tribal Worldwide2018-01-10
  4. "SEO Specialist/Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior SEO Specialist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Tribal Worldwide full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I manage really big accounts from national and international brands. I have freedom to carry out creative and original strategies and actions I get a lot of internal training if requested and I can go to many SEO events. There´s good atmosphere in the SEO department

    Cons

    Salary is good, but could always improve Commute is not that good Tolerance with some clients' behaviour might not be healthy sometimes

    Advice to Management

    Work on teaching processes to clients must be done

    Tribal Worldwide2017-11-01
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Account manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tribal Worldwide full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible time good work life balance

    Cons

    Extremely unprofessional. I was hired for a job that did not match the job description. I eventually got fired out of nowhere. I had no development and no warning. There staff are absolute idiots. It really shows in their "director of media" she never came in to work and had an opinion on everything. One of the worst jobs I've ever had in my life. I would slave away for hours only to find out work wasn't good enough.... If you don't mind a disorganized company work at Tribal. They will pay you well until they fire you without any warning. It was a blessing to get fired there.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There is no management here: there directors don't even come to work. So maybe get management

    Tribal Worldwide2017-11-07
  6. "Revenue Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tribal Worldwide full-time

    Pros

    Former CFO, Company Culture, Vacation Time

    Cons

    Office Politics, Wages, CEO at the time

    Tribal Worldwide2017-07-09
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place for Professional Suicide"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Team Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Tribal Worldwide

    Pros

    I suppose if you like being in a boat during a storm without a rudder, this is the place for you.

    Cons

    * No respect for the CEO at the time. Disorganized leadership. * No sense of organizational skills or management pedigree among leadership. * Culture of "you need to be mean to get ahead" seemed to be put in place by one of the senior managers and tricked down to the people that worked for her. * Employees don't like working there. When I joined, on day one, the guy training me excused himself after he was... introduced to me, went to his boss and quit, effective immediately, and then came back, apologized, and explained to me why Tribal was such a miserable place to work. Then he left. I really should have listened to him. * Terrible compensation and little growth potential.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Improve your culture by treating employees like human beings. Get better at organized leadership.

    Tribal Worldwide2017-08-05
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Nice & simple people with nice & simple ideas"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tribal Worldwide full-time

    Pros

    Mostly reasonable hours, minimal egos for an agency

    Cons

    It's never a good sign when employees consider weekly bagels one of the best parts of a company... A constant battle for very limited resources across all departments, both big and small accounts were run via freelancers who never cared much, creative and strategy lacked innovation or general awareness of modern culture

    Advice to Management

    You can't get clients to care about social/digital if your own employees don't know or care about it

    Tribal Worldwide2017-07-25
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good Social Vibe Nice Coworkers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tribal Worldwide part-time

    Pros

    Creative, easy-going, social, busy, fun!

    Cons

    Everyone is a perfectionist, sometimes work got stressful.

    Tribal Worldwide2017-02-20
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Phasing themselves out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Tribal Worldwide full-time

    Pros

    Genuinely nice people to work with, good work-life balance for some people. Happy hours on Wednesdays and Bagel Thursdays.

    Cons

    Awful leadership and huge lack of transparency. Resources are low, teams often have to fight over freelancers and employees have to fight for necessary equipment like working computers and monitors. President of company is often gone or hiding in his corner office, quite an enigma to most of the employees. Leadership is lazy and doesn't guide teams, often leaving unexperienced teams to figure things out by... themselves. Company is not set up for proper website or app work, no dev teams, no technologists on staff.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get out of your offices and sit in the pit with your teams, you will learn a lot.

    Tribal Worldwide2016-09-15
Found 149 reviews