Tribune Publishing "nice people" Reviews | Glassdoor

Tribune Publishing Employee Reviews about "nice people"

To filter reviews, or .

Found 241 reviews

2.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
25%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
Timothy P. Knight
7 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Since 2007 there have been no raises and people are getting laid off left and right(in 16 reviews)

  • "Some upper management have little to no people manager experience(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "nice people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "In transition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Tribune Publishing full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Nice people to work with, good salary.

      Cons

      Organization seems to be lacking.

      Tribune Publishing2018-12-22
    • Helpful (1)

      "Advertising"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Tribune Publishing full-time

      Pros

      Great environment. Nice people.

      Cons

      Pay is below market standard. Hard to advance. Too much competition. No job security. Too many cutbacks.

      Tribune Publishing2018-04-18

      Tribune Publishing Response

      April 30, 2018Talent Engagement Manager

      Thank you for the feedback. We appreciate you acknowledging our positive work environment and talented staff. As our organization continues our transformation to becoming a digital media company, we are committed to attracting and retaining top talent and providing the right resources ...

      Show More
    • Helpful (1)

      "Inbound Advertising Representative"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Tribune Publishing full-time

      Pros

      The work isn't too difficult after being trained, a lot of young people working around you. Catered lunches every day, but you have to pay. You get to talk to some nice people on the phone at times. Paid days off are usually approved.

      Cons

      You are evaluated strictly on efficiency and numbers. Most of the people around me hate their job. It is probably the most boring job I have ever done in my entire life.. The pay is too little for the workload you end up with after around 4 months of being there.

      Advice to Management

      I honestly have no advice, I'm not sure this job is even going to exist in 5 years. As soon as someone with power realizes legal notices still need to appear in a physical newspaper theyre going to get rid of that antiquated law. Maybe instead of all efficiency and numbers, tell someone they're doing a good job even if a phone call doesn't hit all the boxes.

      Tribune Publishing2018-03-08

      Tribune Publishing Response

      March 26, 2018Talent Engagement Manager

      Thank you for the feedback and your work at tronc. We’ve recently begun our annual performance achievement cycle that continues the ongoing conversation with your manager surrounding areas of desired career growth. Your leadership team strives to create a dynamic working environment ...

      Show More
    • Helpful (1)

      "No opportunities for advancement"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Graphic Designer in Deerfield Beach, FL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Tribune Publishing full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Good health insurance though expensive. Co-workers are nice people

      Cons

      Tribune used to be a fair and great company to work for. Since 2007 there have been no raises and people are getting laid off left and right. Morale is terrible and the new Tronc management doesn't seem to have any respect for it's current employees

      Advice to Management

      Develop existing employees instead of kicking them out the door and sending work to India or hiring cheaper replacements.

      Tribune Publishing2017-05-09

      Tribune Publishing Response

      July 10, 2017Talent Engagement Manager

      Thank you for review. As an organization, we are committed to creating a performance-based culture that engages and develops our employees. We understand that an engaged workforce is critical to the success of any organization, and are proud of the initiatives underway to support ...

      Show More
    • "Senior Programmer Analyst"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Hartford, CT
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Tribune Publishing

      Pros

      Nice people, flexibility in technology choices. Some of the legacy systems are difficult to integrate but management is comfortable allowing you to integrate newer technology to solve problems.

      Cons

      The future is not certain and the direction of the overall products are difficult to evaluate. Some of the consolidation is good but things have been uncertain since the private buy out.

      Advice to Management

      Continue to innovate and find new ways to get revenue into the door. Many of the sales ideas are antiquated (real estate, cars, ads) but the editorial content is still king.

      Tribune Publishing2016-02-28
    Found 241 reviews