Trident Technical College Reviews | Glassdoor

Trident Technical College Reviews

Updated Jul 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 50 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Trident Technical College CEO Mary Thornley
Mary Thornley
6 Ratings
Pros
  • "Employees are generally happy with the work environment(in 4 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "Very difficult to get a full-time position, usually someone has to retire or quit before a position is available(in 6 reviews)

  • "The instructor was not allowed to delineate from the strict syllabus(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Adjunct 

      I have been working at Trident Technical College part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Pay is great, and I enjoy the student

      Cons

      None really. I enjoy working here

      Trident Technical College2019-06-13
    • "Too mcuh uncompesated work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Adjunct Faculty in Charleston, SC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Trident Technical College part-time

      Pros

      Fun courses, lots of co-operation from coworkers, friendly environment. If you enjoy teaching, this might be a good place for you.

      Cons

      No prep-time given to adjunct faculty who have to set up their courses, grade assignments, be available to assist students through email etc. A LOT of work goes into teaching the class but adjuncts are only paid for Contact hours. No office hours for adjuncts. So an adjunct cannot be expected to schedule appointments with students to give one-on-one help on their own time. They are not paid to do that. Atleast a minimum...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Pay adjuncts for prep time. The profits from student enrollments are due to the adjuncts who are teaching. Pay them for the prep time involved.

      Trident Technical College2019-07-04
    • "Hands on experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - IT Help Desk - Work Study in Charleston, SC
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Trident Technical College part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Use skills learned in classes, no experience required, build experience for resume while in school, finish college with 2 years experience to Jumpstart career

      Cons

      Low pay, max 20hrs per week, don't get to learn/work on high level issues

      Advice to Management

      Push students to learn more, more hands on teaching of complex issues for the students who want it.

      Trident Technical College2019-05-25
    • "Prepared veterans using a federal grant to beprepared for a course and to Spanish-speaking restaurant."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Spanish Teacher in Charleston, SC
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Trident Technical College part-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      The advantages were that there was not much advisory and as an experienced instructor, I could teach as I pleased to achieve the common goal.

      Cons

      The instructor was not allowed to delineate from the strict syllabus. The funding for the course ended, which closed the position.

      Advice to Management

      Please reinstall the course. I know that TTC has been subject to budget cuts, but here there is a critical need for languages in the Charleston community.

      Trident Technical College2019-01-17
    • "anonymous"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Trident Technical College part-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Great company and people to work for.

      Cons

      There really isn't anything bad I can say about the company.

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the great work!

      Trident Technical College2018-12-29
    • "Good students, poor management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Trident Technical College full-time

        Pros

        Students are usually good and work is fairly simple.

        Cons

        Management and administration tend to make poor decisions and recieve advice poorly.

        Trident Technical College2019-01-07
      • Helpful (1)

        "Administrative Specialist"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Trident Technical College part-time

        Pros

        friendly environment, room for growth

        Cons

        pay is only once a month

        Trident Technical College2018-10-15
      • "Great Place to Work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Trident Technical College full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Professional and friendly atmosphere on college campus

        Cons

        State of South Carolina employer

        Trident Technical College2018-07-26
      • "Mismanagement makes good turn bad!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Trident Technical College full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        I have none currently

        Cons

        Management does not care about Faculty. There are no salary increases.

        Trident Technical College2018-07-15
      • "Enjoy your job"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Trident Technical College full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Faculty and staff are supportive of each other, and student focused. Students are, by and large, eager learners and seek to better themselves.

        Cons

        Compared to boardering states and four years schools, the pay is a little low for the required teaching load and duties.

        Advice to Management

        Overall communication could be improved, especially at the division level. Continue their work to improve pay, work environment, and fringe benefits.

        Trident Technical College2018-04-14
      Found 50 reviews