Trillium Family Services Reviews | Glassdoor

Trillium Family Services Reviews

Updated Jul 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 48 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
Kim Scott
8 Ratings
  1. "Incredible people, mediocre pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Skills Trainer 

    I worked at Trillium Family Services part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are what make working at Trillium so incredible. The staff, therapists, managers, everyone is so kind and open to helping you adjust to the new workplace.

    Cons

    Staff are definitely underpaid, but I suppose you can't wish for much given the nature of the work.

    Trillium Family Services2019-03-11
  2. "Trainer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Trainer 

      I worked at Trillium Family Services full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Flexible hours are really nice.

      Cons

      Pay is pretty darn low.

      Advice to Management

      NA

      Trillium Family Services2019-07-08
    • "This place does much more harm than good."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Skills Trainer in Corvallis, OR
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Trillium Family Services full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      I will remain friends with my co-workers even after I quit soon since we are all "trauma-bonded" by the things we have had to see and deal with.

      Cons

      Very unsafe working conditions. There are some VERY violent children who have expressed for years that they do not want help and they are kept locked up in the SAIP units no matter how many staff and peers they hurt. The kids that actually want to get help and get better are pushed to the side and are more traumatized by the violence they have to witness daily in the SAIP units. You will be kicked, bitten, spit on, and...

      Show More
      Trillium Family Services2019-06-22
    • "Great on Paper, lacking in execution"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Trillium Family Services full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Dedicated, hard working direct care staff

      Cons

      indirect staff incredibly out of touch with the rest of the workplace

      Advice to Management

      Raise pay.

      Trillium Family Services2019-05-14
    • "High turnover, low pay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Trillium Family Services

        Pros

        Co workers, the kids, a place to build skills.

        Cons

        Management was awful. Highly behaviorally complex children with no real training on how to mitigate frequent violence.

        Advice to Management

        You should offer clinical supervision.

        Trillium Family Services2019-05-20
      • "Toxic Upper Management Culture"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook

        I worked at Trillium Family Services full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        The kids who deserve more trauma informed care. Powerful work can be done, but if you are too humanistic you'll get talked to by management.

        Cons

        -It seems they care more about the treatment modality than the kids themselves. -Upper management talks really disrespectfully about kids and their families in their clinical supervision meetings (its very unprofessional) - Employees Not adequately trained -not trauma informed -Hard to advocate for yourself -unfair pay -Ignore and emotionally neglect kids who are struggling as a therapeutic tactic, then if you...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        -Become more trauma informed -Practice principles of social justice and social equity -Become aware of re enacting oppression for marginalized clients, or heavily traumatized clients in the name of "therapeutic treatment"

        Trillium Family Services2019-05-24
      • Helpful (1)

        "They're barely surviving"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Trillium Family Services part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        -Team based environment -Empathetic co-workers and management -Lots of opportunity for overtime

        Cons

        -They are unorganized -Can be dangerous -Being texted multiple times a day being asked to work an extra shift -High turn over rate

        Advice to Management

        Re-structure your trainings, so that Skills Trainer are better equipped to actually teach dialectic and cognitive behavioral therapy skills. The kids always thought they were at day-camp, not a treatment facility.

        Trillium Family Services2019-03-05
      • "Wrong billing system"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        Current Employee - Child and Family Therapist in Portland, OR
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Trillium Family Services full-time

        Pros

        Staff really care about the clients, at least on my team. Lots of flexibility as to what works for clients within the therapeutic context. Non-rigid in therapeutic approach.

        Cons

        Billing system is productivity fee for service based. Trillium foots the bill when productivity is not met (rather than the schools we work in). This instills pressure from the top down, which results in the therapists feeling the heat of needing to raise productivity and generate income for the agency. It feels pretty bad. As a result, turnover on my team is very high; it seems people are leaving every month.

        Advice to Management

        Gotta change the approach to the billing system for working in the schools. Turnover will continue to be a problem until there are changes. There's already a ton of pressure on us to do a good job providing therapy with very difficult situations on a constant basis. Adding pressures to 'bill more' to keep the agency running is a leading factor in employees quitting. Put less emphasis on branding (e.g. "Keep Oregon...

        Show More
        Trillium Family Services2019-03-21
      • "Challenging work environment"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Skills Trainer 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Trillium Family Services full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Incredible mission Great co-workers Great benefits Opportunities for growth Decent pay for the field Resources provided for employees' stress and mental health

        Cons

        Can be a dangerous work environment Acutely stressful environment that often felt more like crisis management than skills training Placed in one of the most challenging units without any prior experience

        Advice to Management

        Make the job description more accurate and give people a better sense of what they're signing up for. More training and more shadowing! A mentorship program for staff and more collaboration with the clinical team would be very helpful-- I often felt unheard/unsupported and I know many of my coworkers felt the same way.

        Trillium Family Services2019-02-08
      • Helpful (1)

        "Staff deserve better"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Skills Trainer II in Corvallis, OR
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Trillium Family Services full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Free meal. Decent pay, endless overtime opportunities. Fully paid benefits package. Field exposure. Co-workers.

        Cons

        No guaranteed breaks. High stress environment with little support for direct care staff, including supervisors. Burnout and residual trauma. High staff turnover, meaning you are considered "experienced" after 3 months. Inequalities in pay; when challenged, HR will refer to a pay chart they claim to adhere to. Risk of injury. Upper management out of reach.

        Advice to Management

        Invest more in your direct care staff, and not just financially. Most staff, in my experience, genuinely cared for the kids (and each other) and worked tirelessly until their own wells were dry. Your staff are your greatest asset, and until you truly hear and act on their concerns, you will continue to lose compassionate, hard-working people to burnout or injury.

        Trillium Family Services2019-02-02
      Found 48 reviews