Trinity Industries Reviews | Glassdoor

Trinity Industries Reviews

Updated April 26, 2017
178 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

178 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Great benefits and pay and supervisors (in 7 reviews)

  • Good pay and a bunch of good hard working guys (in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • other than long hours nothing bad to say (in 10 reviews)

  • No one ever admits they made a mistake and always looks to blame others (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "material coordinator"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Material Coordinator in Hallsville, TX
    Former Employee - Material Coordinator in Hallsville, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Trinity Industries full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Very safe environment my standing teamwork expert leadership

    Cons

    Just long hours that's it

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great job

    Trinity Industries Response

    Sep 23, 2016 – Trinity Industries

    Safety is always a top priority. Thank you for the review!


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Family/team atmosphere, growing & stable!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - N/A in Jonesboro, AR
    Current Employee - N/A in Jonesboro, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Trinity Industries full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Steady work with plenty of overtime. Family/team atmosphere with great leaders as floor supervisors along with the most caring and understanding plant manager. The plant manager truly cares about your career growth and wants you to communicate your career desires so he can get you on the right path. He has helped several people achieve their goals already. The HR manager works endlessly to meet every need plant wide and has everyone's best interest at heart. The safety manager and her team go above and beyond to ensure safety with a very postive attitude. The Plant and HR managers host several meetings weekly with employee's to gain their feedback to help make this a better place to work.

    Cons

    We work alot of hours and just like any factory we have the heat/cold weather conditions to work under. We are still growing and with that comes growing pains. We have changes that come up daily. You must adapt well to an ever-changing enviornment and go with the flow. Every job is very important! If you are considering working for Trinity then you really need to think of the safety of every community. What we do is critical so you must have a quality mindset and great attention to detail.

    Trinity Industries Response

    Sep 23, 2016 – Trinity Industries

    Thank you so much! We agree—each employee plays a vital role. You are so important to Team Trinity and we are grateful for your dedication. Keep up the great work!


  3. "Great company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cartersville, GA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cartersville, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Trinity Industries full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Great communication if the upper management has information it is passed the hourly employee. Pay is great especially for the area, Benefits are good, and Team enviroment. Plant manager genuinely cares for his employees a great boss to work for.

    Cons

    non-climate controled enviroment. sometimes long hours.

    Advice to Management

    need more stringent hiring process, this should help eliminate applicants that could become a liabilty to the company.

    Trinity Industries Response

    Sep 23, 2016 – Trinity Industries

    Thank you for your review. I’ll be sure to send your feedback and advice to the appropriate leader. We are grateful to have you on the team!


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (3)

    "Good Company to work for!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Trinity Industries full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Team atmosphere! Great place to work for depending on the department you work for.

    Cons

    They do not promote or develop talent within. Prefer millenials and foster monthly developmental lunches for them. Out with the old and in with the new.

    Advice to Management

    Watch your leaders in management? If everyone is leaving its probably time to remove the person at the helm? Your the only company that does not do exit interviews which would shed light on whats really going on within your company.


  6. Helpful (3)

    "Business Unit Quality Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Unit Quality Manager in Dallas, TX
    Former Employee - Business Unit Quality Manager in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Trinity Industries (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good peers to work with; they hire good talent. Benefits are very good, and bonuses seem to be given to many employees.

    Cons

    Employment is very tenuous. The company is still run by the Wallace family and you get crossways with anybody and you are out the door. They will also arbitrarily replace Presidents and other Executives of their Divisions without notice.

    Advice to Management

    Before you let somebody go, have an exit interview. Good people are being let go with no cause except a persons whim.


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Welder"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Welder in Longview, TX
    Former Employee - Welder in Longview, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Trinity Industries full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Lots of hours most of the year. Compensation and benefits weren't bad.

    Cons

    Air circulation is terrible and poor climate control in shop floor. Management was mediocre.

    Advice to Management

    Revolving door policy needs to be addressed.

    Trinity Industries Response

    Aug 2, 2016 – Trinity Industries

    Thank you for the overall positive rating. We appreciate you sharing your thoughts and suggestions with us.


  8. "Quality Control"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Control Technician in Newton, IA
    Former Employee - Quality Control Technician in Newton, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Trinity Industries full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    If your pro environment it is a really good company

    Cons

    Very bad follow through on what quality says is wrong...

    Advice to Management

    listen to quality control a little more

    Trinity Industries Response

    Aug 2, 2016 – Trinity Industries

    Thank you for the overall positive review and your time with Trinity. We will share your feedback with the appropriate leader.


  9. "Trinity Rail"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Material Handler in Jonesboro, AR
    Former Employee - Material Handler in Jonesboro, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Trinity Industries full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    All the overtime you want.

    Cons

    No structure at any level of management

    Trinity Industries Response

    Aug 2, 2016 – Trinity Industries

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review and leave feedback. We will send your concerns through the appropriate channels.


  10. Helpful (3)

    "Trinity Industries"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Q/A Clerk/Administrative in Gilmer, TX
    Former Employee - Q/A Clerk/Administrative in Gilmer, TX
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Trinity Industries (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Company gives great opportunity for advancement and self improvement and many will show their appreciation for your efforts, even if not your direct supervisor.

    Cons

    Despite Company policies, sometimes there are still issues of favoritism being shown among supervisors and employees that if not careful can end up destroying a career. With the company being so large, many of these can go unnoticed.

    Advice to Management

    With so many of the leaders being too busy to address properly, think any employee conflicting issues brought to the attention of a supervisor should be turned over to HR to investigate further


  11. "Director of Quality"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Quality in Memphis, TN
    Former Employee - Director of Quality in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great support out of Dallas Corporate. Professional and knowledgable group in Memphis. Excellent teamwork environment.

    Cons

    The down market is presenting some challenges for this division of Trinity Industries but I can't say that there are any cons with this organization.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to provide make difficult decisions that will secure future profitability and growth.

    Trinity Industries Response

    Jul 1, 2016 – Trinity Industries

    Thank you for the positive review! We are happy to know you had a great experience working with us and continue to support our businesses!


Showing 178 of 187 reviews
Reset Filters