Tripp Lite Reviews | Glassdoor

Tripp Lite Reviews

Updated Jul 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 96 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Glen Haeflinger
57 Ratings
  1. Helpful (3)

    "service coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Tripp Lite full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible schedule, causal clothing, relaxed work environment

    Cons

    no room to move up, nepotism, low pay

    Tripp Lite2015-08-20

    Tripp Lite Response

    August 31, 2015Recruiter

    Thanks for taking a moment to give us your thoughts. As a policy, Tripp Lite's first priority is to fill open positions with the best possible candidates- often from within. We have many, employees who have advanced their careers as a result of this. Along that line we encourage ...

    Show More
  2. "Work your way up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tripp Lite full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Right away, I enjoyed the positive attitude about 90% of the employees display- open, friendly, positive. It was a nice office to walk into every day. The benefits and bonuses are good but be prepared to work hard, everyone pulls their weight. The salary is pretty much standard and there is a nice bonus structure in place, even for non-sales employees. Management is kind and communicative. There is plenty of training...

    Show More

    Cons

    Once you work your way up, your opportunities pretty much end. There are no managers, only director level & above and then the workers. The micro-management (daily log sheets) is a little overwhelming and takes up valuable work time. No special privileges like work from home.

    Advice to Management

    Allow good workers to keep advancing if you want them to stay. Be a little more lenient on work times, stop excessive micro-managing.

    Tripp Lite2015-08-14

    Tripp Lite Response

    August 17, 2015Recruiter

    Thank you for your review. It resonated with me as quite accurate. We do strive to maintain a friendly, collegial atmosphere, while still working hard and pushing for success. We are generally a tightly managed organization and feel comfortable that our level of management knowledge ...

    Show More
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Territory Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Territory Sales Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Tripp Lite full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, solid product portfolio, very good benefits. The company has been around for over 90 years, so don't worry about stability. Products are competitively priced and the brand is well known.

    Cons

    Executive management can be dogmatic, don't expect to make any changes... to anything. Salary is good if you live in the cheaper areas of the country. However, if you don't, it could be difficult to pay the bills.

    Advice to Management

    Consider making some changes on how you go to market in certain geographies.

    Tripp Lite2015-08-04
  4. "Pros and Cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tripp Lite full-time

    Pros

    It's a nice relaxed work environment with good people. The benefits are good and the company does a great job of fostering a 'family-oriented' environment with many events and team-building activities. There is a lot of opportunity to gain skills and experience without being pigeon-holed into repetitive tasks.

    Cons

    The pay is relatively low and the set-up of the work is disorganized.

    Advice to Management

    More structure within departments.

    Tripp Lite2015-07-31
  5. "Decent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - District Sales Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tripp Lite full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, solid compensation, family owned company

    Cons

    Arcane attitudes in some areas, Somewhat disorganized

    Advice to Management

    A more cohesive approach and training program would improve sales results.

    Tripp Lite2015-05-29
  6. "A great place to develop your career. Friendly people, supportive environment and financially stable."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tripp Lite full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Room to grow within the company. Flexible work attire Sales growth even in a weak economy

    Cons

    401K matching program needs improvement

    Tripp Lite2015-01-07
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Good to their Employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tripp Lite full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They really care about their employees and often sponsor events. The people are fun and laid back. Christmas Party and Summer picnic.

    Cons

    There is lack of organization and communication across departments. It can take a VERY long time to get help from anyone not in your bay. Also, it's a complete cubicle farm--only half cubicles, and there are no windows except by the front desk and kitchen. All of the walls are white with florescent lighting--it feels very commercial and uninviting.

    Advice to Management

    Stop micromanaging. Allow us to communicate with other departments to get things done faster.

    Tripp Lite2014-07-15
  8. "Here today, here tomorrow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tripp Lite full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    This is a financially stable company. They make big decisions carefully and get them right. No layoffs in my time here. The casual atmosphere can obscure the high energy work ethic I see around me. They give ALL employees serious cash bonuses for milestone sales achievements like biggest month, biggest quarter, biggest year. Most quality employees who come here stay along time.

    Cons

    With stability can come staleness or lack of innovation, but they have enough good young heads in key positions to keep things moving forward. Career paths could be better defined.

    Advice to Management

    Initiate more job trainings and formal career advancement programs and having done so educate the employees on their best path to advancement. Think long term.

    Tripp Lite2014-06-24
  9. "Great people to work for and with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tripp Lite full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Old school, strong work ethic corporate wide with very smart and creative employees. Flexible and accommodating to employee's family needs. Good salaries and benefits. Lots of room to learn and grow. Strong revenue growth. Lot's of tenured people who seem to find a good home/work value.

    Cons

    Don't be shy, management will listen if you are professional and vocal.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to invest in your employees. Add more feedback tools for all employees to continue to build a great environment.

    Tripp Lite2014-05-21
  10. "Great, laid-back company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Coordinator in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tripp Lite full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice work environment, co-workers are very friendly and helpful, growth and other job opportunities are not abundant but available. They also give quarterly bonuses (depending on the job) and they give monthly bonuses if sales goals are met. Overall, nice place to work.

    Cons

    There aren't many bad things I can think of. Sometimes upper management delays things like bonuses and employee reviews, but just stay on top of it and it will get done.

    Tripp Lite2013-10-04
Found 96 reviews