Triumvirate Environmental, Inc. "hard work" Reviews | Glassdoor

Triumvirate Environmental, Inc. Employee Reviews about "hard work"

Updated Aug 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
49%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Triumvirate Environmental, Inc. President John McQuillan (no image)
John McQuillan
93 Ratings
Pros
  • "Rewards hard work and attracts top talent(in 12 reviews)

  • "Awesome culture, great people and office space(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "I wouldn't consider long hours a "con," because over-time pay makes it worth it(in 29 reviews)

  • "Absolutely no work life balance(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "hard work"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "You get out what you put in."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Environmental Specialist in Somerville, MA
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Triumvirate Environmental, Inc. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Triumvirate is a great place to get your career started in the environmental field while working with excellent people. While it can be hard work with long hours, you get out what you put in. They provide a lot of education and workplace training in addition to learning from your coworkers. Triumvirate provides the tools you need to set yourself up for long term success, whether you take advantage of them is up... to you.

    Show More

    Cons

    Long hours and variable schedules

    Triumvirate Environmental, Inc.2019-08-09
  2. Helpful (19)

    "Caution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Triumvirate Environmental, Inc. full-time

    Pros

    Best Reasons to work at Triumvirate: 1) Great work experience 2) You'll make a few friends 3) Good resume builder 4) Decent training

    Cons

    Reasons I would advise you to stay clear of Triumvirate: 1) Over worked 2) Underpaid 3) Under valued 4) Disrespected 5) Mismanaged 6) Overall worn out ambiance of colleagues from being stretched too thin 7) Poor Benefits All in all a money hungry company that sells themselves as "looking out for the employee" but could care less and just needs "boots on the ground" Disclaimer - any reviews you read... that are titled "hard work pays off" or "great atmosphere" are Triumvirate recruitment staff trying to redeem their ranking. Just part of the smoke and shadows Triumvirate casts.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you expect quality work from college degreed employees then treat/pay said people appropriately.

    Triumvirate Environmental, Inc.2017-11-14
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Challenge | Opportunity | Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Triumvirate Environmental, Inc. full-time

    Pros

    Growing Company Hard Working and Fun Culture Great Training Programs Opportunity for Advancement

    Cons

    Organizational change can be slow and secretive Core benefits are good, I'd like to see more diversity here though

    Advice to Management

    Focus on your core mission and strategy. I think we want to run before we can walk sometimes, and that causes the occassional stumble. Don't invest in opportunities that fall outside Triumvirate's value proposition in the market. Reinvest into the organization and allow for greater opportunity to core resources, employees.

    Triumvirate Environmental, Inc.2017-10-22
  4. "Worth the Effort."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in Somerville, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Triumvirate Environmental, Inc. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Energizing environment with great coworkers. You do need to put in hard work to grow your career, however, what would the fun be if you didn't have to? You are constantly challenged by management and your peers to do and be the best you can be. Professional and personal growth opportunities are everywhere and are available to those who are truly invested in the organization for the long term. Everyone is a resource... for you- from the CEO to your coworkers in the field. Piece of advice to those here who are not taking advantage of the resources that are offered- do it! You'll instantly see a difference if you utilize these things. Also, speak up if there are things that you aren't happy with. Tell your manager or HR. I did and am shocked at the difference it made. The organization can't make changes or improvements if they don't know about them until after you leave. We have a great opportunity to take the company and our careers to the next level. Let's take advantage of that!

    Show More

    Cons

    Long work hours, so be prepared to work! As a culture, employees from the field to the office are hardworking and typically put in overtime to make sure they are being as productive as possible. Employees are rallied around the goal of getting the organization the next level.

    Advice to Management

    Be more transparent so all employees know of the awesome advances being made to their organization.

    Triumvirate Environmental, Inc.2017-10-22
  5. "Awesome Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Triumvirate Environmental, Inc. full-time

    Pros

    Rewards hard work and attracts top talent

    Cons

    can't think of any cons

    Triumvirate Environmental, Inc.2017-07-10
  6. Helpful (9)

    "Grain of Salt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Somerville, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Triumvirate Environmental, Inc. full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Growing company Huge emphasis on hiring from within Prioritize training and safety for everyone Excellent reputation within EHS industry Excellent coworkers - TEI knows how to hire great people Endless learning opportunities To anyone reading through these reviews and trying to decide whether or not TEI is a good fit for you, please take everything you read with a grain of salt. You should know that the... more scathing reviews are usually posted within a week of someone being fired. I'd like to address a few points in the posts I've read on here. I've been with the company for over 5 years and I started in the field so I can give you a pretty thorough idea of what it's like to work for TEI. Will you work long hours? Yes. 100%. Guess what though? Killer overtime pay. You're young, cash in on it now. Does it last forever? No. Most people spend about 3 years in the field before moving into the office and while that time may seem like a waste to some, the people who do well at TEI spend that time learning the industry/regulations, learning how to interact with the clients, learning the accounts and the business, etc. There are a ton of different career paths within TEI and if none of those fit, they have such a good reputation for hiring smart people and training them well that you're experience here is really valuable. Safety. Anyone who says TEI doesn't take safety seriously never took safety seriously themselves. It is drilled into each and every person from day 1 to stop anything they are doing and re-evaluate and call the office if they feel unsafe doing anything. There are safety meetings and reviews weekly and the executives are always in attendance and actively work to predict and prevent safety issues for the employees. At the end of the day however, the field staff work at client sites and are their own supervisors so the safety of the crew and of the job is their responsibility. Koolaid. Sure. If you don't like your job, the people who do are obviously brainless cult members. Whatever helps you sleep at night. Finally I just want to say that in talking to all of my friends in their various careers - I don't know anyone who has the perfect job. Some are bored, some hate their manager, some are overworked, underpaid, whatever the case may be. Is TEI perfect? No of course not. But it is what you make it. I can tell you that my hard work has always been recognized. My expertise and knowledge has always been appreciated. I can tell by the quality of my coworkers and how hard working and intelligent (emotionally and cognitive) they are that the people who make it at TEI are truly excellent and the people who I did not like having as coworkers are no longer here... They're writing bad reviews on Glassdoor.

    Show More

    Cons

    Long hours - sometimes really long Dirty work Uniform makes it hard to not look like a trash man Truck driving (though this was a pro for me)

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the millennials with good work ethic - they know what's going to keep people around. Continue to ignore the whiners.

    Triumvirate Environmental, Inc.2017-06-10
  7. "Growth and Challenges"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Triumvirate Environmental, Inc. full-time

    Pros

    Triumvirate has grown over the years and does a great job trying to improve overall business functions to increase value and client satisfaction. The company is climbing the bigger business ladder to make improvements to the work force, job benefit and focus on the employee to increase overall organizational changes for positioning for growth. I have been very pleased with the growth and opportunity given to... many employees and myself. Being able to contribute, voice other employees concerns and really drive the Triumvirate Culture is valued and encouraged. When you seek out opportunity and success, hard work will pay off and the value of understanding delayed gratification is a must. Hard work doesn't always pay-off over night. Safety focus and value of the employee, mostly field employees, is a constant conversation and whenever a safety concern is brought up, many people are working on a solution. When I didn't hear of a safety issue being addressed, I asked the question and pushed the topic until it was solved, and it was! Communication is key for success and if you communicate, you win. The value of an extra phone call, e-mail or text is vital to the success of any employee and willingness to do many different tasks to get this job done is crucial but is highly valued at many levels.

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes moves we all want to make don't happen overnight and frustration will occur. Occasionally more work will need to go into a project than needed due to lack of productivity from every group member. Work/Life balance is tough at times but management of personal expectations and career growth is valuable. (Refer to billionaire success stories and reference anyone who had an easy and very balanced life when... they started or even worked on their careers for years, I doubt you will find one). Stretching thin happens but know when to recharge the batteries and when to voice it to your manager.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continually focus on the employee as the #1 priority. Listen, understand and set expectations from day one, adjust as necessary. Work with others for full feedback and response. I have many positive experiences when communication was the key to my discontent of management/situation at the time. After discussion and management action, it got better almost every time. Don't hide it! Admit when a mistake happens and... fix it, it's not only the employees fault! (this it is improving, slowly.)

    Show More
    Triumvirate Environmental, Inc.2017-02-05
  8. Helpful (26)

    "TRUST all of these negative reviews - I didn't, and it cost me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Environmental Specialist in Somerville, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Triumvirate Environmental, Inc. full-time

    Pros

    Hard-working, smart co-workers, varying work from day-to-day.

    Cons

    This is a terrible company to work for, with an incredibly high turnover rate. Environmental specialists are essentially garbage collectors who aren't paid more and are treated worse than actual municipal waste collectors. They tell you that it's a blue collar job during the interview - what they don't tell you is that you are forced to work 60+ hour weeks, every single week. My shortest week was 61 hours, my... longest was 82. When I was desperate for a job out of college I chose not to listen to these bad reviews, thinking that the people leaving them were somehow lazy or not willing to work hard. I wish that I had listened to the reviews, and waited to find a job with acceptable working conditions somewhere else. Please, don't put yourself through this. Work at a grocery store, babysit, do ANYTHING but don't take a job as an Environmental Specialist at this Somerville office.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    No more than 50 hour weeks unless the employee is absolutely willing to work more.

    Triumvirate Environmental, Inc.2016-10-05
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Excellent Opportunity for Advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in Somerville, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Triumvirate Environmental, Inc. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Triumvirate Environmental is an excellent place to work. To start working here out of college, typically successful applicants will be placed into an Environmental Specialist role. This role can involve hard work, long hours, and certainly a lot of new information, but the payoff for those who put in the work is very high. The Advancement Program starts almost immediately upon starting to work here and offers a... clear view into how to advance within the company while in the Environmental Specialist role. Looking beyond the ES role, employees are always encouraged to find what role motivates them within the company. Through mentoring and shadowing, an employee can learn a lot about a role that they are interested in but have little experience in. Triumvirate invests in their people, and it's clear that all of the business leaders are individuals who were grown from within.

    Show More

    Cons

    Possibility for long hours while in an ES role, working with potentially hazardous materials, driving company vehicles (including trucks) is very common - not necessarily cons, but they are all parts of the business to be aware of.

    Triumvirate Environmental, Inc.2016-08-02
  10. Helpful (9)

    "Don't Do It"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Somerville, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Triumvirate Environmental, Inc.

    Pros

    Free food during on boarding and a Keurig in the break room. Once they gave me an ice cream.

    Cons

    -Completely unsafe. You're dealing with really hazardous materials and they expect you to put yourself into dangerous situations for the sake of the clients, with minimal training. -Management plays favorites, and your raise/promotion depends on who you know (they make no effort to getting to know you), and how many accounts you are on. Hard work is never acknowledged, you're expected to overwork yourself to them... regardless, for as much pay as McDonalds. -Please don't fall for the false reviews the managers had to write a couple posts behind about how "Triumvirate provides top notch training and educational opportunities" because who writes reviews like that? If you are a recent graduate, and are scared about not having a job and this seems like the quick fix to getting that after-college job you are desperate for, please wait it out. You will only add really useless skills such as knowing random hazardous chemicals and knowing stupid DOT and RCRA laws that are not applicable to the majority of the environmental science industry. Please wait it out, and let this company figure their stuff out so they can treat their employees better, we all regretted it.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop blaming everyone else.

    Triumvirate Environmental, Inc.2016-08-02
Found 19 reviews