Triumvirate Environmental, Inc. "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Triumvirate Environmental, Inc. Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 17, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
49%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Triumvirate Environmental, Inc. CEO John McQuillan (no image)
John McQuillan
93 Ratings
Pros
  • "Rewards hard work and attracts top talent(in 12 reviews)

  • "Awesome culture, great people and office space(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "I wouldn't consider long hours a "con," because over-time pay makes it worth it(in 29 reviews)

  • "Absolutely no work life balance(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Motivation leads to success."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Operations in Astoria, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Triumvirate Environmental, Inc.

    Pros

    - Unlimited training. - Excellent coworkers and work atmosphere. - Freedom to build your own career, be innovative and learn new skill sets. - Safety culture. - Benefits package.

    Cons

    - Work/life balance can be tough to start, but as you build your career you are given more freedom to create your own schedule. - Being part of a quickly growing company can present it's challenges, but has ultimately lead to very positive things for my career.

    Continue reading
    Triumvirate Environmental, Inc.2016-08-16

    Triumvirate Environmental, Inc. Response

    November 29, 2016Talent Acqusition Manager

    Thank you for the well written review. You’ve obviously embraced the culture and opportunity at Triumvirate and seem poised for success here. Our most common piece of feedback from employees is that the people who work at Triumvirate are great! Additionally, work Life balance is often a challenge in our service based organization. Clear lines of communication with your management team about your availability are very important in the beginning stages. As you gain more responsibility and autonomy in the company you are able to influence your schedule much more directly. Our mission is to focus on long term solutions as we continue to reinvent our practices to address the challenges of being a growing organization. With all that growth comes opportunity for YOU. We wish you continued success at Triumvirate and look forward to seeing what you will accomplish here. - Elise Gebeili, Talent Acquisition Manager

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Not a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Triumvirate Environmental, Inc. for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers and nice building

    Cons

    Absolutely no work life balance.

    Continue reading
    Triumvirate Environmental, Inc.2018-11-18
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Payroll"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Triumvirate Environmental, Inc. full-time

    Pros

    friendly, good benefits, good people

    Cons

    poor salary and poor work-life balance

    Triumvirate Environmental, Inc.2018-09-12
  4. "Growth and Challenges"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Triumvirate Environmental, Inc. full-time

    Pros

    Triumvirate has grown over the years and does a great job trying to improve overall business functions to increase value and client satisfaction. The company is climbing the bigger business ladder to make improvements to the work force, job benefit and focus on the employee to increase overall organizational changes for positioning for growth. I have been very pleased with the growth and opportunity given to many employees and myself. Being able to contribute, voice other employees concerns and really drive the Triumvirate Culture is valued and encouraged. When you seek out opportunity and success, hard work will pay off and the value of understanding delayed gratification is a must. Hard work doesn't always pay-off over night. Safety focus and value of the employee, mostly field employees, is a constant conversation and whenever a safety concern is brought up, many people are working on a solution. When I didn't hear of a safety issue being addressed, I asked the question and pushed the topic until it was solved, and it was! Communication is key for success and if you communicate, you win. The value of an extra phone call, e-mail or text is vital to the success of any employee and willingness to do many different tasks to get this job done is crucial but is highly valued at many levels.

    Cons

    Sometimes moves we all want to make don't happen overnight and frustration will occur. Occasionally more work will need to go into a project than needed due to lack of productivity from every group member. Work/Life balance is tough at times but management of personal expectations and career growth is valuable. (Refer to billionaire success stories and reference anyone who had an easy and very balanced life when they started or even worked on their careers for years, I doubt you will find one). Stretching thin happens but know when to recharge the batteries and when to voice it to your manager.

    Continue reading
    Triumvirate Environmental, Inc.2017-02-05

    Triumvirate Environmental, Inc. Response

    February 20, 2017Talent Acqusition Manager

    Without a doubt, we are growing! You’ve articulated quite well the things that make our top performers successful and what we value most from our employees. Your last note on communication is well taken. We can’t take action on the things we don’t know about. We appreciate you voicing your thoughts and wish you continued success at TEI. - ABE, Employee Engagement Manager

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Environmental Specialist in Somerville, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Triumvirate Environmental, Inc.

    Pros

    Slight training if you want to work in field of environmental protection or chemical safety

    Cons

    Management is terrible and treats all employees like crap. Many employees try to throw you under the bus when things go wrong, HR does nothing at all. Never try to do extra and help the company, the next day they will treat you even worse. Management explodes over minor mishaps, and never recognizes your success. This especially true when you advanced for pay raises. Only work in your work/life balance. If i could give a negative star, i would

    Continue reading
    Triumvirate Environmental, Inc.2016-05-29
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great career growth, experience, and team members"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Triumvirate Environmental, Inc. full-time

    Pros

    A growing company that is poised to keep it up. There are definitely challenges that come with the growing pains. Some of those are great to work on and figure out and some feel unnecessary. Personally the hard work has paid off. You'll read mixed reviews about that but I can say that putting the effort in, jumping on opportunity, or seeking out new ones has been a career booster. The hours are long and the culture can seem up and down. I am confident that the most senior leadership of the organization knows this is a challenge and is striving to get it right. Timing may not be perfect but progress is happening. The amount of energy that goes into this is great but again it can't flip overnight. Excellent opportunities to get very technical in the industry. Excellent opportunities to be mentored by more senior staff if you want it. Also you can develop your skills as a mentor or teacher of others. The people make it a great place to be and grow with and that will always be a hallmark of TEI. You can't double your salary overnight but you can overtime. I've found open communication with my manager makes for clear direction, development, and the ability to candidly discuss job concerns. TEI is a great place to build a career and it is paying off for many employees. They've been able to find the formula while others haven't. I think that speaks more about the individual than the organization.

    Cons

    The hours and work-life balance do not work for everyone and are a lot. As a young professional I'd rather put the energy in now and have it pay dividends in the future. Understanding the big picture and the goals of the company can often be overcome by the day-to-day components of the job. Some can step out of the grind and see it for themselves and others need help to do it.

    Continue reading
    Triumvirate Environmental, Inc.2015-08-21
  7. Helpful (13)

    "No work life balance at all"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Environmental Specialist in Astoria, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Triumvirate Environmental, Inc. full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fellow employees are great. The company provides you with people in a similar age range and everyone is going through the same struggles

    Cons

    No work life balance at all Long hours Low Pay Company preys on Recent college grads Did i mention low pay? Youll have to work 60+ hour weeks to take home $55k, You work until the job is done Company discourages lunch breaks in order to finish the job for the day, 90% of the time you have to eat in the truck or not at all. You have to get a CDL to drive trucks in the city Little to no growth opportunities. Turnover rate of employees is astronomical due to the physical demands of this job and low salaries. SERIOUSLY DO NOT WORK AT THIS COMPANY. HEED MY WARNING. PEOPLE LITERALLY RUN OUT OF THE DOOR WHEN THEY GET ANOTHER JOB OFFER. READ THE REST OF THESE REVIEWS. DO NOT MAKE THE SAME MISTAKE I DID

    Continue reading
    Triumvirate Environmental, Inc.2015-09-02
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Triumvirate Environmental, Inc.

    Pros

    Decent client portfolio that can allow to do challenging and rewarding work and either gain experience or hone your professional skill sets

    Cons

    the usual ones you've read on here: work / life balance and compensation

    Triumvirate Environmental, Inc.2015-03-01
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Long hours, stressful position, not much gain other than knowledge/experience in the field."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Triumvirate Environmental, Inc.

    Pros

    Learning a lot very quickly, getting exposure to tons of industries, meeting and networking with numerous people, lots of opportunity to get additional training if you are willing to put in the effort, good coworkers in the field

    Cons

    Work-life balance is terrible, managers are not great, high turnover rate, communication is poor throughout the company, not very good compensation for the hazardous nature of the job

    Triumvirate Environmental, Inc.2014-12-29
  10. Helpful (10)

    "Work hard for long hours and it can pay off"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Environmental Specialist in Somerville, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Triumvirate Environmental, Inc. full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You can learn A LOT. I am currently working at Triumvirate as an Environmental Specialist. Like most environmental specialists, I received this job right out of college and had very little knowledge besides a few internships. Triumvirate paid for my OSHA 40 and I received constant training by the company throughout my first year. After the first year the training decreases but it still carries through. Many companies I applied for immediately dismissed me simply because I did not have my OSHA 40, so this attribute is unusual for a company. There is a huge amount to learn and it takes hard work to learn it, but once you master it, you can begin to move up in the environmental specialist ranks. There are five different levels and as you prove yourself and pass a set of tests, you can receive a promotion and slight pay increases. Many people who complain about this do not want to put in the time and effort to move up the ranks. If you put in the time (a lot of time) and effort, you can move out of the position and into others. During the interview they touted upward mobility and it is there if you work for it. Many people complaining about the company and position do not want to put the time in to make it happen.

    Cons

    I mentioned previously several times about hard work, and you do work hard here. There is a lot of physical labor involved in the job and you can easily work a 60 plus hour work week, making your work-life balance nearly impossible at times. On top of working that many hours, you regularly start between 5:30am and 7:00am, so it is tough to catch up on sleep when you do work a 12 plus hour day full of manual labor. Within the first 3-6 months, people either get used to the busy schedule or leave the company, taking their certifications and trainings with them. During these busy days, often you will not even stop for lunch. Although the upper management says they discourage people skipping lunch breaks, this is a complete lie. I have been "talked to" on numerous occasions by my coworkers and managers about taking a 5 minute break to eat a sandwich quickly. This is not a joke, so be warned. Most people are scared to take a lunch but I take one because I know I cannot get in any real trouble for taking 5 minutes out of a 12 hour day to eat quickly. The work is usually disorganized. From getting in early in the morning and not having the proper supplies needed to complete the job to having missing or wrong paperwork, this happens too routinely. These mistakes all stem from the office, yet they try to pass the blame on us environmental specialists. This all adds an extra layer of stress to an already heavily stressful job. Do not expect to work in this job for more than 3 years. By then almost everyone has either moved up to a different position in the company or left to a 40 hour job.

    Continue reading
    Triumvirate Environmental, Inc.2014-05-28
Found 17 reviews