Trove Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Trove Reviews

Updated Jul 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
5.0
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Trove CEO Guy Suter (no image)
Guy Suter
8 Ratings
  1. "Good start up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Intern 

    I have been working at Trove for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with

    Cons

    Lack of vision for main product

    Trove2019-07-01
  2. "No regrets!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President of Operations in Ann Arbor, MI
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Trove full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    May never find a better work situation. Great leadership, great team, great product builders. Awesome technology Inspiring mission

    Cons

    Couldn't figure out how to put that awesome technology to work solving problems that made a difference to users/customers. The mission was inspiring but didn't translate to real value. Had to close it all down. May have figured it out if we had more time (funding), but who knows really.

    Continue reading
    Trove2019-06-05
  3. "Great culture, coworkers and founders!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Machine Learning Engineer in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Trove full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - awesome transparent culture - competitive salary in the area - smart and friendly coworkers

    Cons

    - pivots - we didn't make it

    Trove2019-05-29
  4. "intern review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Trove for less than a year

    Pros

    People are really nice here.

    Cons

    Ann Arbor is too cold, and kinda nothing here.

    Trove2019-02-21
  5. "One of the *good* start ups"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Trove full-time

    Pros

    - Leadership seems to genuinely care about employees. When employees choose to take on new opportunities it is seen as a success. When conflict arises, all parties seem to genuinely want solution that works for everyone. - Product is REALLY interesting. It is new and there are constantly ideas being floated on how to make it better and more interactive. - Located right downtown Ann Arbor in great corworking space (beincahoots.com). Subsidized parking is available and there are a lot of great places to walk to eat or go out after work. - Coworkers are great. Not sure how leadership did it, but Trove has a range of employee ages and interests and yet the least amount of gossip of any place I have ever worked. There are a lot of people who I would not hangout with outside of work, but I appreciate what they bring to the team and I am happy I get to work with them. - Flexible work hours. Some people get in at 7am others don't arrive until 10am. No one tracks your hours, it is just understood that you have a full-time workload and managers work with their team members to ensure expectations are being met.

    Cons

    - Start up = uncertainty. Because this is not an established company, there is a level of uncertainty. As long as you are aware of this and okay with it, there isn't anything to worry about. - Some positions have lower than average wages due to this being a smaller startup organization. There is the potential to gain equity options to offset this. I think it will improve as the company gains momentum.

    Continue reading
    Trove2019-01-04
  6. "Amazing Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Trove full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Work with really talented people - Flexible schedule and hours - Tech stack freedom. My team was always able to chose the best tool for the job. Good devs want to use good tools. - Great culture

    Cons

    - No 401k options - Pay is not that competitive - Still exploring better ways of communicating product changes to everyone

    Continue reading
    Trove2018-08-19
  7. "Awesome team, really great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Trove full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is really great to work with, the environment is low stress, and the tech stack is very modern.

    Cons

    I wish we had a 401k.

    Trove2018-02-02
  8. "Senior Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Trove full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * Startup atmosphere * Ability to make an impact * Learn something new every day * Work on a cool product that you'll actually use * The team is amazing, with a bunch of interesting and very smart people * The founders are always on the lookout for their next cool project (right now, it's the Cahoots workspace, but there's always been something or other in the works since I've started) * Grow and develop in your career * Feel involved and close camaraderie with other team members * Work closely with the founders * High impact employees are recognized and rewarded * Employees may have opportunities to earn equity * Amazing brand and company ethos.

    Cons

    * No 401k * Lack of diversity * Lower than market pay (not ideal, but not uncommon for pre-revenue startups) This isn't a con for me, but the company is continuously figuring out what it's doing. If you're the kind of person that prefers stability and certainty, Trove might not be for you. But if you're the kind of person that is excited by the process of figuring out what's next, it could be right up your alley.

    Continue reading
    Trove2018-01-08
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Not your average start-up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Trove full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Coming from a larger corporation, I was worried about most cons you read about start-ups prior to joining Trove. Late hours, expected to wear many hats, not enough direction, lack of funding, etc. I haven't experienced any of that at Trove. You are expected to pull your weight, but in a comfortable, meaningful and satisfying way. They want you to do you and be happy while you're doing it. - Incredibly flexible hours and remote work options - Competitive pay - Top of the line Macbooks (if you so choose), sit stand desks - Cutting edge technology stack with plenty of on boarding to get you familiar - All teams practice a modern software development process (weekly sprints, daily stands, retro's) - Paths for career advancement - Beer club on Friday's - Very reasonably priced benefits (medical, dental, vision) - In the process of building an office space with more amenities than I could ever expect.

    Cons

    - Its not clear when I can expect a performance review - Lack of diversification is a big one - Desks could be larger, feels a little cramped - Building is under constructions (and will be for quite some time it appears) - No 401k - Benefits in general could be better (e.g. no orthodontia for dental insurance) - Snow removal in the alley is non-existent and a safety hazard

    Continue reading
    Trove2017-12-30
  10. Helpful (1)

    "At home in Ann Arbor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Trove for more than a year

    Pros

    Trove has become a home to me, everyone is extremely friendly and talented making you feel like you work for a company that can do anything. Management takes company values very seriously and is transparent, making you feel like the work you is for people close to you than a corporate name.

    Cons

    Could be a more diverse workplace but management is aware and taking necessary steps to improve which is good to see.

    Trove2017-12-28
Found 11 reviews