Troy Reviews | Glassdoor

Troy Reviews

Updated Jul 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 51 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
36%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
6 Ratings
  1. Helpful (13)

    "Interesting Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Troy

    Pros

    You will Never be bored. The staffing level ensures that you will always have enough work to keep you extremely busy. There is a definite opportunity to increase your knowledge and skills. I earned my Master's Degree from Troy Corp's School of Hard Knocks; I'm a stronger better person for it. There are a good bunch of people working at Troy and some of them even work to help one another!

    Cons

    Paranoia and lack of communication between all levels of personnel. Partially due to the environment and partially due to the fact that people are simply too busy trying to keep their heads above water and their hind quarters covered. I worked at Troy for a very long time. There are a lot of hard-working individuals. It's a shame that the butt kissers are rewarded while the real workers go with little to no recognition...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop shooting the messengers and talk to the "little people". Troy has potential for so much more, please talk to the "little people" to find out what REAL money savers are available. Micromanaging DOES NOT work and neither does threatening to fire everybody.

    Troy2015-05-31
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office in South Troy, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Troy

    Pros

    Awesome people, great company. Would recommend to others a great place to be everyday. You do not dread going to work because everyone is great. Great team work.

    Cons

    I would not say there are any cons.

    Troy2015-06-02
  3. Helpful (16)

    "Dysfunctional company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at Troy full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Solid financial performance over long period of time.

      Cons

      I wonder if the HR personnel can actually look themselves in the mirror and sleep all right at night, especially if they are recruiting someone who is currently employed, due to the lack of transparency about the true nature of the extremely negative work culture at the company.

      Advice to Management

      As transitioning from control of the company by the father to the two sons, there should be more Board oversight, because otherwise this company will slide further and further into an irreversible decline.

      Troy2015-05-19
    • "Good place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Florham Park, NJ
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Troy

      Pros

      Good place to work with tradition of stability and reliability. I've been with Troy for over four years and have found my time to be extremely rewarding both personally and professionally.

      Cons

      Do something fun each month

      Troy2015-04-13
    • "A great place to gain a lot of experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Troy full-time

      Pros

      Medium sized company means employees can try their hand at a diversity of tasks Great place for young employees to gain a broad base of experience Plenty of opportunities to take on more responsibility and distinguish yourself A lot of dedicated, intelligent employees who add value and are a pleasure to work with Professional, formal work environment Stable company, and growing responsibly

      Cons

      Not a high-energy or casual work environment, if that's what you're seeking Change can be slow, but upper management listens to concerns and is willing to invest in improvements Different employees have different experiences here... perhaps based on their department, their expectations, or maybe their work ethic? Nevertheless, while some employees here are disgruntled, most are very happy.

      Advice to Management

      Promote more from within

      Troy2015-04-01
    • Helpful (2)

      "Knowledgeable Employees, Supportive Management, Stable Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Florham Park, NJ
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Troy

      Pros

      Troy is a worldwide specialty chemical company. It is a stable and growing company. My position allows me to interact with colleagues around the world. This makes for an interesting and satisfying work experience. Projects are diverse and teamwork is encouraged. It is a professional yet friendly work environment. Management has always provided our department with the most updated tools i.e. software and equipment to get...

      Show More

      Cons

      Our project list is extensive, which often means moving from one project to another quickly. It also means multi- tasking to meet deadlines. Unfortunately, working from home is strongly discouraged because management believes in face - to - face interaction.

      Advice to Management

      Every year our Holiday Party is top notch, as is our company picnic and once a month bagel days. All work wonders to promote employee relationship and esteem. Maybe consider other options to promote teamwork and employee relationship such as: once a quarter catered lunch, Quarterly employee awards, or, more importantly, employee challenges to benefit a cause.

      Troy2015-03-25
    • Helpful (1)

      "Worked for this company on a fabrication job in south Texas."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Troy

      Pros

      They pay good. They make an effort to keep everyone happy while they are there.

      Cons

      Once the job is done they are done with you.

      Advice to Management

      None.

      Troy2015-03-13
    • Helpful (8)

      "Great management. Poor gossipy environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Worker Bee in Florham Park, NJ
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at Troy

      Pros

      Upper management is top notch. They encourage individuals they see have the dedication to the team and their goals. True classic leaders.

      Cons

      Too many individuals in other's business. Some middle managers pay more attention to what others are doing and running back to upper management with the gossip, instead of paying more attention to their own work and should notice that others are aware of their gossiping nature. Others take management to a personal level. Should they not care for you, they would stop at nothing to attempt to make things difficult for...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Take a good look at the good employees. Appreciate them. They are hard working individuals. Beware of the traveling brown noser(s), the condescending know it all, and the always gloomy woah is me individual. They are the cancer of the organization.

      Troy2015-04-07
    • Helpful (12)

      "Prospective employees take note!!!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Staff in Florham Park, NJ
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at Troy full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      No Pro's at all with the exception of a paycheck. Nothing further

      Cons

      Troy implemented a new vacation policy. New employees cannot take vacation for 6 months. New employees won;t ever accrue vacation days at all for the first 6 months! WHAT! You want to attract the very best talent? Really? An existing employees are " STRONGLY ENCOURAGED" not to take vacation days as single days, only a week at a time. I have seen some archaic policies but this is the last straw here. I find all the reviews...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Fix the issues here and turn the place around. Asking for positive feedback defeats the purpose of looking introspectively and addressing the few issues here and you will have a more successful organization, and attract top talent. Asking for positive feedback just confirms employees issues!

      Troy2014-12-22
    • Helpful (13)

      "A paranoid company which focuses only on the negatives"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Newark, NJ
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at Troy full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Pay was comparable to the average for my position and benefits were better than my previous employer. My direct manger was very good, earnest and humanitarian. Many of the people working there are very good, hard working and honest.

      Cons

      The company has a very paranoid culture, more security cameras covering the break room, locker room entrance, and office interior than the facility entrances. Everything is in code and everyone is in a group, pitted against the others. This attitude comes from the very top down and is pervasive through out.

      Advice to Management

      Trust your employees and let them know you see and appreciate all their work. There are a considerable number of employees who are giving much more to you than you deserve, let them know that you see that.

      Troy2014-10-18
    Found 51 reviews