Troy Reviews | Glassdoor

Troy Reviews

Updated Jul 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 51 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
36%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
6 Ratings
  1. Helpful (13)

    "Just don't do it..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Florham Park, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Troy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are no "pros" to working here.

    Cons

    micro management - witch hunts - no comp time - unrealistic expectations - no work/life balance - no working from home - you will die here, then they will scrape your corpse up, throw you in the dumpster and replace you.

    Advice to Management

    take lessons on how to be human. If you care about your people, they would care about you, and do great work for you.

    Troy2014-07-21
  2. Helpful (19)

    "DEAD WOOD HEAVEN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management in Florham Park, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Troy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    THere are no pro's to working at Troy, well maybe with the exception that if you do not produce you will have a job for ever.

    Cons

    The salary is lower than the national mean scores for just about every position THE LEVEL OF MISTRUST or ALL employees from the owners of the company ( 3 family members) is unreal. Like nothing I've seen in the corporate world. Middle management is not allowed to make any decisions at all on project spend, even when it is at a level of 500 dollars. This is a management graveyard. Most employees are 50+ so health benefits...

    Show More
    Troy2014-06-05
  3. Helpful (14)

    "Ask for a tour"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Troy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Getting paid. That is about it. Products are not even made by company. All is outsourced. I guess that is what keeps the company running.

    Cons

    Family owned business with high level of paranoia. Stay away. Turnover rate is high on the manager side. Don't waste your time.

    Troy2014-04-09
  4. "Troy Corporation is a leader in the global specialty chemicals industry for over 60 years."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Florham Park, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Troy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Troy is a solid, stable company with consistent profitability and long-term rewards for loyal employees. Privately owned, it is not subject to the short-term pressures of shareholder value, so decisions are made that are in the best interests of the company for the long-term.

    Cons

    No telecommuting - only the sales force can work from home.

    Advice to Management

    Business casual dress should be allowed all year long!

    Troy2013-09-11
  5. "Great working environment, great atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Hannover
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Troy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company provides you with everything you need to do a good job. The jobs are interesting and diversified. I appreciate the flexibility and social responsibility of senior management. They create a great working atmosphere.

    Cons

    Everything is fine, nothing to grumble about!

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!!

    Troy2018-07-09
  6. Helpful (2)

    "180 degrees fake news from HR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Sales Director in Hannover
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Troy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Salary is good, but not worth it!

    Cons

    Managers are abusive and rude, shouting at employees and blaming them for issues out of employees responsability. HR tries to hide this all by adding FAKE reviews from employees! Employees are instructed to write positive reviews to be included in their personal appraisels!

    Advice to Management

    Go away! How can you behave so un-ethical and look at yourself in the mirror? Imagine your kids would get a boss like you! You have driven enough people into a burnout situation.

    Troy2018-07-13
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in Mumbai
    Recommends

    I worked at Troy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Liked the freedom to work in a large territory - some good people in Asia I always felt supported by the Finance team and the HR Director nice people great products and network support

    Cons

    Regional Management very control orientated put themselves above workers bonus does not recognize hours dedicated

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees more help develop management to be proactive in their management of staff

    Troy2017-10-29
  8. Helpful (3)

    "sales rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Troy full-time

    Pros

    got the job but took long time

    Cons

    too many unhappy people quite sad

    Advice to Management

    get real intodays world

    Troy2017-01-26
  9. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Manager in Pune
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Troy for more than a year

      Pros

      A good copany to work with. Leading FMCG compan with all benefits provided by the company.

      Cons

      nothing much as i remember

      Advice to Management

      Keep innovating

      Troy2016-04-18
    • Helpful (7)

      "Could be, but will never be!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cologne
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook

        I worked at Troy

        Pros

        Good salary. Good level of experianced eployees, altough those all left!

        Cons

        Extremely negative management! Not willing to listen to the "field" and blind for actual environment and economics. CEO and his " buddy" blame others for their mistakes and fault and not willing to listen at all. Worst company I have ever worked for!

        Advice to Management

        Look in the mirror and see if you can be happy with yourself! Because your employees are NOT!

        Troy2016-01-06
      Found 51 reviews