TruFoodMfg Reviews | Glassdoor

TruFoodMfg Reviews

Updated Oct 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
42%
Recommend to a Friend
17%
Approve of CEO
TruFoodMfg President and CEO Pete Tsudis
Pete Tsudis
4 Ratings
  1. "maintenance tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Technician in Pitts, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TruFoodMfg full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    worked with some great guys, the engineering guys were great. sanitation had some really good people. Lacey, Jim and a few others. The owner Pete was a great guy.

    Cons

    At the time we had a lot of old equipment that needed a lot of TLC but we made it all run. The benefits were not the best but OK.

    Continue reading
    TruFoodMfg2018-11-25
  2. Helpful (2)

    "The WORST Place to work! Seriously if you value yourself and work ethic DO NOT work here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Machine Operator 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TruFoodMfg full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Absolutely none. I would not work here again if it was the last place on earth!

    Cons

    Where do I begin? Let’s see..I was an machine operator for over a year and it took them 8 months to give me the pay differential. You have to sign in and out for bathroom breaks. The bathrooms are constantly trashed and stink. Someone legitimately urinated in the garbage can in the women’s bathroom and they had to put up a sign. Management complains every time you go to the bathroom. There is mold build up everywhere..They have double standards for managements favorite employees. People get seriously injured on the job and they will have someone drive them to the ER because they don’t want to call an ambulance. You are an employee but you feel like your on prison work detail. With that being said they hire ex cons and pedophiles, and drug addicts. I was harassed by a former employee on company property but HR did nothing about..not even a meeting with HR to see if I was ok. The turn over rate is ridiculous. The mismanagement is a joke. I’ve caught several packaging errors that saved the company money and didn’t even get a thank you. They have no respect for their employees, and the Gamma Manager doesn’t believe in political correctness or even being polite at all. He said he understood why women take so long in the bathroom because of their mensuration..I’ve seen him mock physically disabled employees I reported him to HR and nothing was done. They sold the company to AOG fired us all hired us back on only to lose one of the biggest contracts we had and fired a bunch of people. They might also tell you that you’ll be working M-F but that’s a lie too. They hand out mandatory weekends like candy and if you call off because you have a life outside of work they will fire you. Don’t expect to do anything else in your life but work if you work for this company. This company is hemorrhaging money and don’t expect them to stay in business long.

    Continue reading
    TruFoodMfg2019-10-08
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Turn around!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TruFoodMfg full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Half decent pay, 8 or 12 hour shift if they have coverage

    Cons

    Very shady people, if they dont like you they will do whatever it takes to get you out of there

    Continue reading
    TruFoodMfg2019-07-09
  4. "Worst employee in the country..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Machine Operator in Blawnox, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TruFoodMfg full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Guaranteed work. Rotated between two or three days off a week.

    Cons

    No respect for employees. My second day the person who ran the kettle and was my trainer quit. Instead of having someone take over training they expected me to run the machine myself without training. Not only that, I was expected to help run the next to machines down the line with no excpetions. 12 plus hours a day nonstop loading machines with buckets that range from 15 to upwards of 60-70 pounds. Tour my pectoralis major as a result of attempting to keep up with the unrealistic expectations. (Which I repeatedly spoke to managers about and was told to deal with or it or get another job.)The day I tore my muscle I notified a manager immediately after struggling for a half hour. Was again told "to deal with it". Was then told I would basically risk termination if I left my shift early as without me two machines on my line couldn't function. Ended up leaving after being called the next day and being expected to work the day after I tore said muscle. Not only did they blatantly show no respect for me as a person but also as an employee. As stated I took over my machine and was operating and cleaning it myself. Every other machine had multiple people on it, except the one I workef at. After months of dealing with it hoping it would be recognized, I was basically told I would have to wait another year and a half before being promoted to machine operator and receiving my raise as I would still be considered as "in training" until then. I politely asked if I was still be trained if I could have someone help me on my machine as I have been running it alone since my second day for under $10 an hour. On top of being pulled aside everyday and told I need to work harder because I would take a minute to catch my breathe,(Literally under 60 seconds) because I couldn't lift the buckets to fill two machines for 12 hours straight with minimal breaks. Treats everyone as if they are from the prison program they hire from. They leash you along and promise raises and promotion you never see. Expectations of physical labor are impossible to meet. Management does nothing but enough to float by and make themselves appear useful. Constantly losing employees so they treat everyone as expendable.(Regardless of effort given and how much you continuously prove your worth.)

    Continue reading
    TruFoodMfg2019-06-28
  5. "Very disorganized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at TruFoodMfg full-time

    Pros

    As much overtime as you want to work

    Cons

    Constant disagreements between maintenance & engineering

    Continue reading
    TruFoodMfg2019-06-04
  6. Helpful (1)

    "sucks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at TruFoodMfg full-time

    Pros

    plenty of hours to work

    Cons

    can not get back to back days off

    TruFoodMfg2018-12-14
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Unrealized Potential - poorly managed."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TruFoodMfg full-time

    Pros

    Ever changing requirements, responsibilities and roles, so if you enjoy relentless challenges, this is a place for you. With high turnover and constant personnel shifts if you don't like working with someone, just wait a month and it will change. Some of the nicest and hardest working hourly workforce I have ever encountered - stuck in the most mismanaged company I have ever seen.

    Cons

    Incompetent upper management - unethical financial dealings, it's all smoke and mirrors, and the owner seems oblivious of day to day management decisions. Compensation is on the low end of the scale for most positions and the "promised" quarterly bonus happens only once in a blue moon due to poor financial performance.

    Continue reading
    TruFoodMfg2018-02-06
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Lead manufacturers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at TruFoodMfg full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Its a place to work

    Cons

    Wouldn’t advise this place to anyone

    Continue reading
    TruFoodMfg2017-12-11
  9. "Growing company with potential to do great things."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at TruFoodMfg full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I work in a fluid and dynamic environment with a GREAT team

    Cons

    Miscommunication can sometimes cause difficulties

    TruFoodMfg2017-11-07
  10. "This place is the worst place ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Operator in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at TruFoodMfg full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Criminals and Snakes are welcome

    Cons

    Senior Management has no direction or clear vision

    Continue reading
    TruFoodMfg2017-12-09
Found 32 reviews