TruGreen "door to door" Reviews | Glassdoor

TruGreen Employee Reviews about "door to door"

Updated Oct 31, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
46%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
TruGreen President and CEO John Cowles  (no image)
John Cowles
83 Ratings
Pros
  • "Its a good place to work if you like working outside every one will help you or train you you cant get that somewhere eles(in 58 reviews)

  • "Good pay great hours sundays off(in 48 reviews)

Cons
  • "Can be long hours and tiresome sometimes(in 146 reviews)

  • "door to door can be annoying sometimes but it's how you stay sharp really(in 65 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "door to door"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "very good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TruGreen full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    great culture, not a micro management mess where they would time if you take a leak. more of a place that is like- here are your leads get some sales. great support from management. low pressure. potential to make some real money on the commission scale. fun co workers. lax if you get your sales. great training, supportive veterans. no douchbag sales staff. I actually like seasonal layoff. ability to earn Saturdays off in the middle of the year and on.

    Cons

    long hours, but that comes with sales. door to door can be annoying sometimes but it's how you stay sharp really. Saturdays can be annoying but then again its residential sales, comes with the territory. no real cons from the company itself, only with the job title.

    TruGreen2019-07-02
  2. "Good sales learning opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Outside Sales Representative 

    I worked at TruGreen full-time

    Pros

    Good management at local level, being outside, meeting new people

    Cons

    Long hours, rejection door to door

    Continue reading
    TruGreen2019-10-31
  3. "The Truth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TruGreen full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You have the opportunity to learn the art of sales. Door to Door. If you can kill it you can go a lot of places as a carrier.

    Cons

    A 50k sales job here is to say good luck. But the experience you gain is worth the grind

    Continue reading
    TruGreen2019-05-15
  4. "Great income potential and nice Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outside Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TruGreen full-time

    Pros

    The sky is the limit on income potential. Customer leads are given.

    Cons

    You need to have some experience in sales if you intend to make money fast. There are some door to door selling involved.

    Continue reading
    TruGreen2019-05-07
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Horrible -"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Norcross, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at TruGreen full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It was close to my home

    Cons

    EVERYTHING.. I just took this position until a REAL CAREER came through - If you are a TRUE Sales Professional: IE: Account Executive / Account Manager you will comprehend what I am referring to. This position is really set up for individuals who are not educated and are willing to be 'abused'. The pay the company offers is not a livable income, $500 / week and they advise you it is a salaried position - the reason - Company and Management expect you to work OVER 45 hours a week - this is how the Company gets away with not paying over time - again - Shysters Their commission structure should not be considered anything but a little bonus - You also have to be very wary of the individuals they 'team' you up with when in training, if you make a sale the manager you are with will take the sale or at least the 'larger' part of the sale and check it off as if he had made the deal. When you confront them in regards to their 'steeling' they will ignore you - didn't work with me. Walking door to door harassing home owners is not sales - Management and company takes advantage of its employees - they should be ashamed of their 'tactics' - it took all of my energy to bite my tongue when I was resigning - although, the Managers in Norcross, GA were trying to 'intimidate' me - I have Lupus and RA - advised them that the 'walking' was too hard on my body asked if I could go into a different position - instead their TACTICS were intimidation - For me - I just opted to leave - for what they paid and having and having BULLIES as managers was a waste of my time.. IT was aprox 3 weeks of my life that I will never get back - If they were smart - they would have utilized my Background, Education and Experience - they were oblivious to see what they had in front of them - I was too good to work for a company like this - the unfortunate truth is this is a company that has high turnover - they hire people they can take advantage of - And ironically - they are still emailing me and calling me to work back in the same office - NO THANKS!

    Continue reading
    TruGreen2019-05-02
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Fun Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Columbia, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TruGreen full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Office environment, wonderful training and pay

    Cons

    Door to door sales and high pressure on being pushy

    Continue reading
    TruGreen2019-03-25
  7. Helpful (1)

    "They sell you good on the job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Agent in Fort Smith, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TruGreen full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work by yourself mainly, learn alot about weeds.

    Cons

    The pay is okay, the commissions are meager but you're paid on salary and will work 6 days a week, well over 55+ hours and only be paid for 40. All door to door cold sales.

    Continue reading
    TruGreen2019-04-05
  8. "Inside/Outside Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Richland Hills, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TruGreen full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Can make really good money on commission if you are good at sales. - Friendly environment - Good training program to learn about the products

    Cons

    - Work 40+ hours a week plus Saturdays. -Lots of cold calling/door-to-door sales.

    TruGreen2019-03-15
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Scam"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TruGreen full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I think my boss was fired for racism around the office.

    Cons

    They build it up like this is your big shot to make it in business. It's door to door knocking. without great pay as it relates to the hours. The Saturdays that they say are optional when you apply. They frame it like you're not a go-getter if you're not out there giving 10 hours of promotion, even if nothing gets sold. 0/10 would only recommend if you want to put 100k miles on your car, get paid less than average wages, and sell a bad product, which it is. A family member bought their premium package from me for like $1000 and they scorched his lawn. It looked like a dried up corn field. The time/compensation balance is insanely off.

    Continue reading
    TruGreen2019-02-24
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Crazy Hours Low Pay Poor Managment And Product"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Park Ridge, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TruGreen full-time

    Pros

    Okay base salary plus commion

    Cons

    6 day work weeks, 9-10/hr days, high pressure, low pay, door to door canvassing for 7-8/hrs. Bad management, low quality product, high pressure sales tactics.

    TruGreen2018-12-16

    TruGreen Response

    December 18, 2018

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. We take all feedback into consideration and wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 77 reviews