KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Trumaker

Is this your company?

Trumaker

Add a Review

Trumaker Reviews

Updated Jan 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 72 of over 86 reviews

3.9
75%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Trumaker Founder and CEO Mark Lovas (no image)
Mark Lovas
34 Ratings
Pros
  • "flexible schedule, fun, great support systems in place(in 6 reviews)

  • "Opportunity to make a lot of money, there is NO salary cap(in 4 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "This job is not for the faint of heart, and I didn't really understand that going into the Outfitter position(in 9 reviews)

  • "The training is nonexistent there is no one to go to for help and even their senior leadership isn't able to answer questions and talks in circles(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Fun crowd

      Jan 31, 2019 - Office Manager in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture and relaxed work environment.

      Cons

      Some executives can be a bit intense and micromanaging.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Start Up with Terrible Sale Management Team

      Jan 20, 2021 - Outfitter in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The owner is not an idiot just very very aloof.

      Cons

      Literally everything else, compensation, workload, management.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      My Favorite Job

      Feb 7, 2017 - Outfitter in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Trumaker gives you the tools and support you need to create your own business, while still having the flexibility you desire. You determine what it is you want to get out of it. 3 years in and I've built a book of 700 loyal customers. Coming from a women's retail background, working in menswear is a breath of fresh air. You are a stylist, a salesperson and a friend. Your customers look to you for advice, and I like to think you are making the world a better looking place one day at a time. The work you put in is the amount of reach outs and connections you make, the fun is had on the appointment. 2 company conferences every year for product launch and time for employees to get to know each other from other cities, plus an incentive trip had once a year for those that earn it. Your co-workers and HQ are there to support you. There aren't many companies you can say that the CEO called just to check in.

      Cons

      With any start up constant change is expected, whether that be with management, comp or your daily responsibilities. Plan to have all hands on to make a difference. Your business will not run on its own, only hard work will pay off. Self motivation and drive are a must. Sales have their ups and downs.

      Continue reading
      11 people found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      You'll Never Be Bored

      Oct 23, 2015 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Trumaker has an incredible team of ridiculously motivated, hard working, creative and educated people. The product is truly of the highest quality. You will not find more carefully crafted and quality clothing. From the fit to the fabric and stitching the attention to detail is impeccable. We have some of the most experienced and talented designers out there. There is always an opportunity to take on exciting, interesting and challenging work which makes for a fun but sometimes stressful work environment, but it is not overwhelming. There is lots of opportunity to take on new responsibility and directors are very generous with autonomy which provides freedom to do your true best work without as many bureaucratic blockers as you might find at other companies. The hours are generally a bit longer than your standard 9-5, but nothing excessive and time passes quickly when the work is exciting, which it almost always is. Overall an exciting and enthusiastic environment to work in, especially for entrepreneurial spirits who truly care about doing their best work. The team is very supportive and I think that everyone here looks forward to coming to work every day. Its not for everyone but when it works for you, it really works.

      Cons

      Sometimes, due to the nature of the passionate and creative people that make up the team, there can be too many cooks in the kitchen when it comes to decision making. This is a double-edged blade because on the positive, it means that everyone is passionate and cares about the process, but on the negative, this can often cause confusion within the team and is destructive to the clear path of direction which can cause the team to not work in unity.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Exciting and challenging if you like styling and sales

      Feb 13, 2017 - Outfitter 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You get to work with successful professional guys and help them save time while making them feel confident about their style. The most rewarding part of my experience is putting a shirt or suit on a guy and watching his eyes light up wearing something that fits him well for the first time. The company really tries to do their best to help you succeed. Everyone in my training class received a "black book" of at least 100 existing clients about one month in. I called all my clients within a few days and about 15% of them are now some of my top clients. As someone who has tried other sales roles before this one really allows me to use my creativity on a daily basis.

      Cons

      This is a sales job so it requires you to clientele and build your book. You have to hustle for the first few months to get into the groove of building your business, so there is a trade-off to work life balance. The company will supply you with a client base to work with, but you still have to get good at delivering great service to ask for referrals. Guys tend to shop seasonally too, so you may get a lot of guys telling you to reach out a few months later!

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Challenging with payoff

      Feb 14, 2017 - Outfitter 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Trumaker is a sales role. You work with a sales manager, you will have monthly targets, and there is a sales program to learn if you want to succeed. This is all pretty standard in the sales industry. What makes Trumaker unique is that it combines sales with a styling aspect, which introduces a creative aspect to the job. There's definitely a certain degree of soft skill to learn here. But before you apply, ask yourself if you like styling or sales more. The outfitters that succeed all enjoy sales to a certain extent. If you like the chase of closing deals, working towards a goal each month, and challenging yourself to work hard, then you are going to love it here and take advantage of all the different company tools to succeed. The ones I have seen go within a month or two generally discover they don't like sales and end up underperforming.

      Cons

      The company is really eager to help us succeed, but sometimes that can result in a lot of work hitting at once. I was given a large number of existing clients at one point to take care of, which needed several days to get through and made me realize I could do a better job with my planning and scheduling.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Potential to Make Money Money... IF you can build a book of business

      Dec 26, 2017 - Outfitter in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Opportunity to make a lot of money, there is NO salary cap. If you can make 30-60 calls a day then you will be making $10k+ per month. However, you must build this from your own personal network, ask for referrals, and be consistent. Trumaker provides leads, as well but only 50-100 at a time, which is only supplemental to your business. Socially, you can meet so many people that you would normally never cross paths with. Many of my clients have become great friends. The work culture is also great. If you work hard and are at the top 10-20 for the year, you'll win a trip to Mexico with the team. The outfitters are very supportive of one another and the CEO/senior managers are very accessible. If you're willing to learn and go by the Trumaker book, you'll be successful here.

      Cons

      You have to be willing to work. If you sit on facebook all day, you will not get paid, unlike other jobs. There is no extra reimbursement for phone, car, parking, etc - this is included in the ~$30-50k base salary. If you aren't willing to reach out to clients multiple times & ask for referrals, this job is not for you. This is a job dealing with male customers who can be very picky about their custom fit clothing - you'll need to deal with a lot of personalities, not all pleasant. Not a lot of room for upward mobility.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Outfitter

      Sep 1, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I absolutely love coming to work every day. Trumaker is an innovative and fun start-up to work at. Our showroom and HQ environment is casual yet swanky; a place you don't mind spending your days at. I love the product/service and once you get in front of people, it basically sells its self. Cross department communication is open and fluid which makes it easy to solve problems and create new programs or solutions through responsive feedback loops. It an empowering work environment and a place where you can truly grow, if that is your goal. Skills needed to succeed include, confidence, a go-getter mentality, and willingness to sit down and book appointments (phone calls, emails, prospecting etc) for hours in the day.

      Cons

      The ramp up period is close to three months and many get discouraged before they see the results of all of the hard work they are putting in. You must allocate time to deal with customer service issues like needed alterations, and incorrect orders etc. In the beginning successful outfitters are often working 11 hour days as many men prefer to meet after work and company morning meetings are required.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      For the driven and ambitious

      Feb 14, 2017 - Outfitter 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Trumaker is definitely a role that allows the highly-motivated to get themselves into a really good earnings pace within 6 months. Commissions are uncapped and the top sellers at the company all have two things in common: a extremely good work ethic combined with strong time management. The most enjoyable part of the job is meeting with the clients. Between appointments, I spend my time clienteling to generate more business. Ideal workday consists of 2 to 3 appointments with the rest of the time filled with business generation and servicing existing clients. Of course there are ups and downs so this is just the average to aim for. My sales are a mix of company-supplied leads as well as my own self-sourced leads. The company has also recently begun a program to provide incoming outfitters with a pool of existing clients that can lead to referral and reorder opportunities, which I think has the potential to really kickstart a newbie's momentum. I've found that leadership is receptive to feedback and ideas like pop ups and partnerships are highly supported by the sales and marketing staff.

      Cons

      The company is a startup so you have to be a bit more of a self-starter. After the training sessions, a lot of the learning comes from watching experts at work.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Senior Outfitter

      Sep 25, 2015 - Senior Outfitter in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It is hard to know where to start with this company because there are so many amazing features. 1. You make your own schedule. You don't have to worry about missing a family vacation, wedding, birthday, etc. 2. You are your own boss. You decide how much effort you want to put in and how much money you want to make. Work hard and you will make money. 3. The clients you create are yours. You interact with them directly and give them the customer service they deserve. 4. You are in charge of what your client knows and what they don't know. The more you inform them, the more they love the company and the personalized service you give them. 5. Pay is fair. If you work hard and you put in the needed hours you will make the money you want. The bonus's are awesome. A trip to Mexico in the winter is something I know all my other friends right out of college won't be getting. 6. At 24 I feel like I have all the resources I need to be successful. The help is there and management is always trying to help you improve your business.

      Cons

      When I first started I might say there were the typical start up complications, but over the past year and a half most of these kinks have been worked out!

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 72 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Trumaker Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Trumaker? Share Your Experiences

    Trumaker logo
    or