Truman Medical Centers Reviews | Glassdoor

Find your next job here

Truman Medical Centers Reviews

Updated February 8, 2018
105 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Charlie Shields
41 Ratings

105 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • It's difficult to enter into upper management without a Masters degree (in 6 reviews)

  • Management pushes a style where employees are not treated equally, and often intentionally create a hostile work environment (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in Kansas City, MO
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Truman Medical Centers full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Lots of room for advancement

    Cons

    Some people are stuck in their ways and says thats the Truman way


  2. "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN Staff Nurse in Kansas City, MO
    Former Employee - RN Staff Nurse in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Truman Medical Centers full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Pay, health insurance, education assistance and opportunity to care for underserved populations.

    Cons

    Leadership has no consistency as an organization. Need more action and less talk from top leadership.

    Advice to Management

    if you are a leader and make promises to improve specific situations for your managers and staff , you should follow through. Do not forget about it after the meeting ends.

    Truman Medical Centers Response

    Jan 17, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback and review. I’m thankful you took the time to share your opinion here so that we can reflect on it and think about ways we can adapt and do more to ensure you and others... More

  3. "Registered Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends

    I have been working at Truman Medical Centers full-time

    Pros

    All the stage are friendly and welcoming.

    Cons

    No daycare on site but there are some nearby.

    Truman Medical Centers Response

    Jan 17, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. Your dedication and commitment to TMC is what makes our hospital the best in Kansas City.

    Daycare on site would be wonderful! I will pass along the suggestion.


  4. "Medical Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Truman Medical Centers full-time

    Pros

    Great team, insurance and pay.

    Cons

    Nothing at the moment yet.

    Truman Medical Centers Response

    Jan 17, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. Your dedication and commitment to TMC is what makes our hospital the best in Kansas City.


  5. "Unit Clerk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Unit Clerk in Kansas City, MO
    Current Employee - Unit Clerk in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Truman Medical Centers full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I love working at Truman, the pay is competitive, benefits are great. One may never find a job well everyone is perfect. But those are learning moments. Overall it is a great place to work. It will teach one how to adjust to diversity and cultural differences.

    Cons

    Some of the patients are very rude and mean to staff. But I can't control anyone else's behavior. I can however control how I respond to patients and not take it personal.

    Advice to Management

    Good Job keep up the good work.!

    Truman Medical Centers Response

    Dec 11, 2017 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. Your dedication and commitment to TMC is what makes our hospital the best in Kansas City.


  6. "Great employers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coordinator in Kansas City, MO
    Current Employee - Coordinator in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Truman Medical Centers full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Wonderful health benefits!! Wonderful small team, no complaints. I like everyone here, everyone is super nice. My boss is honest and passionate about what she does for the community. I feel respected and important here. My job allows me to challenge myself and be creative.

    Cons

    Sometimes there are weekend events, but my boss is always willing to let me go early another day during the next week! So not really any cons!

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Truman Medical Centers Response

    Dec 11, 2017 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. Thank you for sharing your time and talents with Truman Medical Centers!


  7. "Fast-Paced, High-Pressure, Inclusive Environment (ER Department)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Truman Medical Centers part-time

    Pros

    Good experience for those who want to get their foot in through the door in a hospital setting

    Cons

    Patients arent always so kind but that's part of the job

    Truman Medical Centers Response

    Dec 11, 2017 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. Your dedication and commitment to TMC is what makes our hospital the best in Kansas City.

  8. "The patient population is ever changing and keeps you on your toes."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN, Bsn in Kansas City, MO
    Current Employee - RN, Bsn in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Truman Medical Centers full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Patient population is very diverse and in need of healthcare, education and emotional support that I enjoy providing. Lots of chances for learning.

    Cons

    Teamwork and support of staff is lacking. Set up of current computer system doesn't support nurses in caring for all patients on the unit. Insufficient medical service availability on nights and weekends for a hospital of this size.

    Advice to Management

    Facilitate and encourage team approach to healthcare.

    Truman Medical Centers Response

    Dec 11, 2017 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback and review. I’m thankful you took the time to share your opinion here so that we can reflect on it and think about ways we can adapt and do more to ensure you and others... More


  9. "Wonderful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Administrative Assistant in Kansas City, MO
    Current Employee - Senior Administrative Assistant in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Truman Medical Centers full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great to help the community

    Cons

    Bring your heart you will need it

    Advice to Management

    Stand by your employees

    Truman Medical Centers Response

    Nov 1, 2017 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. Your dedication and commitment to TMC is what makes our hospital the best in Kansas City. We appreciate you!


  10. "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kansas City, MO
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kansas City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Truman Medical Centers part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    It is a family like team.

    Cons

    You will be highly valued only if you are bi- lingual.

    Advice to Management

    Stop playing favorites.

    Truman Medical Centers Response

    Dec 11, 2017 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback and review. I’m thankful you took the time to share your opinion here so that we can reflect on it and think about ways we can adapt and do more to ensure you and others... More


Showing 105 of 108 reviews
Reset Filters