Truman Medical Centers Reviews

Updated May 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
83%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Truman Medical Centers President and CEO Charlie Shields (no image)
Charlie Shields
60 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Upper Management had lots of stress(in 7 reviews)

  • "It does not appear that TMC has any motives for changing how management operates(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Financial Counseling, great department"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Disability Coordinator in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Truman Medical Centers full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Awesome people to work with

    Cons

    Patient demographic sometimes a challenge to work with

    Continue reading
    Truman Medical Centers2020-04-28
  2. "N/A"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Telecommunications Analyst in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Truman Medical Centers full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very family oriented. Co-workers and other work associates are very nice and helpful. Someone is always willing to help.

    Cons

    Parking can be crazy at times

    Truman Medical Centers2020-05-27
  3. "Good place to eork"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Security Officer in Kansas City, MO

    I worked at Truman Medical Centers full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people and overall job experience

    Cons

    Upper management doesn't put employees first

    Truman Medical Centers2020-05-22
  4. "Very Corporate"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Behavioral Health Professional 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Truman Medical Centers full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Medical Benefits, pay is great

    Cons

    Very Top Down Management, Managers are not given trust to make decisions

    Continue reading
    Truman Medical Centers2020-04-01
  5. "great"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patient Care Technician 

    I have been working at Truman Medical Centers part-time

    Pros

    laid back environment and good benefits

    Cons

    needs to reward harder working employees

    Truman Medical Centers2020-02-20
  6. "I loved working at TMC. The mission of the organization was genuine. Very competitive benefits and pay."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managed Care Coordinator in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Truman Medical Centers full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits, healthcare, and salary. Multiple locations to work from.

    Cons

    A non-profit hospital has its cons in the way of funding, etc. Truman was great though. I have no complaints.

    Truman Medical Centers2020-02-12
  7. "Great Benefits"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Truman Medical Centers full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, amazing patients, competitive pay

    Cons

    Not a lot of growth available for this position.

    Truman Medical Centers2020-02-09

    Truman Medical Centers Response

    February 10, 2020Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. Your dedication and commitment to TMC is what makes our hospital the best in Kansas City.

  8. "Good place to learn"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Advanced Practice Nurse 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Truman Medical Centers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You will see a lot of interesting cases. The population is great but sometimes challenging, however most are very grateful for the care they receive. The care given is good overall.

    Cons

    There seems to be quite a bit of burnout and as a result very negative attitudes. Also there are not a lot of opportunities to work independently as a provider as you will function as a resident in many of the specialty areas. The doctors have the say over what patients you will and won't see so there is a bit of inconsistency throughout the organization which may lead to job dissatisfaction. There is also a lack of real support from nursing administration if a doctor has decided not to allow you to function as a provider for whatever reason due to the hierarchy culture within the organization.

    Continue reading
    Truman Medical Centers2020-02-15
  9. "Great"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Manager - Development 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Truman Medical Centers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great leadership, great experience, meaningful work. Be ready to work and learn.

    Cons

    Interesting departmental dynamic. Good social work leadership within the department

    Truman Medical Centers2020-01-23

    Truman Medical Centers Response

    February 10, 2020Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. Your dedication and commitment to TMC is what makes our hospital the best in Kansas City.

  10. "Great"

    4.0
    Former Employee - CNA 

    I worked at Truman Medical Centers part-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours, nice coworkers, learning experience

    Cons

    I have no cons for this job

    Truman Medical Centers2020-01-13

    Truman Medical Centers Response

    February 10, 2020Human Resources

    Thank you for your comments and feedback. Best of luck to you, and thank you for sharing your time and talents with Truman Medical Centers.

Found 150 reviews