Truman Medical Centers Reviews | Glassdoor

Truman Medical Centers Reviews

Updated June 1, 2018
110 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Charlie Shields
44 Ratings

110 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "The health benefits were excellent, as well as access to a fitness center, etc" (in 9 reviews)

  • "Great benefits (medical, mainly)" (in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "It's difficult to enter into upper management without a Masters degree" (in 6 reviews)

  • "Management pushes a style where employees are not treated equally, and often intentionally create a hostile work environment" (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Great employers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coordinator in Kansas City, MO
    Current Employee - Coordinator in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Truman Medical Centers full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Wonderful health benefits!! Wonderful small team, no complaints. I like everyone here, everyone is super nice. My boss is honest and passionate about what she does for the community. I feel respected and important here. My job allows me to challenge myself and be creative.

    Cons

    Sometimes there are weekend events, but my boss is always willing to let me go early another day during the next week! So not really any cons!

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    Truman Medical Centers Response

    Dec 11, 2017 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. Thank you for sharing your time and talents with Truman Medical Centers!


  2. "Social Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Social Worker in Kansas City, MO
    Former Employee - Social Worker in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Truman Medical Centers full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    good benefits and training opportunities

    Cons

    Culture is changing, but it's taking some time

    Truman Medical Centers Response

    Jun 21, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. Your dedication and commitment to TMC is what makes our hospital the best in Kansas City.

  3. "PASR II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PASR II in Kansas City, MO
    Current Employee - PASR II in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Truman Medical Centers full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Good benefit's, friendly work environment,

    Cons

    Manager new in position not seasoned

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees and be more transparent.

    Truman Medical Centers Response

    Jun 21, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. Your dedication and commitment to TMC is what makes our hospital the best in Kansas City. Please feel free to email us at askHR@tmcmed.org to provide additional feedback.


  4. "Does not value their employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recovery Coach in Kansas City, MO
    Current Employee - Recovery Coach in Kansas City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Truman Medical Centers full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great colleagues, friendly people, good insurance, competitive pay

    Cons

    Is not sensitive to mental health issues, treats employees like a number, have to do a lot of work at home

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees like people and not a number

    Truman Medical Centers Response

    May 10, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for taking time to share your experience at Truman Medical Center. We are sorry your experience has not reflected our commitment to supporting a quality workforce of true professionals... More


  5. "EMPLOYMENT SPECIALIST"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Employment Specilalist in Kansas City, MO
    Former Employee - Employment Specilalist in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Truman Medical Centers full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    The health benefits were excellent, as well as access to a fitness center, etc.

    Cons

    Social services environment was sometimes frustrating for one accustomed to the for profit world.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure leadership is in place based on competence and not just educational credentials.

    Truman Medical Centers Response

    Apr 19, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your comments and feedback. Best of luck to you, and thank you for sharing your time and talents with Truman Medical Centers.


  6. "Beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Truman Medical Centers full-time

    Pros

    Truman Medical Centers provides phenomenal services to the community and employees a dedicated staff

    Cons

    Management on all levels throughout this company have major issues that if you comb threw reviews on this company are very apparent. It does not appear that TMC has any motives for changing how management operates. There is no employee grievance process, work is unevenly divided among other staff and departments, managers are rarely available as TMC places great emphasis on their management being in meetings >90% for the day every day. Employee complaints/concerns are frequently over looked and employees that attempt to promote positive change are reprimanded. Despite the companies compliance officers encouragement to report issues, if issues are reported employees are immediately run off threw either harassment or terminated. If terminated this company is quick to lie to unemployment to avoid paying out unemployment benefits. Over all, TMC most certainly looks out for "number 1" and this only includes the company's wallet, anything or anyone else in the company's way is eliminated.

    Advice to Management

    This is difficult, since although management does have many issues, I know now that this issue stem from higher up (corporate officers and directors) as when TMC does get management that attempt to make a positive difference they suddenly "up and resign", management that can "look the other way" are the only ones that last in management at TMC. Not sure how a company can possible expect to run successfully with out reviewing the management. If any employee has a concern about management one would think that these concerns would be taken seriously, especially when these same concerns are shared with >50% of the other staff and a large number of patients. The corporate structure of this company needs to be reviewed on a much higher level than simply management.

    Truman Medical Centers Response

    Apr 19, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback and review. Please feel free to email us at askHR@tmcmed.org to provide additional feedback.


  7. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in Kansas City, MO
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Truman Medical Centers full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Lots of room for advancement

    Cons

    Some people are stuck in their ways and says thats the Truman way

    Truman Medical Centers Response

    Mar 1, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your comments and feedback. Best of luck to you, and thank you for sharing your time and talents with Truman Medical Centers.

  8. "RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN Staff Nurse in Kansas City, MO
    Former Employee - RN Staff Nurse in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Truman Medical Centers full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Pay, health insurance, education assistance and opportunity to care for underserved populations.

    Cons

    Leadership has no consistency as an organization. Need more action and less talk from top leadership.

    Advice to Management

    if you are a leader and make promises to improve specific situations for your managers and staff , you should follow through. Do not forget about it after the meeting ends.

    Truman Medical Centers Response

    Jan 17, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback and review. I’m thankful you took the time to share your opinion here so that we can reflect on it and think about ways we can adapt and do more to ensure you and others... More


  9. "Registered Nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends

    I have been working at Truman Medical Centers full-time

    Pros

    All the stage are friendly and welcoming.

    Cons

    No daycare on site but there are some nearby.

    Truman Medical Centers Response

    Jan 17, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. Your dedication and commitment to TMC is what makes our hospital the best in Kansas City.

    Daycare on site would be wonderful! I will pass along the suggestion.


  10. "Medical Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Truman Medical Centers full-time

    Pros

    Great team, insurance and pay.

    Cons

    Nothing at the moment yet.

    Truman Medical Centers Response

    Jan 17, 2018 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. Your dedication and commitment to TMC is what makes our hospital the best in Kansas City.


Showing 110 of 113 reviews
Reset Filters