Trunk Club Reviews | Glassdoor

Trunk Club Reviews

Updated Dec 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
18%
Recommend to a Friend
31%
Approve of CEO
Trunk Club CEO Fanya Chandler
Fanya Chandler
11 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Stylists/sales people will treat you like dirt despite the fact that they couldn't make half their sales without you(in 63 reviews)

  • "No work/life balance (have to work on off days)(in 44 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (8)

    "Amazing workplace!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Manager 

    I have been working at Trunk Club full-time

    Pros

    Great opportunity for growth within the company. Sales leaders are encouraging and motivational!

    Cons

    Hours may not be great for some!

    Trunk Club2019-01-28

    Trunk Club Response

    January 31, 2019HR Team

    Thanks for the review! We're so glad to hear that you're enjoying your career at Trunk Club. Keep up the great work!

    Continue reading
  2. "Fast Paced Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Trunk Club full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Ample opportunity for growth Collaborative Environment

    Cons

    Minor communication issues at times

    Trunk Club2019-01-21

    Trunk Club Response

    February 6, 2019HR Team

    Thanks for the review! We appreciate the feedback and know that communication is an area of opportunity for us. In fact, we've listed this as a top management priority and have dedicated resources focused on improving our employee communications to keep the team engaged and informed. Best of luck in your career!

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great but not long term"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Stylist in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Trunk Club full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    + unlimited vacation + amazing coworkers + really chill environment

    Cons

    + clients that take advantage of you, you are essentially helping them for free +glorified retail job, you work at the Nordstrom store sometimes + high sales quotas, if you don’t hit them, you don’t get paid well

    Continue reading
    Trunk Club2019-11-29
  4. "If you have a degree, this is not the job for you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - National Stylist in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Trunk Club full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Telecommute twice a week if goals are met -"Unlimited PTO" based on managers discretion -401k match -Nordstrom 20% discount -Occasional happy hour on the clock

    Cons

    -It's a glorified retail job -When you apply and interview for Trunk Club, they bribe you with 'bonuses for hitting quota' and 'raises every 6 months'. Both of these statements can be true, yet are grossly unattainable. The leads that the marketing team generates for National Stylists have no idea or concept of what Nordstrom and its pricing is. They signup thinking they will get $20 jeans, $5 tees, etc as if it was Old Navy or American Eagle. As a result, clients get upset when you send them a preview containing items they deem 'expensive' making it incredibly difficult to generate revenue. Trunk Club should be advertised as a luxury service and not something for everyone (their target market is in fact people with 6 figure salaries). Part of me always thought corporate made quotas so high so that nobody would reach them and they wouldn't need to pay us our share of bonus. Part of me also thinks that the company might be tanking and actually needs those numbers to stay afloat. If you are someone with a college degree or any ambition for a career, don't waste your time on the wages trunk club has to offer compared to the amount of money you will be making them without commission. -The closest free parking is a 10 minute walk away so you must always be extra early just in case street parking is hard to find. There is a $6.50/day lot next door to the office, but not the most affordable option for the wages you'll be making. -High School clique atmosphere with certain employees -PTO isn't actually unlimited (anything over 15 days is considered excessive to them) so if you leave the job having only taken 5 days of PTO, you aren't being paid out for your remaining unused vacation time because it is 'unlimited'

    Continue reading
    Trunk Club2019-11-24
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible communication"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stylist 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Trunk Club full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits and PTO Beautiful office

    Cons

    No employee parking-forcing employees to park as far as 3 miles away Felt like a camp for adults with baby talking, micromanaging, “adult supervision” Unkept promises regarding promotions Belittling and bullying

    Continue reading
    Trunk Club2019-12-03
  6. "Could be great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Trunk Club full-time

    Pros

    The culture, the atmosphere, & the flexibility

    Cons

    The pay is the biggest issue

    Trunk Club2019-10-28
  7. "Great Place For The Mean Time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stylist in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Trunk Club full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome company, amazing culture, bar in house, Nordstrom discount, cool people, you'll make lifelong friends here

    Cons

    Hard to reach sales goals

    Trunk Club2019-10-10
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Underpaid and overworked. Do not recommend."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Clubhouse Operations Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Trunk Club part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The building is nice, easy to get to on public transit.

    Cons

    Communication with managers is almost nonexistent. There is no mutual respect. Everyone acts as if they drank the koolaid and being underpaid was okay only because you get to work in a cool office.

    Continue reading
    Trunk Club2019-10-21
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Don't bother, go work at Trader Joes (You'll be making more)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - National Stylist in Culver City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Trunk Club full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    work from home slightly cool coworkers

    Cons

    Pay is a JOKE. Toxic Management (most management is promoted and have no clue what they are doing so they treat you like crap) "Unlimited PTO" but if you go on a trip expect backlash and a heavy workload I think in the 2 years I've been here there have been 3 Presidents LOL People quitting in droves and the remaining employees have to pick up their slack for the same pay NO PARKING Rats in office

    Continue reading
    Trunk Club2019-11-09
  10. "Sales Specialist/ Stylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Specialist/Stylist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Trunk Club full-time

    Pros

    fun place to work, great training program, teaches you how to really sell

    Cons

    disorganized when I was there as the CEO and other executives were stepping down.

    Trunk Club2019-10-02
Found 388 reviews