Truphone Reviews | Glassdoor

Truphone Reviews

Updated Jul 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 140 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Truphone CEO Ralph Steffens
Ralph Steffens
47 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "No future in the US!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Executive in Durham, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Truphone

    Pros

    Truphone offers a wonderful benefits package, excellent 401k, and employee recognition awards/gifts.

    Cons

    Truphone is unstable and will most like shutdown the US locations due to improper handling of their financials.

    Advice to Management

    The management team can be segregated towards non management. I have felt not welcomed or left out in some company gatherings.

    Truphone2015-01-14
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Excellent, hard working team hampered by incompetent leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Durham, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Truphone full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits were good, pay was good, work environment was good. The team as a whole were excellent folks - people you'd love to work with.

    Cons

    Leadership had no clue. often resorted to insults and expletives as standard operating procedure (aka Motivation). Mass hiring in mid 2014 was not thought out, and as a result, layoffs and closing of US offices by end of year 2014. No "lead from the front" leaders here. Just yes-men anxious to cash out when this company sells.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your team, don't hire dozens of people without a real plan. Mass hirings and then layoffs within 6 months is inexcusable.

    Truphone2015-02-06
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good concept, not well organized. Unable to deliver on promises."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Executive in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Truphone full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    phone with multiple international phone numbers low cost insurance reasonable vacation days

    Cons

    low pay unclear vision must work in office

    Truphone2015-01-15
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Bad Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Truphone full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company is currently restructuring, would not consider any opportunity offered

    Cons

    Lack of accountability, leadership from CEO down is poor

    Advice to Management

    Stop letting the UK HQ determine what is best for the US market.

    Truphone2015-01-13
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Randomatic management problem"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Network Engineer in Lisbon
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Truphone full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    * Good benefits * Interesting products to work on (IoT, Apple, etc.)

    Cons

    * Constant changes in priorities * Non-paid overtime * Always working on extra effort * Not following programming best practices * Major performance issues * Lack of good management

    Advice to Management

    Management must take into consideration best practices; Plan ahead before start impementing products/Change priorities; recognize people in a daily basis

    Truphone2019-07-07
  6. "One of the best jobs I've ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Office Team Member in Lisbon
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Truphone full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Always something new to learn; - Expectations are high, leading to a constant strive to achieve the company's objectives, which motivates everyone to give their best; - Great team spirit, everyone is always friendly and helpful, which makes coming to work a daily pleasure and not a chore.

    Cons

    Nothing to say, everything has been great.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing your best to make everyone happy and motivated.

    Truphone2019-06-04
  7. "My experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support in Oeiras
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Truphone full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    One of the best reason to work at Truphone is that I have the opportunity to learn a lot about the telecommunication network

    Cons

    I think that all the teams should collaborate more with each other in order to improve the quality service to the customer

    Advice to Management

    I think that managers should look more at workers by investing more in training

    Truphone2019-06-14
  8. "Business Development Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in Bilthoven
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Truphone full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Unique product, progressive company, nice colleagues who want to help you.

    Cons

    Nothing yet, I started at beginning of May.

    Truphone2019-05-15
  9. Helpful (1)

    "POOR MANAGEMENT, SUCKS OF OFFICE POLITICS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounting in Manila, Manila
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Truphone full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -wrong choice of my career

    Cons

    -small company but office politics is worst -no clinic. Clinic/sleeping room 🤣 -no career enhancement.you can’t applied GL or TL if your not accounting grad despite all the experienced you had -I thought this is a shared services, why the counter part has relying all the work here in Manila.Always chasing the counter part. -no team building

    Advice to Management

    Hey management of UK, why don’t you try to stay longer in Manila! Not only a week or two.Give them a surprised visit, spot checking and audit.So that you will see what kind of employee do you have.Hearsay and one on one interview of each employee was not good enough, working with them everyday is the great idea! Know your people...

    Truphone2019-05-31
  10. "It's an ok company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Truphone full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The team I was part of was great. Serious when needed, relaxed and fun when needed. The right balance between delivery and fun.

    Cons

    Lots of bureaucracy in the company. The release process was very slow and stakeholders were trying to find reasons for a release not to happen rather than to happen. Very frustrating in times.

    Truphone2019-04-28
Found 140 reviews