TubeMogul Reviews

Updated Oct 31, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
78%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
TubeMogul CEO & Co-Founder Brett Wilson (no image)
Brett Wilson
134 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great place to work and great colleagues(in 11 reviews)

  • "The first thing you notice is the people and the company culture(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Better work/life balance will follow(in 17 reviews)

  • "Sometimes long hours, pay may not be higher than other similar companies out there(in 13 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Innovative and always ahead of the curve

      Nov 21, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great vision Forward thinking management Smart eng'g team

      Cons

      Many late nights Too much legacy code

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      a job is a job

      Oct 31, 2020 - Operations Coordinator in Emeryville, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      tons of perks not too much work

      Cons

      meaningless work poor management lack of accountability

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      good perks, messy company

      May 18, 2020 - Operations Coordinator in Emeryville, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good perks, and work life balance

      Cons

      messy company, run poorly and product was not so good.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      A Place Where You Can Make Yourself

      Oct 4, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Amazingly intelligent and empathetic co-workers. Above all else, the people you work with here won't make you dread getting out of bed each morning. - Huge industry opportunity at the intersection of technology and advertising. Above-average product and compelling SaaS-based business model. - Clear value proposition in a notoriously opaque industry. - Senior leadership is overly transparent - sometimes, almost to a fault - with the broader employee base about company direction and strategy. - Scaled, innovative culture; start-up feel at a 700+ person company. Great perks, above-average benefits. - Merit-based performance review: top individual contributors and managers are afforded growth opportunities both vertically and horizontally within the organization. This is not a place where you should ever feel stifled - if you have a way to improve upon process or output, don't ask. Just do it. Even if it doesn't stick, you will be recognized. - Let's be clear: this is a values-based company. Yes, it is publicly traded. But it hasn't been profitable in the 2.5 years since IPO'ing, and if the C-levels were concerned about proving to Wall Street the company could turn a profit, they would have fired the majority of its sales staff like EVERY other ad tech company has already done.

      Cons

      - Engineering turnover. Understandable in the Bay Area. - Compensation has improved, but remains at- or below-market. - Organizational communication and general infrastructure are wanting. The nature of the industry and the reality of technology companies means that the company often sacrifices long-term stability for short-term relief.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Rapidly growing company that is winning!

      Jun 29, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Emeryville, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company is growing rapidly on many fronts: market share, revenues, technology stack, and head count. It's an exciting time to be at TubeMogul to experience this kind of growth and how we handle all the challenges that come with it. We are making great improvements with scaling our technology, onboarding new employees, benefits and providing an atmosphere where anyone can grow their career. It is like nothing I've experienced before but exactly what I was looking for in a pre-IPO company. We are definitely winning in our space and it shows from the awards we've received, the kind of talent we are able to attract and most importantly, what our customers are saying about us.

      Cons

      With tremendous growth to capture more market share and to provide more advanced features for our existing clients, it can get overwhelming with the number of things that need to be accomplished in a relatively short amount of time. There are no shortages of mistakes and late night sessions to identify and resolve them. As the company grows it's beginning to feel that each individual is becoming less important and that responsibility can get easily shifted which can often cause important questions not be asked or ideas overlooked.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Built my career at TubeMogul

      Aug 19, 2016 - Sales in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people, leadership, and culture! Everyday was an absolute pleasure to be surrounded by such incredibly talented, smart, and funny people. Working at TubeMogul is a special feeling, you are warmly embraced not only by your team/office, but by the whole company. I felt fully supported during my tenure, from my initial training until my exit. The culture team in the NY office regularly set up events/activities celebrating milestones like new hires, end of quarter, anniversaries, birthday's, and even Bastille day! It's special and makes the office that much better! TubeMoguls leadership team is driven to change the way media is bought, and it's inspiring work. You can't help but drink the kool-aid and feel like your a part of something amazing. The product and vision are top notch. Definitely ahead of the curve and highly innovative. You have the opportunity to grow so much, and contribute outside of your role. Plan to work hard and give 100%. Know that if you do this - you are rewarded monetarily and with new experiences. I appreciated and loved my experience at TubeMogul. I support the vision, leadership, product, and the team. Always will be rooting for them.

      Cons

      Need to continue building out the executive team so everyone has mentorship equally.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Culture Cannot Be Beat

      Jun 18, 2015 - Account Manager in Detroit, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This company feels like family to me and is a place where culture trumps everything. I never thought I would work at a place where I am so close to those I work with. The other great thing I love about the culture is that I have yet to find an unmotivated or "slacking" individual. It is truly motivating to have everyone working to the best of their ability towards one goal. I have also yet to find an untalented individual here at this company. Upper-level all the way down to starting positions, everyone is knowledgeable and talented in their own way. We are growing fast and moving fast all the time. I love this pace and continue to learn every day. Coming from a VERY corporate culture previously, I am always surprised at the time efficiency in making decisions and moving forward.

      Cons

      The hours are long and work is plentiful, this is isn't a "collect your paycheck" kind of job. This is not the kind of job for those chasing dollars, but for those looking for a place they love to come into in the morning. The company is getting better and better at the compensation and benefits.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Senior Account Manager

      Sep 22, 2018 - Senior Account Manager in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Growing fast, great leadership, snacks, flat organization, company vision,

      Cons

      product user-ability, meeting product deadlines

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Acquired by Adobe

      Oct 4, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Was great worked here long for us

      Cons

      tough things are tough times

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      A special company

      Jun 15, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Emeryville, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are many things that make this place special: First is people. There is a strong focus on culture which results in a lot of people that are low ego and fun but also smart, hungry and accountable. For many years we have pushed an entire industry to become more transparent and automated. It's inspiring to work someplace so aligned with its clients and focused on doing what's right. TubeMogul is also on the bleeding edge of where software meets advertising, like our work automating TV buying. Lastly, the company builds for the long-term and isn't influenced by short-term pressures. I'm constantly impressed and inspired by how much depth and talent we have around the org.

      Cons

      Many of the pros and cons of the company are the same. It's about knowing what you are getting into. Given the backdrop of an industry being transformed by software it's a dynamic environment and can often feel like you are jumping from one moving car to another. There is also a "play to win" mentality so while no one cares how many hours you work the pace can be blistering. TubeMogul also has many of the challenges you would expect given all the growth. But the company is self-aware and I've witnessed us continually improve for many years.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 178 Reviews

    Popular Careers with TubeMogul Job Seekers

    Senior Account Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at TubeMogul? Share Your Experiences

    TubeMogul logo
    or