Tucson Electric Power Reviews | Glassdoor

Tucson Electric Power Reviews

Updated Aug 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 48 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
Tucson Electric Power CEO David G. Hutchens (no image)
David G. Hutchens
11 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great pay and benefits, ample starting vacation time(in 9 reviews)

  • "great pay, great co-workers, and great benefits(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "TEP is really good for everyone(in 6 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Power Systems Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Tucson Electric Power full-time

    Pros

    Great Benefits, pension plan, healthcare plan is really cheap

    Cons

    Huge female employment movement happening so if your a guy good luck moving up or getting hired

    Tucson Electric Power2019-08-02
  2. "Challenging Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Director 

    I worked at Tucson Electric Power full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Able to accomplish a lot without much red tape.

    Cons

    High ambiguity environment at senior levels.

    Tucson Electric Power2019-06-24
  3. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst, Irvington Campus in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Tucson Electric Power full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone here loves the company, the people are very nice and helpful, the work is meaningful, I feel like I have somewhat of a voice as an employee rather than a silent cog in the corporate machine, there is protocol in place to help prevent unfair treatment, lots of diversity in staff, benefits are GREAT (gym, cafeteria, medical care with the insurance, PTO and some flex time options). Overall I really enjoy it... here and I'm hoping to keep this job for a long time.

    Show More

    Cons

    A bit of a "boys club" vibe from some older male employees, a lot of meetings/bureaucracy, effective communication is difficult with all the meetings and some unclear protocol.

    Tucson Electric Power2019-05-31
  4. Helpful (1)

    "TEP is awesome place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Programmer Analyst III in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tucson Electric Power full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits. Interesting work in great industry. One of the best places to work in Tucson. Have solid plans and goals. Relatively agile and adapting to technology and industry trends. Innovative in electric utility sector.

    Cons

    Some decisions go through to formal of a process and could be made quicker.

    Advice to Management

    Keep innovating.

    Tucson Electric Power2019-02-16
  5. Helpful (2)

    "student intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tucson Electric Power part-time

    Pros

    great pay, good for students, lots of opportunities, school preference

    Cons

    TEP is really good for everyone.

    Tucson Electric Power2018-07-26
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Up and down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Tucson, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tucson Electric Power full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great employees, Good pay, Ok benefits

    Cons

    Static environment. Known issues do not get resolved. As time went by, management increased and as a result a more chaotic environment. Too many under qualified chefs in one kitchen.

    Tucson Electric Power2018-06-26
  7. Helpful (1)

    "it was okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Tucson, AZ

    I worked at Tucson Electric Power full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    it had good hours to work

    Cons

    unflexible schedule that wasn't always able to change

    Advice to Management

    work on employees

    Tucson Electric Power2018-03-28
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Welcoming Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Intern in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tucson Electric Power full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A very welcoming environment with great pay and benefits!

    Cons

    Complacency can be a problem but that is easily addressed with many safety stand-downs.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the safety standard and culture!

    Tucson Electric Power2017-11-09
  9. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Tucson Electric Power full-time

    Pros

    Very friendly environment and lot of opportunity to grow

    Cons

    Overall good experience working for TEP

    Tucson Electric Power2017-07-13
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Chemical Services Supervisor, performance engineer, Sr. Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Springerville, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tucson Electric Power full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great pay, great location if you like rural mountains

    Cons

    horrible management. Constantly threatening my job for saving them money and showing process problems. Had a simple infinite ROI change that would save nearly $1.5M/month and nearly fired because it made operations look bad.

    Advice to Management

    fire the whole lot. Micro-managers and incompetent managers were the rule.

    Tucson Electric Power2017-06-10
Found 48 reviews