Tuff Shed Reviews | Glassdoor

Tuff Shed Reviews

Updated May 5, 2017
80 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

2.9
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Tom Saurey
46 Ratings

80 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Good product when the building work is done correctly (in 7 reviews)

  • Tuff Shed builds a great product (in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • Low pay - in 2014 Tuff Shed had to write checks to many of their retail salesman because their annual commissions DID NOT MEET FEDERAL MINIMUM WAGE (in 6 reviews)

  • We should get a corporate office newsletter (in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Love it"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - NSC in Denver, CO
    Current Employee - NSC in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tuff Shed full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    People, Product, Activities, Benefits, Big Growth

    Cons

    location of corporate office - if they moved it near me other people would be unhappy ;-)

    Advice to Management

    Safety Department needs some extra employee

    Tuff Shed Response

    Jan 11, 2017 – Director, Talent Acquisition & Management Development

    Thanks for your review - we appreciate your feedback. We're glad to see that you are enjoying working at Tuff Shed. You comments have been shared with the management team.


  2. Helpful (3)

    "Area Sales Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - AREA SALES MANAGER in San Antonio, TX
    Former Employee - AREA SALES MANAGER in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tuff Shed full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The Home Depot Team Creates a fun work environment

    Cons

    No support for sales team, No incentives for high achieving sales professionals, No Team Culture, Negative Environment, Intimidating Management Style

    Advice to Management

    Create Incentives for Sales Professionals that have a monetary value, Sales associates are not motivated by a "high five", or "game ball winner" for the sales quarter. The fake team culture is laughable, one week you can be a superstar, the next week watch your back,

    Tuff Shed Response

    May 8, 2017 – Director, Talent Acquisition & Management Development

    Employee reviews are important to Tuff Shed. Thanks for your feedback. Our Area Sales Managers are compensated with a commission plan that includes a guaranteed minimum. High achieving sales ... More


  3. "Shop supervisor"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shop Supervisor in Tucson, AZ
    Former Employee - Shop Supervisor in Tucson, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tuff Shed full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Good benefits 401k medical dental vision

    Cons

    Fast pace with no training for shop employees

    Advice to Management

    Provide good training for employees out in the shop plenty for sales and management but nothing for shop employees

    Tuff Shed Response

    Apr 11, 2017 – Director, Talent Acquisition & Management Development

    Thanks for your review. Employee feedback - and development - is important to Tuff Shed. The information in this review requires clarification. Shop Supervisors are provided hands-on training by ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design/Sales Consultant in Minneapolis, MN
    Current Employee - Design/Sales Consultant in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tuff Shed full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great GM, fun workplace, best job I have had so far.

    Cons

    Minimum commission is not good, especially during winter months. Overall pay is good.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Tuff Shed Response

    Jan 9, 2017 – Director, Talent Acquisition & Management Development

    Thanks for your review. We've shared your comments with the management team. Great to hear that you are enjoying your work with Tuff Shed.


  6. Helpful (1)

    "A Real Rat Race"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Salt Lake City, UT
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Tuff Shed full-time

    Pros

    I was a job. Lots of hours, they work you like a dog. The only difference is most dogs are treated better.

    Cons

    People come and go constantly. Management at all levels only care about themselves. Very phony company because the people running it are phony. The rats are running this race.

    Advice to Management

    What is up with the way you treat people? I know your going to reply with something to the affect of "we try" or "we have a hot line". Those things don't matter because of the way management at all levels treats people. A poor culture is not something a "hotline" will fix.

    Tuff Shed Response

    Jan 27, 2017 – Director, Talent Acquisition & Management Development

    Thank you for your review; your comments have been shared with the management team. Tuff Shed is proud of our teams around the country - and the Salt Lake City location is one of our oldest and ... More


  7. Helpful (2)

    "19years w/company in phoenix,az"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fabricator in Phoenix, AZ
    Former Employee - Fabricator in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tuff Shed full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Loved my job&company til manager decided I was too big a hit on his overhead(quote from him to me)layedoff 3 days b4 xmas

    Cons

    Labor rates more important than all else, managers that r former officer max managers& retail uhaulmanager hired to job they're not qualified to do

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees more & weed out managers that play favoritism over qualifications

    Tuff Shed Response

    Jan 30, 2017 – Director, Talent Acquisition & Management Development

    Thank you for your review; it has been shared with the corporate and regional managers. This is a serious complaint and we've checked with management team in Phoenix.They have confirmed that ... More


  8. Helpful (2)

    "No Integrity No Respect"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Denver, CO
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Tuff Shed full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    There is no good reason to work at this organization. No positives what so ever! Oh sure, the products produced there are decent, but they come at the price of employees being shown no respect. Combine that with poor pay, miserable hours, and no work/life balance and you get the picture, look elsewhere.

    Cons

    The company claims integrity and respect are among their values, what a joke!!! If you have integrity upper management will do their best to get rid of you! In the time I was there (corporate office) I witnessed top sales, operation heads, and even a top executive make up lies to oust others. Blatant, fabricated, lies. If you have an opinion, if you have a political, social, or religious value that differs from top brass, then your "not on the bus" as they say. Then your pigeonholed as a troublemaker, then the feeding frenzy of lies and backstabbing starts, usually generated by a certain member of the executive team and his cronies at the top of the HD and direct sales, IT, and operation department. Maybe someday the guy in the corner office will take off the blinders and see what is going on. Leadership at this organization is a mess, stay far, far, away! Don't even think about getting near this bus!

    Advice to Management

    Even though the name of your company belongs in the 1980's, your ethics and integrity don't have to.

    Tuff Shed Response

    Jan 10, 2017 – Director, Talent Acquisition & Management Development

    Thanks for your review; employee feedback is important to us and we have shared your comments with the management team. Tuff Shed strives to provide a positive workplace for all employees. We ... More


  9. Helpful (4)

    "horrible company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - AREA SALES MANAGER in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - AREA SALES MANAGER in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Tuff Shed full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    There are no pros as far as I can see. This company has changed so much of the past few years, but it has not been for the better.

    Cons

    Terrible management team. Terrible HR department. Very low pay for the hours that are needed to be successful.

    Tuff Shed Response

    Jan 9, 2017 – Director, Talent Acquisition & Management Development

    Thank you for your review; we value employee feedback. We recommend that you share your concerns with your General Manager or Regional Sales Manager. Our employees are key to Tuff Shed's growth and ... More


  10. "Honestly a Good Place to Work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tuff Shed full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good work, good benefits, good people to work with. Management is always around and you can talk to them. Location of the office is perfect for me. Pretty close to light rail station. There are showers in the building for after workout or walk.

    Cons

    No assigned parking spaces - would like same spot everyday
    Wish gym was in the building
    Don't like the restaurant in the building
    Get rid of smoker paradise area and turn that area into a reader or hangout space.
    Better bike storage.

    Advice to Management

    People in the stores that want to learn have classes online to learn. Can we get some classes for the office employees to learn and grow?

    Tuff Shed Response

    Nov 14, 2016 – Director, Talent Acquisition & Management Development

    Thanks for your Tuff Shed review. Your comments and recommendations have been shared with the leadership team.


  11. "Good Place to Work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    I've been working there several months and I see it as a positive place to work. The Executive Team is always looking for new ways to improve systems and processes. TS is a successful and growing company. They plan fun activities which helps moral around the office.

    Cons

    Can be long hours at times, as with any job.

    Tuff Shed Response

    Nov 3, 2016 – Director, Talent Acquisition & Management Development

    Thanks for your review. We're glad you see Tuff Shed as a positive place to work and hope you are part of the team for many years to come!


Showing 80 of 82 reviews
Reset Filters