Tuff Shed Reviews | Glassdoor

Tuff Shed Reviews

Updated November 21, 2017
94 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Tom Saurey
56 Ratings

94 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Good product when the building work is done correctly (in 8 reviews)

  • Great product if built correctly (in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • We should get a corporate office newsletter (in 6 reviews)

  • Very low pay for the hours that are needed to be successful (in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Specialist in Denver, CO
    Former Employee - Business Development Specialist in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tuff Shed full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The work environment was very formal informal- family tight feel. It was a good competitive environment with a great introduction to sales and account management. There was alway room to improve and grow in the company.

    Cons

    Although I enjoyed talking with my manager, there was a lack of communication prior to performance. Under appreciated for trying to above and beyond standards of work tasks.

    Advice to Management

    Wished there was a non-biased judgment with my managers.


  2. "Employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tuff Shed full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great company to work for

    Cons

    Work long hours and and too many days

    Advice to Management

    Reduce hours

    Tuff Shed Response

    Nov 1, 2017 – Director, Talent Acquisition & Management Development

    Thanks for your review - employee feedback is important to us and we've shared your comments with the local and regional management teams.

    We know that the working hours in the spring and summer... More

  3. "ASM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Tuff Shed full-time

    Pros

    Good Benefits/Great opportunity to build great relationships with Home Depot educating them on our Tuff Shed Products

    Cons

    Sometimes it can be 7 day weeks.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in Leadership skills drilled down to Management.


  4. "What a joke."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - AREA SALES MANAGER in Lombard, IL
    Current Employee - AREA SALES MANAGER in Lombard, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Tuff Shed full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    The only pro is they were smart enough to hire me. High turn over on many levels but it’s not a surprise to me

    Cons

    List is lengthy but to be fair when you pay at the poverty level or slightly above could you expect much

    Advice to Management

    Lock the doors throw away the keys and start over. Place is mess.

    Tuff Shed Response

    Nov 20, 2017 – Director, Talent Acquisition & Management Development

    Firstly, thank you for the 10+ years you have worked with Tuff Shed. Employees are the reason for our continued success. We've shared your comments with the local and regional management teams - but... More


  5. Helpful (1)

    "The job was basic and people had to bow down to the queen the supervisor."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounting Clerk in Aurora, CO
    Former Employee - Accounting Clerk in Aurora, CO
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tuff Shed full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good location, the employees were great to work with. Full time with benefits it’s covered parking and they have you a seat to work in

    Cons

    The supervisor was challenging to work with, no employee perks and everyone trying to go to different departments because of the supervisor

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of her

    Tuff Shed Response

    Oct 17, 2017 – Director, Talent Acquisition & Management Development

    Thank you for your review; your comments have been share with the Finance & Accounting management team.

    We're sorry that this position was not a fit for you, but can share that turnover in our... More


  6. Helpful (2)

    "For Your Information"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Framer/Truss/Assembler in Baton Rouge, LA
    Former Employee - Framer/Truss/Assembler in Baton Rouge, LA

    I worked at Tuff Shed full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The pay is decent and if you like overtime there is a lot of it.

    Cons

    The work is intense and the company lack organization and effective management. A good worker is usually over worked and because of this the turn over rate is high. I enjoyed working there, but it became overwhelming when they started expecting me to pull others load.

    Advice to Management

    If everyone did their part, and was held accountable for it, production would increase and work/life balance would be experienced by everyone.

    Tuff Shed Response

    Aug 30, 2017 – Director, Talent Acquisition & Management Development

    Thanks for your review - employee feedback is important to Tuff Shed and we have shared your comments with the local, regional, and production management teams. We manufacture custom products and ask... More


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Roof and Floors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Roof and Floors/Aiming for A V Yr Contract in Tukwila, WA
    Current Employee - Roof and Floors/Aiming for A V Yr Contract in Tukwila, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tuff Shed full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    This is a "MANS"! job. Its wonderful that the Bosses and staff encourage us devoted workers to realize what has to be done in an INDUSTRIAL environment. I'm proud to be an employee and proud to be classified as a "working class" Afro American. Thanks guys & gals.

    Cons

    Temp Services guys don't pull their weight cause they refuse to "GROW-UP" and accept "working for a living".

    Advice to Management

    Tell the temp dudes to go watch WARREN so they will get what working hard and loving it really means.

    Tuff Shed Response

    Aug 9, 2017 – Director, Talent Acquisition & Management Development

    Thanks for your review - we're glad to see that you're happy working for Tuff Shed. We've forwarded your comments with the management team - and encourage you to continue sharing your recommendations... More

  8. Helpful (4)

    "Sales Design Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SDC in Los Angeles, CA
    Former Employee - SDC in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Tuff Shed full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    You are responsible for your actions

    Cons

    You are responsible for all aspects of sales transaction including customer service and post sale interactions. Huge disconnect from Corporate office and local branches. Micro-management from corporate office over reaching local General managers and Regional Sales Managers(so what good does it do to talk with GM and Regional Sales Managers?)

    Advice to Management

    Develope local customer service department that cares for customers freeing sales people to sell rather than putting out fires started by internal communication breakdowns.

    Tuff Shed Response

    Aug 9, 2017 – Director, Talent Acquisition & Management Development

    Thanks for your review; your comments have shared with the regional and sales management teams. We appreciate your feedback and recommendations.


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Beware working Retail Sales position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design Consultant in San Antonio, TX
    Current Employee - Design Consultant in San Antonio, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tuff Shed full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    In certain locations you can make a decent living. Growing company with possible advancement if you are willing to relocate.

    Cons

    Most locations are over staffed. Too many sales people and not enough sales. I've been with the company four years and not satisfied.

    Tuff Shed Response

    Jul 31, 2017 – Director, Talent Acquisition & Management Development

    Thanks for your review; employee feedback is important to us.

    Tuff Shed has invested heavily in our sales tools and processes; we’re committed to building and developing a successful sales team... More


  10. "Good company with good people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Design Consultant in Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Sales Design Consultant in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tuff Shed full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Professional environment, supervisors care about your success at all levels and give you the tools to do your job. I worked in the Houston Market and leadership was engaged and supportive.

    Cons

    None. I left the company to take a significantly financial offer and for that reason only.

    Advice to Management

    Keep engagement high with new employees and keep driving for success!

    Tuff Shed Response

    Jul 10, 2017 – Director, Talent Acquisition & Management Development

    Thanks for your review; we've passed your comments to the regional management team.


Showing 94 of 97 reviews
Reset Filters