Tufts Health Plan Reviews

Updated Jul 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
76%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Tufts Health Plan President and CEO Thomas Croswell (no image)
Thomas Croswell
92 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work life balance with most people leaving by 5pm(in 35 reviews)

  • "Great leadership, great benefits, would not have left if I didn’t move out of Massachusetts(in 28 reviews)

Cons
  • "Call center can be very busy, no 15 minute break, only 1 hour lunch(in 13 reviews)

  • "It can be hard to get to Watertown during rush hour, but traffic is part of most jobs(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Watertown, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tufts Health Plan part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Senior management very communicative. Professional environment. Good work life balance with most people leaving by 5pm

    Cons

    Difficult commute to Watertown but often can work remotely

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Account associate"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Associate in Watertown, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tufts Health Plan

    Pros

    Awesome culture, opportunities for career growth, and benefits, leadership is invested in being open and accessible to employees, ability to work remotely whenever I want to.

    Cons

    Sometimes the bureaucracy can be a real pain.

    Continue reading

    Tufts Health Plan Response

    March 2, 2020Human Resources

    Thank you for this great review. We're so glad to hear that you feel valued as part of our team. Keep up the good work!


  3. "Good health insurance company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Watertown, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tufts Health Plan full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Senior leadership is approachable, open to conversations and feedback and clear about future goals.

    Cons

    Certain departments can be hard to move up in and hard to initiate new/better processes. There are also many people who stay a long time, for good reason, but it can be easy to grow comfortable and have complacent processes.

    Tufts Health Plan Response

    July 15, 2020Human Resources

    We appreciate this review and are glad to hear you enjoy the openness of our senior leaders. We will take what you’ve said on board. Keep up the good work!

  4. "Good place with nice people"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member Service Representative in Watertown, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tufts Health Plan full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Makes you feel like you’re a part of a real team. Supervisors always help when you need it.

    Cons

    Call center can be very busy, no 15 minute break, only 1 hour lunch.

  5. "Great company with excellent benefits"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN Case Manager in Watertown, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tufts Health Plan full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent benefits. Competitive salary. Great company culture. Remote work.

    Cons

    Constant implementation of new programs and projects with little communication with staff about the progress and outcomes. Poor middle management - or possibly poor training of middle management. Lack of flexibility and thinking outside of the box within the department.

    Continue reading

    Tufts Health Plan Response

    June 30, 2020Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We’re glad to hear you appreciate the benefits that we provide. If you would like to discuss some of the concerns you expressed further, we would be happy to do so.

  6. "Best Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Complex Claims Processor in Watertown, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tufts Health Plan full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Awesome place to work. Benefits are awesome and the employees are phenomenal

    Cons

    There are no cons I have been 19 years and I love it just as much now as I did on 1/2/2001

  7. Helpful (2)

    "Good People, Deficient Interdepartmental Communication"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Provider Group Manager in Watertown, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tufts Health Plan full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The majority of employees are nice and willing to work hard, but there are some serious duds that slow things down. Having an on-site full gym with showers was also a huge perk.

    Cons

    Fluffed up job descriptions, pay lower than you could make elsewhere, a lot of red-tape to cut through in order to implement change, departments seem to operate with no clue as to what other departments are doing.

    Tufts Health Plan Response

    May 29, 2020Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We're glad to hear that you appreciated our WorkingWell Center. Please let us know if you would like to discuss your concerns further.

  8. "Claims Dept"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Liability Claims Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tufts Health Plan full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    WFH benefit and flexible schedule

    Cons

    Not much room to grow

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Not inclusive"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tufts Health Plan full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work-life balance and benefits

    Cons

    Very few opportunities for growth for people of color, especially African Americans.

    Tufts Health Plan Response

    March 3, 2020Human Resources

    Diversity is very important to us, and something we are always working to improve in our organization. If you would be willing to speak about your experience we would be eager to do so.

  10. Helpful (5)

    "On the surface, it’s a great company. Lots of offerings and the concept is great, execution not so great."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tufts Health Plan

    Pros

    Decent benefits, lower health care, some perks. Overall it’s decent as a company.

    Cons

    Earned time - should not include holidays, especially when it covers vacation AND sick time. Most companies have a more robust time off plan. IT dept - most women are treated as not as intelligent as their male peers, even by other women. The female managers tend to be micro managers with no trust in their team. The male managers treat females as if they are not as intelligent. Most roles can be done solely from home yet micro managers force people to come to the office every day. IT overall isn’t very effective. They are way behind other companies with technology. It’s actually kind of sad. The company seems stuck in 1992. It’s a very clique based company. People who have been there a long time think newcomers are not as intelligent.

    Continue reading

    Tufts Health Plan Response

    February 3, 2020Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback. We take reviews like this very seriously, so if you would be willing to talk further about your experience and concerns, we would be eager to speak with you.

Found 261 reviews