Tufts Medical Center Reviews

Updated May 10, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
56%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Tufts Medical Center Interim President and CEO Dr. Michael Tarnoff
Dr. Michael Tarnoff
13 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people in all departments(in 14 reviews)

  • "Great place to work with great preceptors and amazing staff(in 13 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management is not as reliable to talk specifically too(in 9 reviews)

  • "Low pay with few benefits relative to other programs(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Gender

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Tufts Medical Center and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      PA Review

      May 10, 2021 - Physician Assistant in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent place to work, small community based hospital

      Cons

      The Opportunity for CME credit

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Great people doing great work. Lots of innovation coming up from the employees and being supported by management

      May 3, 2021 - Communications Specialist in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Managers are supportive of new ideas. TMC is small enough to move fast of ideas. My job was fulfilling

      Cons

      Pay is not is great as other places. Also titles are not on parr with other AMCs.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Unit/Department will determine your daily work life!

      May 1, 2021 - Registered Nurse in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Teaching Hospital opportunity to maximize skills and supports in place for ongoing teaching. Upper Management attempts to listen and make changes Many hardworking, intelligent and compassionate colleagues who provide excellent care. Good Benefits

      Cons

      Bullying by a few Supervisors and Staff causing staff to leave especially new staff or cause others to feel isolated and unsupported by this culture. Cliques and negativity in some departments can make it difficult to work especially if too much control when disparaging colleagues. Despite frequent turnover no Preceptor pay. Current Disability Insurance Lincoln increased harassment, denial or delays in payment of staff out sick from and during Covid. Lower pay scale vs other Boston Hospitals. No Pension only some staff grandfathered who worked more than 20 + yrs near or about to retire.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Company

      May 4, 2021 - Certified Pharmacy Technician in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great management, empathetic care. Patient and great customer service. Resourceful and close to public transportation. Great benefits and culture, diversity, inclusion.

      Cons

      Salary is alittle lower than average.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good place to start

      Apr 29, 2021 - Practice Coordinator in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to start off your career in the healthcare field

      Cons

      Parkinng is expensive and hard to find.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Tufts Medical Center Response

      Talent Community Manager

      We appreciate you leaving a review. We take pride in our values and company culture and are happy to hear your experience with us is has been positive. We understand the costs of commuting and parking in Boston may be prohibitive for some employees. That’s why we are pleased to offer commuter benefits and parking discounts for current employees. Thank you for your contribution to Tufts MC.

    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Excellent Healthcare Providers, Terrible Management/Staff

      Mar 9, 2021 - Medical Assistant in Melrose, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Competitive salary, though you probably won't get raises because the boss doesn't want to write reviews -Providers are amazing, talented, typically friendly people, you'll learn a lot from them if you care to -Location is easy to get to

      Cons

      -Awful management, they'll hire anyone, even without any healthcare experience -Inappropriate favoritism of some employees (they are their friends, not their boss,), biased attitudes, occasionally racist staff and management -You are discouraged from having your own ideas and thoughts about making procedures better for patients/staff; everything must be by policy, which seems to change every few weeks -HR will not help you solve issues, they simply want them to go away -Rude to patients, often talk behind their back within earshot of patient -Staff does not adhere to reasonable dress code -Management evaluations are clicked through randomly, or done by word of mouth -Rules only apply to some staff, others can go on a 2-3 hour coffee run and not get reprimanded for making their patients wait or someone else take care of them -Management is only professional when higher-ups are present

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      It's not the worst place to work

      Apr 25, 2021 - Certified Pharmacy Technician in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's easy to commute and the evening/night/weekend differential is nice if your shifts happen to be in those times.

      Cons

      If you are hardworking and responsible, you will be punished instead of praised. The more you do, the more they will push on you; the lazier and chattier you are, the easier it is to get away with not doing the job!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Tufts Medical Center Response

      Talent Community Manager

      Thank you for your review. We send out annual employee surveys and encourage periodic 1:1 touchpoints with supervisors to allow employees to express their concerns. At Tufts Medical Center, it is our goal to always improve the employee experience and to make sure that every employee feels supported. We appreciate your honest feedback and will bring your thoughts to our leadership team.

    8. 4.0
      Current Employee

      job review

      Apr 26, 2021 - Anesthesia Technician 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everyone is extremely nice and supportive

      Cons

      Considered an entry level job

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Tufts Medical Center Response

      Talent Community Manager

      Thank you for sharing your experience as a team member. We're glad to hear that you enjoy working with team members throughout the organization. We value your time and commitment to our mission.

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      RA

      Apr 26, 2021 - Research Assistant in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people and good benefits

      Cons

      Tough to navigate management structure

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Tufts Medical Center Response

      Talent Community Manager

      Thank you for your positive review. At Tufts Medical Center, we are proud to offer a comprehensive benefits package to support work-life balance for our employees. We listen to feedback and ideas from employees at all levels and use reviews like these to address improvements. We appreciate your hard work and dedication to our patients.

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      I accept employment with challiance

      Apr 12, 2021 - Administrative Assistant in Somerville, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place for residence to work

      Cons

      People who are unemployed are not being able to return at this time

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 347 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Tufts Medical Center Job Seekers

    Professional Registered Nurse
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Clinical Research Coordinator
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Tufts Medical Center? Share Your Experiences

    or