Cover image for Tufts Medical Center
Logo

Tufts Medical Center

Engaged Employer

Tufts Medical Center

Add a Review

Tufts Medical Center Reviews

Updated Nov 29, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 526 of over 580 reviews
3.6
57% Recommend to a Friend
Tufts Medical Center President and CEO Dr. Michael Tarnoff
68% Approve of CEO

Found 526 of over 580 reviews

3.6
57%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Tufts Medical Center President and CEO Dr. Michael Tarnoff
Dr. Michael Tarnoff
68 Ratings

The latest conversations about Healthcare

Join the conversation on

Healthcare

82K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/medicine-2/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Tufts Medical Center~260737
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Tufts Medical Center and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Administraive Coordinator 2

    Nov 11, 2022 - Administraive Coordinator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great Place to work and learn.

    Cons

    Salary compensation not high enough

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Tufts Medical Center Response

    Thank you for your review. We are always listening to and learning from employee feedback. Many factors go into assessing pay and benefits for our employees and we continue to take honest feedback such as yours into consideration.

  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Not the best

    Nov 23, 2022 - Fellowship Coordinator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Location - Heart of Boston They don't micromanage If you can do your second or third added job well, they just might give it to you with a pay raise...as long as you keep doing all two or three jobs at once.

    Cons

    Understaffed and overworked. Always want you to take on more and more outside your role. 2-3+ FTE. No merit based pay, no pension match for a year, parking is not free. They don't really have any money to pay people competitively, either. Turnover rate is sky-high… 10 ish people in under a year. Culture isn't great and morale is pretty low. People cut side deals for own hours or WFH, not really equal. Lastly, there is very little training on anything.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Tufts Medical Center Response

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It is important that every employee feels supported. We appreciate your honest feedback and will bring your thoughts to our leadership team.

  3. Join the Tufts Medical Center team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Amazing Nursing Supervisor

    Nov 22, 2022 - Unit Coordinator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I worked for Tufts shortly but my manager Laura was the absolute sweetest, most understanding person! She's so logical and I can't picture anyone else running the program! Its a great learning opportunity if you get a chance to work there

    Cons

    Very low pay and unwilling to compromise

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Tufts Medical Center Response

    Thank you for sharing your feedback! We appreciate your hard work and dedication to our patients. At Tufts Medical Center, we regularly review our total benefits packages to ensure we are competitive. However, please know that the concerns you have expressed have been heard. We appreciate your honest feedback and will bring your thoughts to our leadership team.

  5. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Great environment

    Nov 29, 2022 - Clinical Care Technician in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Awesome environment, everyone is helpful

    Cons

    Pay can be a bit lower than surrounding hospitals

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Tufts Medical Center Response

    Thank you for sharing your feedback! We appreciate your hard work and dedication to our patients. We are always listening to and learning from employee feedback. Many factors go into assessing pay and benefits for our employees and we continue to take honest feedback such as yours into consideration.

  6. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Good experience

    Nov 16, 2022 - Coordinator in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Health benefits good Good location

    Cons

    Poor management for the company, not even employees for coverage

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Tufts Medical Center Response

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. As we continue to grow as an organization. We’re working hard to ensure we gain insights into work issues and solutions within the organization.

  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Pediatric Neurology Nurse Practitioner

    Nov 10, 2022 - Pediatric Neurology Nurse Practitioner in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Many benefits included, Pay for CMEs, Time off for CMEs and good vacation time

    Cons

    Rebuilding Clinical team so unknowns

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Tufts Medical Center Response

    At Tufts Medical Center, we are proud to offer a comprehensive benefits package to support work-life balance for our employees. We are pleased to hear you are taking advantage of this! Thank you for your contribution to Tufts MC.

  8. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Tufts med tech

    Nov 10, 2022 - Medical Technologist in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great place to work honestly

    Cons

    Tufts has expensive parking so that can add up.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Tufts Medical Center Response

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. At Tufts MC, we are committed to creating a work environment where our employees can thrive. We also understand the costs of commuting and parking in Boston may be prohibitive for some employees. That’s why we are pleased to offer commuter benefits and parking discounts for current employees. Thank you for your contribution to Tufts MC.

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Great place to work

    Nov 6, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The camradery and teamwork makes it a great place to work

    Cons

    The parking is far from the hospital and very expensive

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Tufts Medical Center Response

    Thank you for sharing your positive experience! We're glad that you enjoyed working with team members throughout the organization. We also understand the costs of commuting and parking in Boston may be prohibitive for some employees. That’s why we are pleased to offer commuter benefits and parking discounts for current employees. Thank you for your contribution to Tufts MC.

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great leadership in Bianca Cardona. Great physicians. Great residents and medical students.

    Oct 26, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots to learn, numerous learning opportunities, kind people, good pay, helpful team/staff

    Cons

    May be too fast pace for some, not much room for growth, difficult to socialize while at work (making friends can be hard)

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Tufts Medical Center Response

    Thank you for your feedback. Our focus is to provide a great experience for all employees at Tufts Medical Center. We encourage employees to share continual feedback with their direct leaders. Our management team has an open-door policy so employees can feel free to connect whenever needed.

  11. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    So-so for non-clinical; red carpet for RNs

    Aug 24, 2022 - Administrative Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working here is fine for a paycheck, but honestly, do NOT expect to launch a career here. This is a starter school, not a reach. Understand that working at Tufts is very much a labor contract and nothing more.

    Cons

    They don’t promote from within, ever. Disclaimer: I never applied for a management position, myself, so I’m not saying this as some spurned candidate. Tufts simply does not seem interested in employee career growth. There’s /always/ an outside candidate more qualified than the staff they themselves have trained.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Tufts Medical Center Response

    Talent Community Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We’ve shared your feedback with our senior leadership team.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 526 Reviews
</>Embed

Tufts Medical Center Reviews FAQs

Tufts Medical Center has an overall rating of 3.6 out of 5, based on over 580 reviews left anonymously by employees. 57% of employees would recommend working at Tufts Medical Center to a friend and 45% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -1% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Tufts Medical Center employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.2 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Tufts Medical Center. This rating has decreased by -5% over the last 12 months.

57% of Tufts Medical Center employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Tufts Medical Center 3.2 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.5 for culture and values and 3.3 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Tufts Medical Center to be career development, benefits, coworkers and the cons to be senior leadership, culture, management.

Popular Careers with Tufts Medical Center Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Tufts Medical Center? Share Your Experiences

Tufts Medical Center logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Tufts Medical Center Photos

+ Add Photo
Tufts Medical Center photo of: Tufts Runners
Tufts Medical Center photo of: Tufts Medical Center
Tufts Medical Center photo of: Tufts Medical Center Operating Room
Tufts Medical Center photo of: Tufts Medical Center Neuroscience
Tufts Medical Center photo of: Cardiovascular Center
Tufts Medical Center photo of: Tufts Medical Center Ophthalmology
Tufts Medical Center photo of: Tufts Medical Center Emergency Department
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

Lowell General HospitalMedford Surgery Center, LLCHome Health Foundation

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Tufts Medical Center Job Seekers Also Viewed

Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center Logo
Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

3.9

1,176 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 580 Tufts Medical Center reviews submitted anonymously by Tufts Medical Center employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Tufts Medical Center is right for you.