Tufts University School of Medicine Reviews | Glassdoor

Tufts University School of Medicine Reviews

Updated Jun 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 40 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Harris Berman, MD
12 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Research Technician in Boston, MA

      I worked at Tufts University School of Medicine full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Flexible hours, great people to work with.

      Cons

      Lots of weekend trips to work.

      Tufts University School of Medicine2019-06-21
    • "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Program Coordinator in Boston, MA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Tufts University School of Medicine full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      - Small and friendly team - Independent work

      Cons

      -Not much room to grow, if you want to further your career, you have to get another job

      Tufts University School of Medicine2019-06-12
    • "Patient registration II"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Patient Registration in Boston, MA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Tufts University School of Medicine full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Vacation and sick time 9-5 job

      Cons

      No room for growth

      Tufts University School of Medicine2019-04-28
    • "Great Place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Student Services 
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Tufts University School of Medicine full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Very professional environment to work in.

      Cons

      Some offices are very siloed.

      Tufts University School of Medicine2019-04-01
    • "Faculty Affairs"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends

      I have been working at Tufts University School of Medicine

      Pros

      Flexible, laid back, good atmosphere

      Cons

      Can be a bit frustrating because of inefficiency

      Tufts University School of Medicine2018-10-25
    • "Reasonable Univeristy"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Assistant Professor in Boston, MA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I have been working at Tufts University School of Medicine full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      There are some great resources for faculty teaching and a number of internal funding mechanisms to promote research. The commitment to community is laudable.

      Cons

      The support services have been centralized and getting computer help and submitting for reimbursements and grants spending can be very annoying process. The place can feel a little penny-wise and pound foolish. It seems like we are tasked with thinking about innovative ways to expand our programs, but then the institution can be stingy with support for that.

      Tufts University School of Medicine2018-06-04
    • "Good Place to Learn"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Manager 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Tufts University School of Medicine full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Great opportunities to learn and grow if you take initiatives and talk to people

      Cons

      Hours could be very long at times

      Advice to Management

      Need to have more conversations about work/life balance

      Tufts University School of Medicine2017-12-22
    • "Research Assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Tufts University School of Medicine full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      learning environment, flexible hours, good work/life balance

      Cons

      compensation is minimal, health benefits declined after implementation of Obamacare

      Tufts University School of Medicine2017-12-01
    • "Good Place to Learn"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Research Study Coordinator in Boston, MA
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Tufts University School of Medicine full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Collaborative and supportive research environment. Great access to student research assistants.

      Cons

      Little/no professional development for staff. Difficult research environment. Little access to medical campus amenities.

      Advice to Management

      More professional development!

      Tufts University School of Medicine2017-10-17
    • "Not Affordable"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Tufts University School of Medicine full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I found the environment to be supportive. TUSM likes to hire from within, but you really have to "do your time ", and then wait for a position to be open.

      Cons

      I spent over 50% of my take home pay on rent. The health insurance has great coverage, but is twice as expensive as my previous employer. The support staff's salary is not appropriate for Boston's cost of living. I couldn't afford to work there anymore.

      Advice to Management

      Bring pay standards closer to Boston's cost of living.

      Tufts University School of Medicine2017-09-20
    Found 40 reviews