Tulane University Postdoctoral Fellow Reviews | Glassdoor

Tulane University Postdoctoral Fellow Reviews

Updated Dec 8, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

4.8
97%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Tulane University President Michael Fitts (no image)
Michael Fitts
1 Rating
  1. "Great Place to Work as a Postdoctoral Fellow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tulane University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Complete independence for research. Good research support. Great peers to work with. Very nice colleagues and great social life all around.

    Cons

    Nothing that I have experienced.

    Tulane University2018-12-09
  2. "Postdoc jobs in Tulane"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Tulane University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very friendly stuff, have a lot fun and good campuse

    Cons

    Some of supervisers are so hard to work

    Tulane University2017-02-09
  3. "All the pros and cons of working and living in the Big Easy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends

    I have been working at Tulane University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Casual work environment plenty of holiday time off laid back atmosphere great connections with colleagues

    Cons

    Administrative inefficiency nepotism overall lack of drive

    Continue reading
    Tulane University2017-02-07
  4. "tulane university"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow in Metairie, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Tulane University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    small group but not much room to grow

    Cons

    lot of crime in campus and off campus

    Tulane University2015-10-08
  5. "Horrible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow in New Orleans, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Tulane University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    payment is really bad. Ito me they are racist. my boss ask just foreign people to work 80h per week. specially the foreign girls and all the American at work leave at 4pm or they don't come to work. It is ok with him . If someone complain he will fire them. not a good place for international

    Cons

    payment is bad, they are racist. don't apply for this place

    Continue reading
    Tulane University2015-06-04
  6. "Horrifying working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Postdoctoral Fellow in New Orleans, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Tulane University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Staff in Department of Epidemiology and School of Public Health are usually nice to me

    Cons

    No life/working balance if you are working there. The mentor stayed 10 h / 7d every week and ridiculously FORCED me to stay here that long, too. That is crazy! Genetic and epigenetic lab work exhausted me much but the mentor still demands more. She would like me to be a genetic statistician as well. I felt it is too intense to me and left the pot immediately.

    Continue reading
    Tulane University2014-05-04
  7. "Good research environment for medical school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Postdoctoral Research Fellow 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Tulane University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good benefits for faculty and staff, highly collaborative research

    Cons

    difficult to advance in some fields, dissociation between management and researchers which can diminish productivity

    Continue reading
    Tulane University2013-11-01
  8. "postdoc"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Postdoctoral Research Fellow in New Orleans, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tulane University

    Pros

    Good students, good colleagues, prestige and optimism for the future. Fair salary and benefits. Flexibility and independence as a researcher. Some support for conference travel.

    Cons

    New Orleans is not a great place to live. The city as a whole is recovering very slowly from the hurricane and it still has a lot of crime.

    Continue reading
    Tulane University2010-09-05

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 8 reviews