Tulane University Program Coordinator Reviews | Glassdoor

Tulane University Program Coordinator Reviews

Updated Nov 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Tulane University President Michael Fitts (no image)
Michael Fitts
1 Rating
  1. "Your experience may vary, but mine has been wonderful."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Program Coordinator in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Tulane University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Convenient location, beautiful campus, many resources and restaurants within walking distance. My coworkers and department are lovely, and I feel like a valued member of the staff. Great benefits, including paid parental leave and tuition waiver for yourself and dependents. Generally pleasant culture. Opportunity for lateral moves among different departments once you're here.

    Cons

    The parking situation is atrocious. I work at the front of campus, so I park in Cowen Circle. I have to pay hundreds of dollars (through pay deduction) for my parking pass. However, it's more like a "hunting permit." You have the pass, but you aren't actually guaranteed to find a spot, especially if you're looking around the front of campus. Spots in Cowen are often reserved with cones for "special events," and I have actually been called by parking services to move my vehicle, as they claimed there was a cone there but there wasn't. You either pay hundreds to MAYBE find a spot to park, or you don't pay and you have to walk miles to get to your office. I have also heard that some departments at Tulane do not pay a living wage, or do not pay what employees deserve. I have heard of racial discrimination as well. These are not my own experiences, but I recognize that others have experienced this. As I said, your experience really varies depending on where you work.

    Continue reading
    Tulane University2019-11-07
  2. "Not bad for NOLA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Program Coordinator 

    I worked at Tulane University full-time

    Pros

    Tuition waiver and relaxed vibe

    Cons

    Low pay Tons of red tape Disorganized from top to bottom No maternity pay

    Tulane University2019-10-10
  3. "Decent Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Coordinator 

    I have been working at Tulane University part-time

    Pros

    Tulane has Good benefits and Decent Pay

    Cons

    There is a fair amount of bureaucracy

    Tulane University2019-08-16
  4. "Limited Growth Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Program Coordinator in New Orleans, LA

    I have been working at Tulane University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits, good company reputation

    Cons

    Low salary, limited upward mobility,

    Tulane University2019-02-13
  5. "Senior Program Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Program Coordinator 

    I worked at Tulane University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    holidays (Christmas to New Years off), beautiful campus, good leadership (depending on department)

    Cons

    hard to move up without multiple degrees, pretentious

    Tulane University2018-03-19
  6. "Friendly Co-workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Coordinator in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tulane University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff is friendly and diverse. Mid-level staff is dedicated to school, program and student improvement.

    Cons

    Have to deal with university red tape to improve programs. Tight on money.

    Continue reading
    Tulane University2017-04-17
  7. "Program Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Program Coordinator in New Orleans, LA

    I worked at Tulane University

    Pros

    Safe environment considering the New Orleans crime rate.

    Cons

    Minimum salary even with years of experience and degree.

    Tulane University2016-11-23
  8. "Supportive Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Program Coordinator in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Tulane University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Collegues are happy to assist and troubleshoot when one is experiencing difficulties. Supportive and encouraging, the Department heads really allow for professional growth.

    Cons

    One person can make the experience here topple. Those mired in competition wil take your material without credit, intimidate, verbally abuse, and try to isolate your efforts and diminish autonomy.

    Continue reading
    Tulane University2015-10-29
  9. "Influential Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Program Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tulane University

    Pros

    Benefits, ability to move within schools of the university, free tuition

    Cons

    take home pay and some disorganized moments

    Continue reading
    Tulane University2015-02-17
  10. "My experience at Tulane was invaluable!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Program Coordinator in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tulane University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The best thing about working for T The tuition waiver covers 6 hours per semester if you take classes and this is for both for employees and children. The other great thing is the Winter Break which is where the University closes for the Christmas and New Year break and even the staff gets off with pay

    Cons

    Many of the department heads have no one to report to on a daily basis, except on paper. How are they to be held accountable if the department head never even meets the staff people that they work with. Who does that???

    Continue reading
    Tulane University2013-09-11

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 10 reviews