Tulane University Teaching Assistant Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Teaching Assistant

Tulane University Teaching Assistant Reviews

Updated Nov 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
98%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Tulane University President Michael Fitts (no image)
Michael Fitts
2 Ratings
  1. "Teaching Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teaching Assistant in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tulane University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Tulane is a great university where I have had the unique opportunity to cultivate my knowledge of the field of energy.

    Cons

    It's quite hot in New Orleans, so on the average summer day I tend to have to bring two or three changes of clothes in my school bag to prevent excessive pit stains.

    Continue reading
    Tulane University2018-05-04
  2. "Very good experience, nice to work with professors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Tulane University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible hours and schedules, people are great

    Cons

    Can sometimes be boring work

    Continue reading
    Tulane University2019-11-27
  3. "Good school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Teaching Assistant 

    I have been working at Tulane University part-time

    Pros

    I love my adviser and anyone I work with is passionate about the material

    Cons

    As a teaching assistant you do the tedious tasks

    Tulane University2019-04-09
  4. "Very fun and meaningful job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tulane University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good faculty and environment. Can learn valuable things

    Cons

    I do not have bad experience here

    Tulane University2017-11-05
  5. "Teaching Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teaching Assistant in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Tulane University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you are proactive, and seek out a professor that you'd like to assist, it's fairly easy to get the job. There's very little prerequisite, not too much competition, they are located in the same building as MPH students take classes, and the pay is handy for a graduate student.

    Cons

    The pay is not amazing, sometimes you'll have to work when you need to study. Honestly there's not many down sides to TAing. It's a great gig.

    Tulane University2017-10-19
  6. "Graduate Student Experience at Dept. of Earth and Environmental Sciences"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant in New Orleans, LA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Tulane University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Brilliant department only if you are interested in sedimentary geology related to the Mississippi delta and river. Certain faculty members are very insightful, helpful and knowledgeable. Small size of department warrants in-depth interaction. Facilities and laboratories are limited but where available are well maintained.

    Cons

    Very niche expertise overall, only projects related to Mississippi delta system. Some professors are difficult to deal with and they tend to get influenced by views other people have about a student. Small department size limit multi-geoscience interactions. Paperwork with office and the school is a tiresome job and the office-folks (finance, etc) tend to drop the ball now and then, for e.g. paycheck, reimbursement.

    Continue reading
    Tulane University2017-03-01
  7. "Graduate School in Math"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Graduate Student Teaching Assistant in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends

    I worked at Tulane University

    Pros

    * Available actual teaching opportunities. * A great academic experience * Fair payment to afford living in New Orleans. * Friendly environment in Mathematics Department.

    Cons

    * The duties and duties were standard and as expected for a teaching assistant job for a graduate student, so I can not think of any cons.

    Tulane University2016-08-08
  8. "Teaching assistant at the school of architecture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teaching Assistant in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tulane University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Challenging and rewarding opportunities to contribute to design education. Lots of one on one interaction with professors and many chances to help direct the education.

    Cons

    Requires a high level of public speaking and individual agency to work effectively- it can be intimidating to contribute at the high level that is expected. Poor pay, but great experience.

    Tulane University2016-07-23
  9. "Good Experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teaching Assistant in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Tulane University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great supervisor and good working environment!

    Cons

    Everything is great except for imperfect payroll system!

    Tulane University2016-07-06
  10. "Graduate Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Teaching/Research Assistant in New Orleans, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tulane University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting place to live and do research. One of the few primate facilities left in the United States.

    Cons

    Office support was slow and often useless.

    Tulane University2015-09-02

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 11 reviews