Tulane University "new orleans" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Tulane University Employee Reviews about "new orleans"

Updated Oct 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
79%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Tulane University President Michael Fitts (no image)
Michael Fitts
89 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "new orleans area has higher crime rates(in 22 reviews)

  • "Low pay, could make much more private tutoring(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "new orleans"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Work in Tulane Chemistry Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Assistant 

    I have been working at Tulane University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work-life balance

    Cons

    Job opportunities are rare in New Orleans

    Tulane University2019-08-23
  2. "Too little for high cost of living"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Research Assistant in New Orleans, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tulane University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    University has lots of holidays and you have a flexible schedule.

    Cons

    New Orleans has a high cost of living and the salary isn't enough to cover it

    Advice to Management

    Pay more!

    Tulane University2019-10-19
  3. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Visiting Assistant Professor in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tulane University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good culture, top university, smart people and students

    Cons

    new orleans area has higher crime rates

    Tulane University2019-03-24
  4. "Not for me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in New Orleans, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tulane University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's located in New Orleans

    Cons

    Low salary, no employee engagement, unorganized institution

    Tulane University2019-03-25
  5. "Great opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Contractor - Research Associate in Portland, ME

    I worked at Tulane University for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun place to work, lots of interesting projects to work on. Nice location in downtown New Orleans.

    Cons

    Positions can be competative depending on which department you are working in. Same goes for funding.

    Tulane University2019-02-04
  6. "Benefits good except salary low"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Tulane University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work with great people

    Cons

    Salary is very low overall for the New Orleans area

    Advice to Management

    Merit-based pay increases go a long way to retain employees

    Tulane University2019-02-16
  7. "Teaching Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teaching Assistant in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tulane University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Tulane is a great university where I have had the unique opportunity to cultivate my knowledge of the field of energy.

    Cons

    It's quite hot in New Orleans, so on the average summer day I tend to have to bring two or three changes of clothes in my school bag to prevent excessive pit stains.

    Advice to Management

    I think that management should continue to do what they are doing. My only advice would be to address the humid weather and maybe give Mother Nature some sort of ultimatum letting her know she needs to cut it out.

    Tulane University2018-05-04
  8. "Rec Educator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Tulane University

    Pros

    It is in New Orleans. They have a very unique commencement experience as a result of area culture.

    Cons

    HR is incompetent. A lot of immoral if not illegal activity occurring in departments as a result. Lacks diversity across the board.

    Tulane University2018-05-13
  9. "Research assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Tulane University full-time

    Pros

    Competitive environment in big easy Great team and coworkers In a city with warm weather Multi cultural work environment

    Cons

    Location is away from big cities. Traditionally New Orleans is not a place with many data science and deep learning job positions

    Tulane University2017-11-20
  10. "Lab Manager/Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Research Lab Manager in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tulane University

    Pros

    great uptown facilities, with easy access to campus utilities. Student employment is strait forward and a great way to get to know professors in your department

    Cons

    New Orleans is very hot..

    Advice to Management

    keep on expanding!

    Tulane University2017-10-16
Found 48 reviews