Tulane University "new orleans" Reviews | Glassdoor

Tulane University Reviews

Updated Oct 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
80%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Tulane University President Michael Fitts (no image)
Michael Fitts
90 Ratings
  1. "Research assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Research Assistant in New Orleans, LA

    I have been working at Tulane University

    Pros

    Good environment; Friendly colleagues; Many opportunities to be involved in school activities.

    Cons

    Not pretty much about Tulane itself, but it's not very safe in New Orleans. The scenery is very beautiful though.

    Tulane University2016-04-22
  2. "Great place to work and live"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Tulane University full-time

    Pros

    Top academic institution and a growing athletic department. Set in a wonderful city. Easy to recruit in this city and to this university.

    Cons

    Living in New Orleans is not for everyone with the crime being high and the education system of the entire city having weight only in the private schools.

    Continue reading
    Tulane University2016-03-08
  3. "Student Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Louisiana in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Tulane University

    Pros

    Great people to work with, exciting environment, great location (New Orleans of course is fabulous and the campus is beautiful).

    Cons

    Departments do not cooperate well at all, anything that involves 2 or more will take four times as long as necessary.

    Tulane University2016-02-28
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Linux System Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Linux Systems Administrator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Tulane University

    Pros

    Work Life Balance, Central Location in New Orleans, Large Budget For Technology

    Cons

    Lack of investment in human capital: low salary, routine cuts to benefits, layoffs correspond with more responsibilities for existing staff

    Continue reading
    Tulane University2016-02-29
  5. "Good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Tulane University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Locating in a good place (New Orleans). A small but beautiful university. Very good weather.

    Cons

    University is small so many departments are also small.

    Tulane University2016-01-08
  6. "Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Tulane University

    Pros

    It is a good place to stay. There are lots of festivals in New Orleans. The shuttle of university makes your life much easier.

    Cons

    Safety is always a big problem. Sale tax is 9% which is higher than other state. There are not enough parking spaces at Downtown campus.

    Tulane University2015-10-02
  7. "Graduate Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Graduate Research Assistant in New Orleans, LA

    I worked at Tulane University for less than a year

    Pros

    The hours are flexible allowing me to work around my class schedule. The work helped to build upon what I learned in my classes and prepare me for my career after earning my degree.

    Cons

    The pay is not sufficient to sustain a comfortable lifestyle in New Orleans, especially since you can only work a maximum of 20 hours per week while you are a student.

    Continue reading
    Tulane University2015-07-07
  8. "Enjoyable grad school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Student in New Orleans, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Tulane University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Beautiful campus, good area/environment in New Orleans. Everyone has a positive attitude.

    Cons

    Bureaucracy sometimes gets in the way of real work.

    Tulane University2015-07-01
  9. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Tulane University

    Pros

    It was really good I like it so much I would definitely work there again

    Cons

    Sometimes it can get really hot in new orleans and it makes you want to go somewhere else

    Continue reading
    Tulane University2015-05-13
  10. "It depends..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New Orleans, LA

    I have been working at Tulane University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great researchers to learn from/collaborate with and friendly people in my department. There are more & more opportunities for professional development as well. Cultural opportunities are fabulous in New Orleans of course!

    Cons

    Expectations for graduate students were inconsistent when I began there. TA stipends haven't increased in the past 7 years (maybe more) and benefits are limited. There is virtually no support for statistical analysis help. Some teaching and research positions take advantage of graduate students.

    Continue reading
    Tulane University2015-04-29

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 48 reviews