Tulsa Public Schools Reviews | Glassdoor

Tulsa Public Schools Reviews

Updated Jun 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 80 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
33%
Recommend to a Friend
42%
Approve of CEO
Dr Michael Zolkoski
23 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay, long hours, and overall bad and unappreciative treatment of employees(in 5 reviews)

  • "Overloaded classrooms, due to budget cuts(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "In-school suspension behavior modification program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in West Sacramento, CA

      I have been working at Tulsa Public Schools full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      For almost thirteen years, I have worked as a biology, physical science, environmental science and now, an in-school suspension behavior modification program teacher at the same school. During this years, I have seen many students’ lives changed due to my high expectation of them. I call them all precious, which they object initially, but will later start calling one another precious, including I. The highlight of my...

      Show More

      Cons

      My strength, which is my ability to inspire students, contributes to my weakness. This is because my high expectation causes me to invest a lot of time to inspire them. In the process of inspiring many very challenging students, I end up feeling so inadequate and sometimes blaming myself for not doing more or trying something else more to help them deal with their challenging attitudes if they are not responding positively....

      Show More
      Tulsa Public Schools2017-02-01
    • "District is struggling financially this year."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Teacher, Secondary School in Tulsa, OK
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Tulsa Public Schools full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Administrative strong support of staff in difficult situations.

      Cons

      Most students do not perform at grade level.

      Advice to Management

      Must be willing to make changes in other areas of districts.

      Tulsa Public Schools2019-06-18
    • "Communication & Consistency is Key"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Teacher in Tulsa, OK

      I worked at Tulsa Public Schools full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Some of the co-workers were nice.

      Cons

      Horrible administration at the elementary school I was at. I've heard that it happens with a lot of the locations.

      Tulsa Public Schools2019-05-29
    • "Good benefits"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Assistant Manager 

      I have been working at Tulsa Public Schools full-time

      Pros

      Good benefits and room for growth

      Cons

      A lot of days off . Hard to provide with out a second job

      Tulsa Public Schools2019-05-13
    • "Teacher review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Teacher 

        I have been working at Tulsa Public Schools full-time

        Pros

        Great community of coworkers and a great schedule

        Cons

        y'all know the cons of being a teacher in Oklahoma

        Tulsa Public Schools2019-05-04
      • "Education"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Teacher in West Tulsa, OK
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Tulsa Public Schools full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        Kids are great, parents can be inconsistent

        Cons

        Lots of work outside the 7-3 workday

        Advice to Management

        provide more support staff

        Tulsa Public Schools2019-02-04
      • "Great for two income no kids."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Teacher in Tulsa, OK
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Tulsa Public Schools full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        Highest pay in the area for a teacher.

        Cons

        You are "Graded" with a rubric call the TLE. It forces one to act like a data driven robot.

        Advice to Management

        Hire better talent and then trust them to teach.

        Tulsa Public Schools2019-01-27
      • "Not a good place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Cook I in Tulsa, OK
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I worked at Tulsa Public Schools full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          The kidsis the good thing about working here

          Cons

          Managers and others gossip and are very mean They lie

          Advice to Management

          You need to learn life skills to every employee including the higher up as yourself and also leadership skills, learn not to lie to employees

          Tulsa Public Schools2018-11-12
        • "Teacher at TPS"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Tulsa Public Schools full-time

          Pros

          Depends on the school. I worked at a Title I elementary School in North Tulsa with a vision-driven and supportive administration, and helpful co-workers.

          Cons

          Low Pay (Oklahoma), poor work/life balance

          Tulsa Public Schools2018-07-21
        • "I love my kids, but the work environment makes it very hard to stay motivated."

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Teacher, Elementary School in Tulsa, OK
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I have been working at Tulsa Public Schools full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Summers and holidays off You get to see the impact your work has on the life of your students

          Cons

          Oversized classrooms Lack of funding!! Not enough books and supplies for all students, thus you end up paying out of pocket for materials (no, you are not reimbursed for those expenses) You spend most of your time doing behavior management than actually teaching Specific to my school: Little to no support from my principal and admin Unrealistic expectations from principal and admin Lack of transparency and communication

          Tulsa Public Schools2018-06-29
        Found 80 reviews