Turbine Reviews | Glassdoor

Turbine Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 81 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Tom Casey
2 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Most of the new titles, especially mobile, are all just clones of existing games with little to no real innovation(in 4 reviews)

  • "Watching very talented people let go during layoffs(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "New Office, New Vision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Needham, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Turbine full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance, snacks, cold brew, magic the gathering league, successful games

    Cons

    Team Drama, Pay to Win Games

    Turbine2019-05-09
  2. "Not a bad place to work for your first time into the video game industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Turbine full-time

    Pros

    -WB has amazing benefits for their employees -Everyone is friendly and easy to approach -Plenty of after work activities, clubs, and the occasional game day -Growth if you're interested in being a developer.

    Cons

    -Their game is an embarrassing mess that uses malicious tactics to target players "whales" with addictive personalities. -The Customer Service area and the developers are way too separated. The developers refuse to listen to CS. -Some people are too comfortable (i.e. people walking around without shoes on). -No growth at all if you want to do something other than develop the game (i.e. write for games, go into PR,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Improve communication across the different departments.

    Turbine2018-10-21
  3. "A great company to work for, but not for too long"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Turbine full-time

    Pros

    - Great people - Fantastic benefits - You're working for Warner Brothers! - Fun work events - WB specific benefits (access to movies the day before release, 4 times a year)

    Cons

    - Not much potential for job growth - Innovation has been severely stunted at Turbine - Inter-departmental communication leaves something to be desired - WB Corporate is heavy-handed at times, cramming the game into already-well established pigeonhole genres

    Turbine2017-10-05
  4. "Product Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Turbine full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Working with gamers Competitive salary Flexible schedule and good benefits

    Cons

    Management is poor and fractured

    Advice to Management

    Protect our leadership from WBs control Protect our leadership from internal ankle-biters

    Turbine2017-06-01
  5. "DBA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Database Administrator in Needham, MA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Turbine full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    A lot of great technology though it was starting to get dated. Fun People in a lot of the groups. Beautiful workspace

    Cons

    Management, Management, Management. The former CEO and his underlings was a disaster. He has since got quit.

    Turbine2017-01-19
  6. "Identity Crisis"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Turbine full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Games - laid back environment, great vacation, 401k, some cool employee perks, lots of friendships made.

    Cons

    When I started we were an MMO, then we wanted to get into console, then we scrapped console because we didn't have the right model so we moved to eSports trying to recreate what LoL had already done, that was not successful so we moved toward mobile and now we are ditching MMOs.

    Advice to Management

    Hire seasoned professionals that understand scale and trends in the market. We are using the same IP over and over again and copying models from games that have already had success. Mobile shouldn't take as long to do as we are taking. We are missing out for being slow to make decisions.

    Turbine2017-01-17
  7. "A good place to work with a lot of potential, and some frustrating practices"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Turbine full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great environment, with a lot of creative minds and opportunities for pursuing interests within the Game Industry.

    Cons

    There aren't a lot, but the few issues stand out. It can be difficult to navigate your career due to a lack of a commercial success since the MMO days, and too many poor judgement calls from previous management have made the company feel like a sinking ship. The corporate entity of WB Games can feel too distant and will make decisions for us that aren't in the best interest of company and individual growth. The studio...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I believe that we need to take more risks in future game development. WB is known to follow trends in industry instead of creating them. It would be nice to focus on innovation for a change!

    Turbine2016-12-02
  8. "Accountability + Flexability = wild wild west"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Turbine full-time

    Pros

    Get paid to do the minimal amount of work Take advantage of perks like business travel and expense it on the company

    Cons

    there is little to no accountability and there is so much flexibility that nothing can ever be done, on time, on budget, on scale. its all a mess, there is no real planning other than vacations.

    Advice to Management

    lay off all those who don't put in effort to make Turbine a good company and get rid of the garbage, its brings down everyone else.

    Turbine2016-12-03
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Slow and bloated, but hopeful."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Artist in Needham, MA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Turbine full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Turbine is a collection of very talented, thoughtful individuals. Some of the best people in my life I met there over the better part of a decade. There have been recent drastic changes in management, flushing out a lot of problematic leaders who were contributing to the issues I outline in the "cons" section- I genuinely hope it leads to success.

    Cons

    They tend to make the same mistakes over and over again, even going so far as to prop up the same people who failed and allowing them to fail again in the exact same way. Their team sizes are far too large, particularly for a mobile game company, which costs them the ability to respond to respond to things like user testing or a change in direction from the parent company. Lastly, the approach to making games recently...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep burning the fat. Get rid of problematic individuals, or repurpose them. Consider more original game ideas than ripping off whatever the successful mobile title is of the day and then expecting it to make the same kind of bank a year later.

    Turbine2016-10-04
  10. "Great while it lasted"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Turbine full-time

    Pros

    The team I worked with were smart and dedicated.

    Cons

    Management ran the company to the ground with poor decisions.

    Advice to Management

    Make better decisions.

    Turbine2016-09-05
Found 81 reviews