Cover image for Turner Construction
Logo
Best Places to Work 2023

Turner Construction

Engaged Employer

Turner Construction

Add a Review

Turner Construction Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated Nov 12, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 1,849 of over 2K reviews
4.3
84% Recommend to a Friend
Best Places to Work 2023
Turner Construction President and CEO Peter J. Davoren
94% Approve of CEO

Found 140 of over 2K reviews

4.3
84%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Turner Construction President and CEO Peter J. Davoren
Peter J. Davoren
917 Ratings

What people are saying about Turner Construction

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Got a burning question about Turner Construction? Just ask!

On Fishbowl, you can share insights and advice anonymously with Turner Construction employees and get real answers from people on the inside.

What's Fishbowl
Ask a Question

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Great people and inclusive(in 141 reviews)
  • "Company has great benefits and is easy to relocate to a different city if needed.(in 109 reviews)
  • "It is pretty good pay(in 56 reviews)
  • "The Kansas City BU is awesome and has a great culture.(in 51 reviews)
  • "Salaries are competitive within the industry(in 38 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Turner Construction and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "great people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Internship

    Sep 11, 2021 - Field Engineer Internship in San Antonio, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Great people and inclusive - Structured internship program

    Cons

    The pay was lower than most engineering internships but overall no complaints

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Exceptional people

    Jul 15, 2018 - Project Manager in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Upper management is very supportive and engaged in projects. I have worked with some great people who are all very knowledgeable in their disciplines. Great mentors and they promote from within.

    Cons

    Sometimes the wheels move slow.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Turner Construction team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Coop

    Jan 11, 2016 - Coop 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people to work for and the coop experience helped me to learn a lot.

    Cons

    I don't think there is any problem during my coop experience

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Intern, more than 1 year

    Great work experience

    Oct 23, 2020 - Intern - Hourly in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people and fun place to work at. It's a great working experience.

    Cons

    getting used to the construction codes.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Former Intern

    Intern at Corporate Headquarters NYC

    Jan 1, 2018 - Intern - Hourly in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I Interned with the BIM/VDC department and helped create Turner City 2016. I Worked with some of the most specialized and gifted people in the industry who were great teachers and mentors. I learned so much. My supervisors were the best people I have ever worked with. They were patient and caring teachers. They recognized talents and abilities that I did not know I possessed. I had the opportunity to meet several of the top executives including the CEO Peter Davoren. I expected to be treated as an intern might expect, as a low level nobody. Not only did they go out of their way to introduce themselves to me, they remembered my name and we had several incredible conversations throughout my time there. Overall, working for Turner Construction at Corporate Headquarters in New York was incredible. I learned so much and would happily work full time with them.

    Cons

    To answer this question, I have to grasp at straws. I came to work happy and excited to do my job. I enjoyed the people I worked with. I felt appreciated and my hard work was recognized. I was treated very well for an intern. My harshest criticism is that I wish I got paid more. But at the same time, my hourly rate was very generous. I also wish that I was not capped at 40 hours a week.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great People and Culture

    Mar 11, 2021 - Project Engineer in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people and talent - This is by far what I miss most at Turner Provides employees flexibility to learn and handle your work Work/Life balance is great if you can handle your work Supervisors and co-workers are willing to drop everything to help answer questions and guide you through problems

    Cons

    Compensation can be better Management stresses patience will get you to your desired salary which is often too long for a lot of employees leading to high turnover Poor performing employees are often covered up by really great employees that do not get the acknowledgement they deserve Promotion is by seniority and not performance

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great job

    Sep 6, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great pay and people to work with

    Cons

    None at all. Great company

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Good Experience

    Mar 16, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people are great and there is a lot of camaraderie. It's a great place to work if you're just starting out in your career.

    Cons

    Salary. Since leaving I have made a lot more money.

    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Intern

    Fine place to work if this is your interest

    Feb 28, 2017 - Field Engineer in Columbus, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    My role was an intern Field Engineer. I was responsible for handling technical documents and performing field checks (project management). Being able to go into the field is nice when the days drag on or if a project is at a slower point. I worked with some great people and some people I didn't care for. Pay is perfectly fine too for construction industry.

    Cons

    Major downside is not unique to Turner: dealing with the subcontractors. If you do not like doing that Field positions are likely not for you. Also the starting vacation time and growth is flat out bad, in my opinion (begin at 10+1 days and max out at 20+1 after many years of working there).

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Good company, good people, slow salary growth

    May 9, 2017 - Project Superintendent in Shelton, CT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They had a great training program and worked hard to develop their people. Very transparent in terms of business inner workings. Good client base and good reputation in the industry.

    Cons

    Very slow salary growth. They also tend to reward people for years of service more than performance. If you et in early and work hard, you can spend a whole career there.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 140 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Turner Construction Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Turner Construction? Share Your Experiences

Turner Construction logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

Turner Construction Photos

+ Add Photo
Turner Construction photo of: Yankee Stadium
Turner Construction photo of: Internship Event
Turner Construction photo of: Turner KC
Turner Construction photo of: Dallas Office
Turner Construction photo of: Turner Construction
Turner Construction photo of: UHS Temecula Hospital-Mech/Plumbing design collaboration on "Smartboards(r)"
Turner Construction photo of: UHS Temecula Hospital real-time design collaboration
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Turner Construction Job Seekers Also Viewed

Whiting-Turner Logo
Whiting-Turner

4.0

860 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 1,853 Turner Construction reviews submitted anonymously by Turner Construction employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Turner Construction is right for you.