Turnitin Reviews | Glassdoor

Turnitin Reviews

Updated Sep 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 122 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
83%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Turnitin CEO Chris Caren
Chris Caren
85 Ratings
Pros
  • "Excellent benefits and work life balance(in 25 reviews)

  • "Great people work here (but these are a dying species) that truly care about the business and product(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "There has been some worry around the office with some turnover, but given the changes in the tech stack, it's to be expected(in 5 reviews)

  • "Turnitin is an older, more mature company than many Bay Area tech companies(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Great company & people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Oakland, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Turnitin full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Mission driven company that is stable & growing long-term - Smart, kind & dedicated employees who genuinely care about education and products - Excellent benefits and work life balance - Cutting edge tech stack & experienced team of Engineers & ML Scientists that are modernizing an already strong product suite. Lots of data & exciting challenges - Fun working environment: snacks, ping pong, happy hours, book & game clubs, etc. etc.

    Cons

    - Company at times slow to make changes - innovative but cautious as a market leader - Compensation is fair but tough to compete with inflated Bay Area startups. Benefits are great though and company is stable - Collaborative environment where people mostly work well together, but like in all cross-functional environments there can be occasional friction and people are sometimes too "nice" to share critical feedback

    Continue reading
    Turnitin2019-04-01
  2. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Software Engineer in Oakland, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Turnitin full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Smart People Interesting Projects Good Benefits free lunch 2-3 times a month

    Cons

    Inconsistent Feedback (from different managers)

    Continue reading
    Turnitin2019-09-09
  3. "Exciting place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Turnitin full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Forward looking company with an altruistic culture in regards to customers and employees. Very strong leadership team.

    Cons

    Different directions from ownership during Private Equity transition caused some consternation and confusion around direction.

    Turnitin2019-05-23
  4. "Great People, Values, a Technical Muddle"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Member of Technical Staff in Oakland, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Turnitin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company has a relatively diverse workforce for a tech company. There are several interesting products and projects to work on; the tech can be interesting and fun if you're on the right team and have a good manager. The company is profitable and recent acquisitions have strategically made sense. Uptown Oakland is a great place to work. Hanging out with your co-workers after hours isn't really part of the culture.

    Cons

    If you interview, be sure to determine which teams and project you will be working for, and assess your future manager carefully. There are cool kids who get management favor and other teams that are resource starved and mostly dealing with tech debt. Hanging out with your co-workers after hours isn't really part of the culture.

    Continue reading
    Turnitin2019-04-16

    Turnitin Response

    May 18, 2019VP of Engineering

    Thank you for your feedback. With regards to your comments on resourcing and tech debt, we address resourcing concerns across all of our scrum teams during our quarterly planning sessions, so if any team members have strong opinions about resourcing they can bring them to the attention of the product owners, tech leads or engineering managers that represent those teams. As an example, the need for additional resources to support our legacy systems was identified a couple of quarters ago, and since then we've reallocated some of our existing headcount as well as hired additional full-time engineers to better support those systems. We pride ourselves in being fair and consistent to all constituencies across our employee base. We periodically conduct company-wide employee surveys, and one of the reasons we do that is to capture any discrepancies in how we communicate and/or capture feedback from the different constituencies. If any are discovered, then we take deliberate and measurable actions to address those discrepancies and report back to the employees on our progress.

    Continue reading
  5. "Great people, mediocre management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Devops Engineer in Oakland, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Turnitin full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great company culture with supportive co-workers. People are very friendly and easy to talk to. Made some very good friends here.

    Cons

    Management can't seem to make up their mind about the direction of the company. Lots of initiatives, but not a lot of completion of those initiatives. As a result, there's not a lot of vision for individual contributors; the path for personal career growth is not very clear.

    Continue reading
    Turnitin2019-02-23

    Turnitin Response

    February 28, 2019Senior Director of Operations

    Thank you for the feedback! We’re very proud of our culture and workforce at Turnitin. You are correct in stating that the people here are very friendly and easy to talk to, and they are very dedicated to helping Turnitin succeed. At Turnitin, we explore many new opportunities for unique products that compliment our mission of academic integrity. A key principle in software design is Failing Fast. Try new initiatives and recognize quickly when they are not working out, so we can pivot to what does work. We have also spent the past year making it our mission to communicate a stronger vision and direction to our employees moving forward. In addition, we are working closely with the People Team to more clearly define job ladders and leveling expectations in order to give our employees clearer paths for career growth. Thank you so much for your excellent suggestions!

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Sales Operations Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Monterey, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Turnitin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice team with great attitude towards the company and responsibilities

    Cons

    Management lack of people management skills

    Turnitin2018-12-28
  7. "Excellent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Turnitin full-time

    Pros

    Good company and product. People and leadership are very strong

    Cons

    Doing a great job. Nothing

    Turnitin2018-12-18
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Software Development Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Manager in Oakland, CA
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Turnitin full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Challenging technical problems to solve, good profit to provide us comfortable bandwidth for R&D.

    Cons

    Telecommuting policy could be more flexible.

    Continue reading
    Turnitin2018-12-03
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Change for the Better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oakland, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Turnitin full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I am relatively new to Turnitin and I think the company is making all the right steps to modernize the tech stack, expand the product portfolio and focus on customer needs. Change is hard and some people seem to want everything to stay the way it's always been but I believe the changes are for the better. The office is a great environment, with lots of great amenities and treats--not Google level but a solid employee focused set of benefits, snacks and services. Fantastic office parties and outings. Flexible time and location, work from home flexibility, etc...

    Cons

    Lots of work to be done because of all the changes which can sometimes be overwhelming.

    Continue reading
    Turnitin2018-08-31
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Turnitin full-time

    Pros

    The big pros for me of working at Turnitin are the meaningful work we do and the great work/life balance. Life is already hard for teachers. At Turnitin we get to make their life significantly easier with grading tools and originality checking, which saves teachers tons of time, so they can do their best at what they do. Further, Turnitin is not a "burn the midnight oil" kind of place. We believe in good hard work, but do so within normal 40-hour weeks. This balance has been quite good for the many years I've been here.

    Cons

    No company is perfect. At Turnitin we do have to deal with the same imperfections as other companies that have been around for while, like brittle legacy systems and maybe too many product directions at once. But on the whole it's good.

    Continue reading
    Turnitin2018-06-08

    Turnitin Response

    June 12, 2018CFO

    Thanks for sharing your experience! And your point is well taken about the focus on our originality service. In terms of resource allocation, we're generally looking to balance three things: (1) managing the growing pains that all successful companies encounter, (2) maintaining clear leadership in our core value proposition, and (3) investing in exciting new areas of growth for the company. We've put quite a lot of attention against 1 and 3 for the last couple of years, but our focus has been gradually shifting back towards our core academic integrity offerings, where we're launching several new innovations this year. So I think we agree! But if you ever feel like we're taking our eye off the ball, don't hesitate to reach out to me or any other exec; we always welcome the feedback!

    Continue reading
Found 122 reviews